1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A quick question

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by max69vk, May 20, 2012.

  1. max69vk

    max69vk Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    48
    Anyone know what this actuator & solenoid are for on the TDI? (located near to the cambelt) I thought they were used for engine shut down but they appear to do nothing on start up, turning off or running! there is vacuum going to the solenoid valve but nothing passing through it at any stage, if I apply vacuum to the outlet on the solenoid (that connects to the actuator) it doesn't hold any pressure. The itself actuator is tested & works & I've applied vacuum directly to it when the engine was running it appeared to make no difference to the running of the engine!

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Viking

    Viking Bloody Viking...

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    20
    What engine is it?
     
  3. max69vk

    max69vk Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    48
    PD170 BMN
     
  4. Viking

    Viking Bloody Viking...

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    20
    Ah, I thought it didn't look familiar when compared to my BKD engine. It's not there on the BKD.

    What's the actuator connected to?
     
    #4 Viking, May 20, 2012
    Last edited: May 20, 2012
  5. max69vk

    max69vk Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    48
    I can't actually see as it connects to something behind the cambelt into the head.
     
  6. max69vk

    max69vk Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    48
    Right, looks like it could be the solenoid & actuator for the intake manifold. I've got no fault codes coming up for it & no idea how to test the solenoid valve, is it just a case of connecting 12v to it & seeing if it clicks?
     

Share This Page