1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A few Issues with my S3

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by coyle, Nov 17, 2010.

  1. coyle
    Offline

    coyle From Show... to GO

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 17, 2010]
    Hi everyone,
    got myself an s3 last night, it's 2000 /W reg, pre facelift, APY engine on 83000 miles

    A few small issues I want to get sorted asap,
    The fuel gauge, it reads about 25% fuel than is in the tank, as i learned today when it suddenly died.

    The water temp gauge, reads 75-80 degrees, i presume that is the thermostat?

    This morning it took 3 attempts (within 20seconds) to start it, coolant temperature sensor i think?

    The EPS button doesnt do anything, when i press it i think it should come up on the dash? but nothing happens, i have no idea on this one?

    any help appreciated
    Jon
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 21, 2014]

  3. fingermouse
    Offline

    fingermouse thats me

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    3,771
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Nov 17, 2010]
    Had to strip the circuit board off the fuel pump in the tank to sort my missreads out its the opening under the back seat the one on the driver seat side , Try to do with a almost empty tank

    Temp reading can be thermostat or temp sender not much to do both
    #2
  4. coyle
    Offline

    coyle From Show... to GO

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 17, 2010]
    had it in a local garage today (psi tuning) they said they calibrated the fuel gauge but it was still out, so could be the sender?
    #3
  5. coyle
    Offline

    coyle From Show... to GO

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 17, 2010]
    Also, ive got a brand new Forge Split R to put on, is this a decent one to fit? or is there better on the same budget? I paid £110 for it.
    #4
  6. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    729
    [Nov 17, 2010]
    split r is fine keep the cap on for recurculating though...
    #5
  7. coyle
    Offline

    coyle From Show... to GO

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 18, 2010]
    do i need the cap on for it to work as i was under the impression it would be ok running as hybrid, ie without the cap?
    i was also led to believe it should be set up by turning it all the way to the left/anticlockwise and then turning it clockwise 15clicks as my engine is standard apart from that?
    #6
  8. fingermouse
    Offline

    fingermouse thats me

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    3,771
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Nov 18, 2010]
    [​IMG]

    there are two retaining lugs at the top and it slides down and off, clean the metal runners and check the fingers that run on them, tricky job but worth it
    #7
  9. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    729
    [Nov 18, 2010]
    It will work without the cap but it is metered air escaping...
    #8
  10. NoggyS3
    Offline

    NoggyS3 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 18, 2010]
    Behind the steering wheel, below the instrument cluster there is a small plastic cover. Little tug and it will pop off. Behind the cover are two screws, remove these.

    You should now be able to pull the instrument cluster from the dash, remove all wires from rear of IC and with the wheel centerd you will be able to pull it out from behind the wheel.

    Remove all screws from rear off IC and it will pull apart. Lift the clocks and i put money on that there will be black tape covering the ESP light.

    Reverse process to refit and check if the ESP lights up when switched off!
    :icon_thumright:
    #9
  11. coyle
    Offline

    coyle From Show... to GO

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 18, 2010]
    would a 007p be a better option then?
    #10
  12. coyle
    Offline

    coyle From Show... to GO

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 18, 2010]
    why would there be black tape over the light? would someone cover it for a reason?
    il check at the weekend.

    also because its not using the standard headunit, the top part of the IC display isn't being illuminated, (it comes on to say OK when i turn the ignition, so i know it works) but are there any other messages etc that would come up on there that id be missing? eg low fuel etc?
    #11
  13. Speedy Steve
    Offline

    Speedy Steve Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,250
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Nov 18, 2010]
    although a car shouldnt fail an MOT with the ESP light on rather than fixing the problem the owner has just taped over the light. the esp doesnt come on in the display but in the clocks. low screen wash and others do!

    Go with the 007p rather than the split r unless you have Chav tattoo'd on yourself some where!

    Temp reading start with temp sendor/sensor first
    #12
  14. coyle
    Offline

    coyle From Show... to GO

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 18, 2010]
    so do you think the esp light is constantly on then? because obviously i dont know if its being turned on or off with the button.

    temp reading.. its hitting 80* so it looks like its working, as oppose to it not working at all and staying all the way to the left if you follow what im trying to say, thats why i put it down to thermostat, as from searching the forum it seemed to be a common problem which is solved by replacing the stat.

    i know split r gives a dumping sound, but im more inerested in the better DV rather than just the sound. I paid £111 for it yesterday, i could always try to take it back and get a 007p but i was advised if set up properly the split r is the better DV, but with some reading on the forum it seems thats not the case
    #13
  15. NoggyS3
    Offline

    NoggyS3 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 18, 2010]
    Yes mate it is known to be done if there is a problem with the ESP that people tape it off! You will know straight away if its been open before because there is a sticker seal over the join line on the back of the IC! If its torn or not there then its been tamperd with.

    As for the top of the LCD display, doubt it will work with aftermarket HU but should display warnings like

    Low Washer Fluid
    Low Brake Pads
    Low Fuel
    Bulb Failure etc...
    #14
  16. Alex C
    Online

    Alex C Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,730
    Likes Received:
    180
    [Nov 18, 2010]
    I think the s3 fuel tank has two separate low points due to the prop shaft tunnel running under the centre of the car, so when the fuel level drops you efectively have two fuel reservoirs in your tank. The fuel pump is on one side of the tank. In order to get the fuel on the isolated side of the tank to the side with the fuel pump there is a secondary pump. If this secondary pump has failed then could this cause your fuel gauge to tell you that you still have 1/4 tank of fuel but your fuel pump cant pick it up??

    ...may be wrong
    #15
  17. mk1chopper
    Offline

    mk1chopper Missing the S3

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,093
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Nov 18, 2010]
    The top of the dis will display the radio settings, as you've got an aftermarket head unit it wont display anything. The top will also display warning symbols too, with the engine running if you press in the left hand side clock adjuster on the IC it will perform a system check and flash up all the symbols. If your fuel sender worked properly you would have a low fuel symbol displayed when your close to empty.

    if your ESP light has been taped over and is staying on it can sometimes be the cars alignment being out.
    #16
  18. The Doctor
    Offline

    The Doctor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    127
    [Nov 18, 2010]
    ESP - Floor it in the wet from a standing start. Then press the ESP button and do it again. When it's on there'll be a sudden loss of power (like turning a swich off!) before traction is regained (apparently). At least then you'll know when it's on/off.

    Temp gauge - I'd say thermostat. Got the same problem and my temp sender has been done already. It's on the list of things to do once I've finished painting the lounge/stairs/landing...
    #17
  19. s3gazz
    Offline

    s3gazz Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    62
    [Nov 18, 2010]
    iv got a split r on mine with a newspeed filter and it sounds great and dumps nice 2
    #18
  20. coyle
    Offline

    coyle From Show... to GO

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 19, 2010]
    Im looking at getting a jetex filter, they seem well thought of
    #19
  21. KB
    Offline

    KB Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 19, 2010]
    ive got a 99 apy without esp, just a rather vacant looking switch blank instead of the esp switch! someone hasnt put a esp switch in to replace the blank have they? pop the switch and see if there is wires attached to it
    #20
  22. coyle
    Offline

    coyle From Show... to GO

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 19, 2010]
    I will do, but if that was the case why would the esp light always be lit on the cluster?
    #21

Share This Page