1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A favour please from someone with factory fitted RNS-E

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by VRStu, Nov 5, 2008.

  1. VRStu
    Offline

    VRStu Just Looking VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Nov 5, 2008]
    Would somone mind letting me have their chassis number so that I can look up the antenna parts that are fitted and see if I can't get to the bottom of this antenna fault code that everyone suffers on retrofitted units.

    PM if you prefer.

    Thanks.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 16, 2014]

  3. NHN
    Online

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Nov 5, 2008]
    If you mean by resolving this then its just a change in antenna systems needed, no doubt a change of the 3 amplifiers in the rear boot lid/end & maybe some cabling changes will resolve this, I doubt the rear window intergrated antenna will need swapping out, I know on my S4 it had the 2 rear side windows with antennas in aswell as the rear, idiot who installed my rns didnt connect the diversity antenna in the rns & only realised when after a year of **** radio I checked behind the radio, but on the A3 its not quite as bad, thats the only way to do it I believe
    #2
  4. VRStu
    Offline

    VRStu Just Looking VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Nov 5, 2008]
    Thanks Nigel.

    I've been looking at the parts installed in my car and according to ETKA I don't have an amplifier installed in the tailgate. I do apparently have an amplifier under the seat which is linked into the phone system.
    #3
  5. NHN
    Online

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Nov 5, 2008]
    Thats very strange, I would think you have the diversity system in your car mate, I mean its a new car, if you do then you must have the amps in rear.

    Yeah you'll have the compenser amp for the prep for sure fella, but dont think its under the seat, bluetooth goes under the seat mate, it should be rear quarter behind the side panel in boot or is yours sportback as Wesley has this aswell in that place.
    #4
  6. VRStu
    Offline

    VRStu Just Looking VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Nov 5, 2008]
    No it's not a SportBack. I did email Kufatec about the part they offer but they say that it is for SportBack only.

    I do have diversity as there are two antenna plugs at the Radio end so I would think it does use the rear leccy window.

    Looks like I might need to remove the tailgate trim, don't fancy that though.
    #5
  7. Sem
    Offline

    Sem Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 5, 2008]
    Is it just the error code you're getting? has your FM reception deteriorated since fitting the RNS-E?
    #6
  8. sakkie69
    Offline

    sakkie69 2008 Audi S3

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 5, 2008]
    Look on navplus.us, they fitted a part from the Golf5's aerial and make the error go away. Costs around 100 pounds or so, really not worth it as it just affects FM reception in any case (ZF open circuit error)
    #7
  9. sakkie69
    Offline

    sakkie69 2008 Audi S3

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 5, 2008]
    Look on navplus.us, they fitted a part from the Golf5's aerial and make the error go away. Costs around 100 pounds or so, really not worth it as it just affects FM reception in any case (ZF open circuit error)
    #8
  10. sakkie69
    Offline

    sakkie69 2008 Audi S3

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 5, 2008]
    Look on navplus.us, they fitted a part from the Golf5's aerial and make the error go away. Costs around 100 pounds or so, really not worth it as it just affects FM reception in any case (ZF open circuit error)
    #9
  11. VRStu
    Offline

    VRStu Just Looking VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Nov 5, 2008]
    I have the fault code and deteriorated FM reception.

    It may improve the reception but it doesn't clear the code. For the moment, and until I have discovered that it's not feasible then I'm looking to clear the code as well.
    #10
  12. NHN
    Online

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Nov 6, 2008]
    Yeah as Stu says the golf 5 mod doesnt clear the fault anyway, its a case of swapping out parts & possibly rewiring, if the golf 5 mod is £100 then I'd rather spend the £100 on the proper fix not the improv job.
    #11
  13. VRStu
    Offline

    VRStu Just Looking VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Nov 6, 2008]
    So anyone want to get me a chassis number?
    #12
  14. boggym
    Offline

    boggym Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Nov 6, 2008]
    #13
  15. VRStu
    Offline

    VRStu Just Looking VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Nov 6, 2008]
    Thanks, Ideally I need a chassis number so I can look up and compare what's fitted to a factory fit car and my car.
    #14
  16. boggym
    Offline

    boggym Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Nov 6, 2008]
    #15
  17. GeoffT
    Offline

    GeoffT Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 6, 2008]
    I think we must have a lot of politicians on here - lots of answers but not to the question asked!!!! (including me now, ironically!)

    Hope someone can help you, as the "ZF to ground" error was one of the reasons I decided to give up on my retro-fitted RNS-E, so I understand your desire to find a solution.
    #16
  18. VRStu
    Offline

    VRStu Just Looking VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Nov 6, 2008]
    The 'fix' using the module from a Golf, connected into the existing wiring, doesn't alleviate the fault code.

    I'm really kinda hoping that it can't be that complicated, even if you have to mount a new unit and run two new antenna cables from it to the RNS-E it wouldn't be that bad.

    If anyone is concerned about some sort of security issue over passing a chassis number to me, it's nothing I couldn't get if I saw your car parked in the street (It's visibly mounted on the dashboard)
    #17
  19. Sem
    Offline

    Sem Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 6, 2008]
    Can you check your local dealers used stock? see if they have any A3's with RNS-E fitted then take a trip down to grab the chassis number from the windscreen.

    I'm off to my local dealer later so i'll see what they have. I'm very interested in this as i'm looking to install the RNS-E very soon.
    #18
  20. gr1zly
    Offline

    gr1zly Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 6, 2008]
    I've got thesame problem as you, on monday I will know how to solve that problem.

    If someone need VIN number of cars with serial RNS-E:
    WAUZZZ8P79A007292
    WAUZZZ8P89A013375

    both are 2008 S3 sportback
    #19
  21. VRStu
    Offline

    VRStu Just Looking VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Nov 8, 2008]
    I've been collecting some chassis numbers but sadly without conclusive results -

    Mine -

    22 08 07 Build - Has 8P0 035 503L Antenna,

    All 3 doors S3 with factory RNS-E -

    15 01 07 Build - Has 8P0 035 503L Antenna, No Lower Amplifier, 8P4 035 225 C Left Upper Amplifier. 8P0 035 192 L RNS-E

    24 05 07 Build - Has 8P0 035 503L Antenna, No Lower Amplifier, 8P4 035 225 C Left Upper Amplifier. 8P0 035 192 L RNS-E

    27 05 07 Build - Has 8P0 035 503L Antenna, 8P3 035 225 or 8P4 035 225 D Left Lower Amplifier, 8P3 035 225 B or 8P4 035 225 B or 8P4 035 225 C Left Upper Amplifier.

    11 02 08 Build - Has 8P0 035 503L Antenna, 8P3 035 225 Left Lower Amplifier & 8P3 035 225 B Left Upper Amplifier. 8P0 035 192 Q RNS-E
    #20
  22. VRStu
    Offline

    VRStu Just Looking VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Nov 8, 2008]
    WAUZZZ8P79A007292 has a build date of 30 06 08 Can't see anything about antenna or amplifier.

    WAUZZZ8P89A013375 has a build date of 11 07 08 Can't see anything about antenna or amplifier.

    Both have 8P0 035 192 S RNS-E
    #21
  23. VRStu
    Offline

    VRStu Just Looking VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Nov 8, 2008]
    I wonder if it's linked to the version of RNS-E that you have. Mine is the later 8P0 035 192 Q so it might lead you to think I need 8P3 035 225 Left Lower Amplifier & 8P3 035 225 B Left Upper Amplifier
    #22
  24. Sem
    Offline

    Sem Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 8, 2008]
    It certainly seems that way from the examples you have posted.

    8P0 035 503L - is this the sharkfin antenna?

    Could it be that one of the amps is for the GPS portion of the antenna?
    #23
  25. VRStu
    Offline

    VRStu Just Looking VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Nov 8, 2008]
    I would have thought the Sharkfin with GPS would have a larger base to incorperate the GPS section of it,all the others I've seen are.

    Just so we all know what we're looking at -

    [​IMG]
    #24
  26. Sem
    Offline

    Sem Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 8, 2008]
    Stu, can I PM you my chassis number so you can check what mine has?
    #25
  27. VRStu
    Offline

    VRStu Just Looking VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Nov 8, 2008]
    Sure send me an email address as well.
    #26
  28. gr1zly
    Offline

    gr1zly Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 10, 2008]
    I've just been to my loclac audi service and they have already solved that problem, you have to buy part with these number:

    8p4 035 225 a

    That's all changing for these will help in 100%

    Cheers
    #27
  29. NHN
    Online

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Nov 10, 2008]
    Yes thats the antenna & no gps doesnt have an amp from what I know of, its only the phone that has the compenser(amp) & the radio has diversity amps etc
    #28
  30. NHN
    Online

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Nov 10, 2008]
    As I said antenna systems need changing, namely amps as I'm guessing its using same fakra etc connections on concert 2+/golf 5 antenna systems that have the non rns system
    #29
  31. Sem
    Offline

    Sem Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 10, 2008]
    What is the part, have you installed it and has it resolved the problem?
    #30
  32. VRStu
    Offline

    VRStu Just Looking VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Nov 10, 2008]
    8P4 035 225A is a variation of item 10 in the image I posted above. It's a left lower amplifier for vehicles with Navigation and TV. So yes in theory I can see that it may help but it does kinda depend on what else you have in the car and may need to be combined with a different upper amplifier too.

    gr1zly - Have you had this part fitted?
    #31
  33. VRStu
    Offline

    VRStu Just Looking VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Nov 10, 2008]
    I found a picture of the parts in the tailgate, whether you can fit them or not depends on what you already have fitted so I suppose the only way is to take the cover off.

    [​IMG]

    Thanks to lonesg for the picture.

    Edit - Also found the colour key -

    FAKRA code B (White): RF output and power supply

    FAKRA Code K (Curry): ZF IF input ​


    FAKRA Code G (Grey): HF RF output FZV​
    #32
  34. NHN
    Online

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Nov 10, 2008]
    Curry, lol I like that one Stu, lol

    aha so between us all or more like Stu we have found its all fakra anyway so theoretically if amp was swapped out it would maybe fix these issues

    there's gotta be a catch cause the boys audiforum.us would have realised this ages ago, well dirk would have known fairly quickly

    anyway if you've got the time/money you could easily swap out & re-cable if need be fella.
    #33
  35. VRStu
    Offline

    VRStu Just Looking VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Nov 10, 2008]
    Another picture of a 225B top amplifier with connections-

    [​IMG]
    Thanks to kalleu69
    #34
  36. VRStu
    Offline

    VRStu Just Looking VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Nov 10, 2008]
    So who's first to take the tailgate cover off then, Nigel :whistle2:

    There are a lot of people working on this so it does seem as though there is a solution out there somewhere.
    #35
  37. NHN
    Online

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Nov 10, 2008]
    might wanna vso image resizer them tad down a bit fella, lol

    which camera you using as thats good closeup
    #36
  38. VRStu
    Offline

    VRStu Just Looking VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Nov 10, 2008]
    They are just hot linked so no control over the size.
    #37
  39. NHN
    Online

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Nov 10, 2008]
    uh dont know about you stu me old chap but I'm turning my a3 upside down & paddling down the road at moment I mean WTF its worst than the monsoon I was in thailand with missus, its so bloody wet out there, I'm trying to get my s3 skirts finished, new brakes figure out why suspension has now caused a kinda loose feeling on front, all cant do cause weather & until suspension sorted dont wanna drive at all cause hate it(maybe we could consult on this thing) :think::whistle2:

    I've got 4 panels of at moment so please someone if you have a garage please feel free, lol.
    #38
  40. VRStu
    Offline

    VRStu Just Looking VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Nov 10, 2008]
    Ok, I've resized the images and loaded to my PB.

    Here is another that I found, I think it's been posted before but it might give us a clue as to what extra cabling would be required.

    In my simplistic mind it looks like the need to change the lower amp for a suitable one and then possibly the upper one. Then route the FM1/AM to the lower amp instead of straight to the RNS-E (Maybe a small linking cable) and plug the original FM1/AM into the new amp as the ZF to the RNS-E.

    What do you think ??

    [​IMG]
    #39
  41. NHN
    Online

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Nov 10, 2008]
    Yeah its as I imagined mate, amp switch & small re-cable

    I did reply to above posts but as usual the poxy site crashed so after multiple attempts I gave up, lol

    Ah actually it did post what I said up so cool, ignore above then
    #40

Share This Page