1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A small project

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by ScottD3, Oct 12, 2011.

  1. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,109
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    [Oct 16, 2011]
    Oo thats cool.
    Pre-facelist clocks with DIS can do that as well. Doubt in as much detail though.
    I'd like RNS-E and bluetooth.


    I got a old 2 button key here if you want it, Just cover postage.
    The spring is missing, the metal bit where the key goes is broken and the keyring bit is snapped off.
    But it has two buttons and electronic bits in side.
    #41
  2. B5NUT
    Online

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,288
    Likes Received:
    258
    [Oct 16, 2011]
    Bugger need the 3 button version. I'm working on the rns-e at the moment, got the BT all sorted just need the rns-e now, then make up a face plate, nice little project for the winter months, will do a project thread once I got the rns.
    #42
  3. AR-rkon
    Online

    AR-rkon BZZZZ.... caffeine fueled electrical engineer Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    78
    [Oct 16, 2011]
    Need to view the version/part number with vagcom really
    #43
  4. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,571
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Oct 16, 2011]
    Digi Clock Cluster = IMMO3
    #44
  5. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,109
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    [Oct 16, 2011]
    hmmm, immob3 is Clocks and ECU but do they talk to each other?
    I wonder if coding the clocks will work. Time to try it.

    going to get vcds on it this week and see what happens.

    if this works, my refurbished, 100% working, still with 4 years warranty pre-facelift clocks will be for same.
    #45
  6. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,109
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    [Oct 16, 2011]
    only just read this.
    pm on its way.
    #46
  7. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,571
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Oct 17, 2011]
    I know from the Golf forums, you can fit an IMMO3 cluster to an IMMO2 car/ECU just fine, but not the other way round.
    #47
  8. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,109
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    [Oct 17, 2011]
    And they just coded the key and all worked?
    #48
  9. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,571
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Oct 17, 2011]
    Thats the implication yes.

    You need vagtacho or similar to extract the clusters SKC, then login to the cluster, "learn" the new ECU, and program in the keys.
    #49
  10. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,109
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    [Oct 17, 2011]
    Thats the only thing thats holding me up at the moment is the lack of Vagtacho or VAG commander.
    #50
  11. Foxmeister
    Offline

    Foxmeister Fired Up!

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,779
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Oct 17, 2011]
    Buy one ya tight ar$e, only £20!:moa:
    #51
  12. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,109
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    [Oct 17, 2011]
    I will when I remember. lol
    I was hoping someone could be so kind to lend me theres or there was someone local who could do it for me.
    But I have to buy something for a 1 time use then so be it...........I also need to buy a laptop for it. lol
    #52
  13. Foxmeister
    Offline

    Foxmeister Fired Up!

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,779
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Oct 17, 2011]
    Know how u feel, i was forced to do the same to be able to use Vag Com, and you know how tight us Scots are!:)
    #53
  14. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,109
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    [Oct 18, 2011]
    Thanks to TonyA4 for the oil level sensor and plug.
    Going to attach it to the clocks this week and hopefully that will remove the oil sensor error.
    Need to work out how to wire it up.

    [​IMG]
    #54
  15. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,109
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    [Oct 30, 2011]
    Thanks to Der_Techniker for lending me his VAG Tacho Cable.
    It works a treat on the original cluster but is unable to connect to the new cluster.
    I'm not sure why, I got a copy of the errors on the laptop which i'll transfer to the PC soon as I can.

    I've also lost my Exterior temp sensor.
    Its not displaying on the original clocks and the new clocks now through up an error. :|
    Need to check that out when I get time.

    VCDS Lite can communicate with the new cluster. So possible fault with VAG Tacho.

    Any one got any ideas why VAG Tacho won't/can't connect to the new cluster?
    I understand you'll need the errors for a better idea of the fault, i'll get them up soon as I can.
    #55
  16. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,571
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Oct 30, 2011]
    Are you using "VDO C5 New"
    #56
  17. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,109
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    [Oct 30, 2011]
    I got VDO new
    VDO old
    and VDO C5

    For the new cluster, I've been using VDO C5.

    Connecting VDO C5...
    OK
    8D0920980J B5-KOMBIINSTR. VDO D12
    Check for VDO C5 tacho...
    Tacho is VDO C5! Try to log in... Please wait!
    !!! Access DENIED !!!


    Fault codes from VCDS Lite
    VCDS-Lite Version: Release 1.1
    Friday, 28 October 2011, 14:19:22.
    Control Module Part Number: 8D0 920 980 J
    Component and/or Version: B5-KOMBIINSTR. VDO D12
    Software Coding: 00440
    Work Shop Code: WSC 19411
    VCID: 321799CBED21
    Additional Info: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX AUZ7Z0Y1725219
    3 Faults Found:
    00779 - Outside Air Temp Sensor (G17)
    30-00 - Open or Short to Plus
    01314 - Shareware Version. To Decode all DTCs
    49-00 - Please Register/Activate
    00562 - Shareware Version. To Decode all DTCs
    30-00 - Please Register/Activate
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2011
    #57
  18. S4_dan
    Offline

    S4_dan Fire up the Quattro!

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,731
    Likes Received:
    77
    [Oct 30, 2011]
    00779 - Outside Air Temperature Sensor (G17): Open or Short to Plus
    Possible Symptoms
    In the Instrument Cluster you see dashes (---) instead of a temperature
    Possible Causes
    Wiring between Outside Air Temperature Sensor (G17) and Instrument Cluster: Open or Short Circuit
    Possible Solutions
    Check wiring between Outside Air Temperature Sensor (G17) and Instrument Cluster
    Check Measuring Block Value

    00779 - Outside Air Temperature Sensor (G17): Short to Ground
    Possible Symptoms
    In the Instrument Cluster you see dashes (---) instead of a temperature
    Possible Causes
    Outside Air Temperature Sensor (G17) damaged
    Possible Solutions
    Check / Replace Outside Air Temperature Sensor (G17)

    01314 - Engine Control Module: No Communications
    Possible Causes
    CAN-Databus Wiring/Connectors from/to Engine Control Module faulty
    Fault(s) stored in Engine Control Module
    Engine Control Module recently flashed or re-mapped
    Possible Solutions
    Check CAN-Databus Wiring/Connectors from/to Engine Control Module
    Check Measuring Value Blocks (MVB)
    Usually Measuring Value Blocks (MVB) 125+ show the current Communication Status

    01314 - Engine Control Module: Check DTC Memory
    Possible Causes
    Fault(s) stored in Engine Control Module
    Possible Solutions
    Check Engine Control Module for Fault Codes
    Special Notes
    Engine Control Module stored a Code which influences other Control Modules Functionality.
    To clear this Fault Code you will need to correct the Problem in the Engine Control Module first.

    Nothing listed on Ross-tech for 00562, but a quick google brings this up: Fault code: 00562 - uk-mkivs

    Not sure about Vag-Tacho though....
    #58
  19. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,109
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    [Nov 8, 2011]
    Thanks for that Dan.

    I got my battery charged up, drove the car with the PF clocks in, did a full scan, clear all codes and retested.
    No error codes and clocks working fine.

    I got another issue now, my PF clocks has developed a fault with the DIS and will need sending back for repair.
    I'm hoping to get the FL clocks fitted and working so I can still drive the car.

    I got a diag guy coming over tomorrow to try and get the SKC code out of the FL clocks for me as I'm unable to do it with VAG Tacho.
    This is the decider really, if he can get the code and program my clocks i'll be one happy chappy and the car should drive.
    If he can't then I might have to knock this project on the head.
    Wish me luck. :)

    Aragorn or any one, do you have the pin out for the oil level sensor?
    #59
  20. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,571
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Nov 8, 2011]
    I can look it up, but its just power, ground and signal, and afaik signal simply connects to the old oil temp sensor wire.
    #60
  21. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,109
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    [Nov 8, 2011]
    If you can please, thanks.
    I assumed it was that but I want to make sure I get them round the right way.
    #61
  22. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,571
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Nov 8, 2011]
    Ok so brown is earth, black/red is 12v and originally gets sourced from fuse 5 in the fuse box via pin 8 on the brown plenum connector
    signal is red/grey at the sensor goes to pin 9 on said brown connector, then turns purple and goes to pin 15 on the green dash plug.

    You really need to get yourself the workshop manual!
    #62
  23. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,109
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    [Nov 8, 2011]
    I know, I will one day.

    You got a electronic or paper version?
    #63
  24. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,571
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Nov 8, 2011]
    electronic ofcourse :p
    #64
  25. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,109
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    [Nov 8, 2011]
    Feel like sharing it? :)
    #65
  26. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,109
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    [Nov 11, 2011]
    Pin code for the new clocks got.
    Immob reprogramming next week.
    If all goes well I will bodge it in so it works while I send my pre-facelift clocks away for some work.
    Once they are back I will send the facelift clocks away for some work and then I can rewire the plugs for the new clocks, adding cables for the doors, bonnet and boot pin switches and the oil level sensor.
    The clocks will need changing to auto clocks and removing the disk pad level sensor thing and I'm good to go.

    Once all that is in and working I can sell my 100% good reconditions pre-facelift clocks with 60 months warranty (any one?:))
    #66
  27. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,571
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Nov 11, 2011]
    You just need to ground the wire for the pad sensors and the warning will go away :)
    #67
  28. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,109
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    [Nov 11, 2011]
    True but its just easier and neater to remove it in the clocks.
    Less wires, I got loads of the bloody things at the moment.

    You don't happen to know which way the door pin switches runs?
    Whether its to the back of the car towards the central lock pump or towards the front?
    #68
  29. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,571
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Nov 11, 2011]
    You cant code it out on a facelift cluster.
    #69
  30. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,109
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    [Nov 12, 2011]
    Gaaaaaaaayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy
    #70
  31. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,109
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    [Nov 14, 2011]
    Just coded a spare key.

    **** ass pic but you get the idea.
    [​IMG]

    Its easier to do what does not work that I have tested so far.
    Rev counter.
    I think its all wired up.
    Any ideas?

    I need to wire up the door pins and oil level sensor.
    Quick fault code scan came up with a error of the clocks not being able to talk to the ECU, I assume thats cause it can't talk to mine or I've missed a cable which might also be the same cable that does the rev counter.

    Did a segment test and noticed some little symbols on the clock.
    What looks like heat, a fan and a radio transmitter?
    [​IMG]

    What do they mean?

    As you can see from previous pics the DIS is dead really, so the plan is this.
    Send the pre-FL clocks away to get fixed, get them back, send the FL clocks away for work, Once the FL clocks are back, wire the plugs and all cables to the FL clocks correctly and OEM styleeeeeee, sell the reconditioned pre-FL clocks and enjoy my new clocks.
    I think that works out correctly.

    Thats it, i'm off for a drink and some food.
    #71
  32. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,571
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Nov 14, 2011]
    You sure you've wired the tacho up correctly?
    #72
  33. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,109
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    [Nov 14, 2011]
    I double checked all cables before I refitted them.
    I'll double check the cables now.

    I really thought this was going to be a right mission to do but its surprisingly easy when you get your head around the wiring.


    EDIT:=-
    Yup, Blue 11 Pre-FL to Blue 11 FL.
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2011
    #73
  34. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,109
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    [Nov 17, 2011]
    I'm having another battle of this this weekend.

    Has any one got any ideas about the rev counter?
    #74
  35. tonya4
    Offline

    tonya4 TDi Powerrrr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Nov 18, 2011]
    Scott,I know the rev counter worked the last time the car was run,hope thats some use lol

    tony
    #75
  36. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,109
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    [Nov 18, 2011]
    Thats one less thing to worry about. lol
    #76
  37. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,109
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    [Nov 30, 2011]
    I'm giving this another go this weekend and keep it in for a week or two to test.

    My task is to wire up the oil level sensor to stop that error, earth the brake sensor to stop that error, trace the door pin switches to get the doors working on the display and see whats going on with the rev counter.

    one thing I've over looked is the fact that mines and auto and the clocks came from a manual. Which means that it does not display the gear selection at the bottom and the foot brake warning on start up. Is this something that needs to be coded to the clocks?
    I can't remember see any thing when I coded the key.
    #77
  38. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,109
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    [Nov 30, 2011]
    Clocks are in and quick drive round the block and they seem to work fine, apart from the above issues.
    I'll give it a couple of days and i'll start on the wiring of the other bits.
    #78
  39. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,109
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    [Dec 2, 2011]
    The oil sensor is wired in and its stopped the oil sensor error but its now erroring about lack of oil.
    I've not got under to see if I i'm lucky enough to beable to plug the oil sensor in and walk away, I doubt it very much cause i'm not that lucky and my car is not close enough on the change over for me to be a little bit lucky.
    Its all wired up in side the car, so I need to either put up with the constant beeping till I can do the sump or find some where to get it in oil and thats one hell of bodge.
    but if it works then its got to be done. just need to think on a way of doing it. plastic bag with oil, in side container and the hole lot strapped together and something. Ideas?

    The main thing at the moment is the bastard revs!!
    #79
  40. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,109
    Likes Received:
    1,013
    [Dec 2, 2011]
    double checked the wiring for the revs and signal.
    Blue PN 11 on new and old clocks and thats correct and got connection.
    When running PN11 gets signal to the clock.
    So its either the clocks are faulty ( I trust Tony, so going to assume they are working) or more than likely is the ECU and clocks are not talking to each other and I need to code them.
    #80

Share This Page