1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A LITTLE MORE HELP PLEASE :)

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by marnie2k, Nov 16, 2010.

  1. marnie2k

    marnie2k Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys i posted yesterday about my RNS E im getting tomorrow but i also would like some info on the cd changer that houses in the glove box. does the cd changer plug straight into the RNS or do you have to get a cable/adapter? is it plug and play or do you have to have it coded? if i bought the cd changer will it fit straight into my glove box or do i need to make any alterations? or do i need to by a glove box thats houses the cd changer? thanks anthony

    ps. is any1 selling a cd changer / glove box ?
     
  2. ~RS~

    ~RS~ Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,466
    Likes Received:
    22
    Cant help with the wiring but there were a couple of CD changers on ebay for about £95 last time I looked.
     
  3. sub39h

    sub39h Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    5
    i think you need a new glovebox. tbh it's not worth it, just get AMI and buy an iPod to leave in the car. it'll work out cheaper.
     
  4. marnie2k

    marnie2k Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    im not really an ipod person though :/ i had one but never used it i am old fashioned n prefer cd's :p
     
  5. sub39h

    sub39h Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    5
    but you're not buying it as a personal music player. in effect it's your CD changer
     
  6. PH1L

    PH1L Gievf Buckets
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,864
    Likes Received:
    39
    you need a new glovebox for ami too :p

    chances are youll need a new looms and youll need to code your rns for the changer
     
  7. Dean's A3

    Dean's A3 TDI S3 Hybrid

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    As above, you'll need a new glovebox if yours was not specced with a CD changer. You'll also need cabling from changer to RNS-E and then code it. As for AMI, you need the facelifted RNS-E with the media button, new glove box again as above, cabling and coding again. I have retrofitted AMI and I cannot believe what a difference it makes over ipod adapter and CD changer as it lists track names on the RNS-E and the DIS, happy days! :yes:
     
  8. sub39h

    sub39h Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    5
    i can't help but think that for the money you've spent on your car it would have been easier to get a facelift car lol...
     
  9. Dean's A3

    Dean's A3 TDI S3 Hybrid

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    It has not been that much to be honest (well not new car territory anyway) but I must say it's been an absolute hoot! :yum:
     
  10. Dean's A3

    Dean's A3 TDI S3 Hybrid

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    AND, there's a bit more to be done too!:)
     
  11. PH1L

    PH1L Gievf Buckets
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,864
    Likes Received:
    39
    gahh bloody headlights on mine are giving me a headache cant get the band new adaptive modules to accept coding, levelling sensors are all fine
     
  12. Dean's A3

    Dean's A3 TDI S3 Hybrid

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    First things first Phil, what letter is your Central Elec?
     
  13. PH1L

    PH1L Gievf Buckets
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,864
    Likes Received:
    39
    cant remember mate mine is a very high end one as ive every optional extra ticked from factory on the car (minus recaros and tints) but ive gotten the facelifts all to code and come on central electrics unit seems compatible i think it might be the light control unit
     
  14. Dean's A3

    Dean's A3 TDI S3 Hybrid

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Let's not hijack this tread, will go to yours...
     

Share This Page