1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A few cruise control retrofit questions.....

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by Nessy, Mar 25, 2013.

  1. Nessy
    Offline

    Nessy VW + Audi mad

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Mar 25, 2013]
    After having read for hours I've taken the plunge and bought a cruise control stalk for my A4 but would just like to clear a few things up which hopefully won't sound too stupid...lol
    Having seen several cruise control looms on Ebay etc using different coloured wires I've gone for the Kufatec one which hopefully should still be the one with printed pin numbers on the (grey) wires as shown on the useful how-to's on here.
    This brings me on to my first question; on the white connector block in the plenum chamber are the various pin locations actually numbered on the plastic connector? or do the numbers come from the various PDF wiring diagrams posted on the various threads?
    Does the top of the ECU gubbins etc plug into the top of the white plenum connector?
    All of the how-to's show/describe the white plenum connector and the cruise control stalk wires/pins being inserted into it, but not what actually then plugs into this white connector...
    Hope that makes sense! and sorry if they sound like dumb questions!

    Thanks in advance.....
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 18, 2014]

  3. AR-rkon
    Offline

    AR-rkon BZZZZ.... caffeine fueled electrical engineer Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    78
    [Mar 25, 2013]
    Hope that helps.
    #2
  4. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,571
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Mar 25, 2013]
    White connector is used for throttle, clutch/brake switches and cruise control stalk
    #3
  5. PAULF
    Offline

    PAULF Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    50
    [Mar 25, 2013]
    If you look here A4 B5 Cruise Control Retrofit Instructions with pictures at the how-to, you can how they go in the close up picture of the white connector with pin 7 and 8 labeled. IIRC, the 'instructions' that came with it gave the wire colours for the other pins. Remember the German colour names are most likely used!!

    Once you have the connector out, it should be easy to follow the pic. There is one pin missing (also shown in the pics) that should help you with orientation.

    If I understand what you are asking correctly, the loom goes into one end of the connector, the other end is already wired in for cruise control, so there is nothing else to add.
    A little further down I listed colours against pin numbers. This is the colour of the wires already fitted to the block (the other side of the plug to the loom) so you can just back check your wiring that way too.

    Note I didn't remove any pins, so if you put one in the wrong hole, I don't know how to release the pin.

    You do also have to code the ECU (see my comments near the bottom of my guide)
    #4
  6. Nessy
    Offline

    Nessy VW + Audi mad

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Mar 25, 2013]
    Thanks everyone, that helps a lot!
    Yes PaulF; I had found your excellent write-up and was intending to follow it EXACTLY, even down to the pictures showing me which pins to go in which holes in the white connector! That was also one of the main reasons of buying the Kufatec loom as you did, the 4 wires should be labelled (Pin 7,8,9 and 10) and so it *should* all go as easily as you showed......
    There were a few other looms on Ebay with different coloured (rather than numbered) wires, but I didn't feel confident about getting them in the correct part of the white connector, especially when the colour-coding of these CC loom wires didn't appear to match the tracer colours on the wiring diagrams posted on the various CC threads!
    So if I understand correctly after fitting the new CC stalk and loom the white connector is released and split, the cruise control loom wires/pins inserted and the white connector is put together again and then pushed home etc/ECU and cover back in etc and apart from recoding with VCDS that's it?
    #5
  7. Nessy
    Offline

    Nessy VW + Audi mad

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Mar 28, 2013]
    Well the Kufatec loom has arrived, anyone thinking of dealing with them, go ahead!
    Ordered online early hours 25th March, dispatched 26th and delivered about an hour ago!
    They are still supplying the loom with all-grey wires printed with pin numbers, even though their wiring diagram suggests their loom has coloured wires (ie yellow,blue,black,red and white as with some Ebay suppliers) but following PaulF's excellent how-to this isn't going to be an issue.
    Just wish the switch itself would arrive!
    #6
  8. PAULF
    Offline

    PAULF Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    50
    [Mar 28, 2013]
    Pretty much.
    You do have to choose a point for the live feed to come from - I used the fuse that the Owners Manual said was CC in the fusebox (can't remember which one at the moment)
    #7
  9. Nessy
    Offline

    Nessy VW + Audi mad

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Mar 28, 2013]
    Thats great, thanks!
    I intend to use Fuse 31 just like you did!
    I was intending to enable the CC by getting someone else to do it for me then it dawned on me that perhaps my cheapo Ebay cable and the shareware version of VCDS might do it?
    So I've been tinkering out there with my laptop trying to get the damn cable to work (its a few years old) and eventually after some fun downloading some drivers off the 'net I've finally got the thing to communicate with the car!
    So to enable its
    11463
    and to disable is
    16167
    I'm now able to enable/disable at will so whilst the cable is working I've enabled it!
    One last thing though Paul, is yours the full version of VCDS as the measuring blocks I was getting (to see if the CC was enabled) were nothing like the ones you mentioned in your how-to?
    If they are different on the paid for/share ware versions that would explain it?
    In the end I was able to identify when CC was enabled or not by the fact that in the initial engine coding that comes up when the VCDS interrogates the engine control unit a number something like 1.9 R4 G 30235 SG appears, where SG=the German for manual gearbox and G=cruise enabled, obviously when CC is disabled that initial G is no longer present!
    Now to fit switch (when it arrives) and see if it all works!

    Thanks again, theres no way I'd be doing this job if it hadn't been for your write up!
    #8

Share This Page