1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A3 3.2 chip

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by peterchalkley, Mar 30, 2004.

  1. peterchalkley
    Offline

    peterchalkley New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi.. What is the best way to increase power to my 3.2 dsg A3 ??? I have heard that amd are really good.... any other suggestions ?
    #1
  2. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    0
    AmD are the best. Problem with DSG is that the torque has to be limited as the tranny cant cope with it.

    Rich
    #2
  3. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    0
    [ QUOTE ]
    richy said:
    so its not wise to put a chip on if you have DSG?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    It can be done, but i believe they limit the torque slightly. If you plan to modify, its best to go for manual. Its a shame they didnt make the DSG stronger!

    Rich
    #3
  4. richy
    Offline

    richy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    892
    Likes Received:
    0
    humm.. but to be fair the 3.2 is fast enough for me till im 21..

    cos then the real fun begins at 21! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif

    muhahahahahha...

    #4
  5. peterchalkley
    Offline

    peterchalkley New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats really interesting.... wasn't pointed out when I purchased the car... cheers for the info /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #5
  6. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    0
    [ QUOTE ]
    richy said:
    same.. but they dont really plan on you chipping and modding the hell out of the car so its information they dont need to tell you! lol

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Exactly! If something breaks due to modification, then its money in their pockets. Why would they tell you /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/crazy.gif

    Rich
    #6
  7. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    0
    [ QUOTE ]
    richy said:
    cos then the real fun begins at 21! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif



    [/ QUOTE ]

    Yeah, you get reasonably priced (in comparison now) insurance!! Only 4 months /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/dancing.gif

    Making anyone feel old yet? /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif
    #7
  8. lost_it
    Offline

    lost_it Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was under the impression that chipping would not add much value to a normally aspirated car.
    most of these engines today are pretty close to thier limits at standard,. someone will correct me if im wrong, but you will get only minor gains through chipping etc..
    and therefore need to look at other things like breathing and cam changes etc,
    #8
  9. richy
    Offline

    richy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    892
    Likes Received:
    0
    agree.. but by chipping it you release a % gain..

    so everytime you add 10bhp for a mod like for eg a filter if the chip has a total % gain of 15% you will gain another %15 on the filter..

    so adding 200bhp to a std engine plus a chip adds another 30bhp...


    but remember a chip doesnt just improve bhp it improves petrol eatting abilitys and a few other things making it an overall performance mod and not restricting it too improving one thing..

    #9
  10. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    0
    I meant to say with chipping after the exhaust has been done. This makes the 3.2 over 270bhp. Its at this stage you need to limit it.

    Rich
    #10
  11. richy
    Offline

    richy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    892
    Likes Received:
    0
    Only thing i would do is chip mine and put a Carbonio Cold Air Intakes

    [​IMG]


    thats it probably...


    then onto the new S4 or RS4 when it comes out! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif
    #11

Share This Page