1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

8V VCDS Mods

Discussion in 'New A3/S3 (8V Chassis)' started by Silky-S3, Jan 5, 2014.

  1. Schizophonic
    Online

    Schizophonic Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    51

    I enabled the visual parking aid when I borrowed someone's VCDS. Before I reverse, I check where my parking spot, check the surrounding objects and begin to move into position. The visual and sound beep is only for fine movement of how close I want to be with the parking.
  2. slipped_disc
    Online

    slipped_disc New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    5
    Wasn't this thread supposed to be for talking about coding issues associated with VCDS mods - not how we use parking sensors?

    There's a separate thread devoted to VCDS discussions and many other threads for other general nonsense. Can we not keep this thread as a useful source of information?
  3. veeeight
    Online

    veeeight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    703
    Yep sorry.

    Mods, any chance of a move please?
  4. amped2
    Offline

    amped2 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    52
    does anybody know if it is possible to change oil change interval via vcds,asked for the variable servicing to be set up but its still saying oil in 9k and service in 19k.cant really be arsed to go back to garage?

    Rich
  5. amped2
    Offline

    amped2 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    52
    Has anyone managed to get the TPMS working yet via VCDS.

    Rich
  6. s3 owner
    Offline

    s3 owner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    5
    its not just a case of enabling it via VCDS an extra module etc is required. have been looking into this for a while but without a scan of a car with it fitted plus a parts list its not possible at the moment.
  7. amped2
    Offline

    amped2 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    52
    cheers s3
  8. Silky-S3
    Offline

    Silky-S3 Is loving his new 8V S3!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,393
    Likes Received:
    305
    No extra module is required. It's just coding in the ABS module.
  9. amped2
    Offline

    amped2 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    52
    Thanks Silky, is this for the 8v

    once its enabled is it just a matter of clearing fault codes via vcds if its triggered?
  10. s3 owner
    Offline

    s3 owner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    5
    sorry have to disagree with you there silky.if you look at elsawin for the A3 it shows a TPMS module positioned behind the glovebox which is not present when TPMS is not specified. so assume it will be the same for the S3. I have retro-fitted this to a TTRS and an addition wiring loom plus switch plus module was necessary.
    now I know you may say this is not S3 and I know a switch is no longer necessary as its reset via the dis but without the module and the extra wiring loom there is no way of storing the values of the tpms, the wiring is to connect the ABS to the module to be able to record the values from each wheel via rolling circumference.
    I asked anybody with this system fitted at factory to post a scan but nobody has provided this so until the etka that covers 8V S3 comes out it cannot be confirmed either way but in my previous experience it seems to point the same way.also as a by the by the code has not been cracked ( as of yet) to gain access to the ABS module ( comes from ross tec).
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2014
  11. h5djr
    Online

    h5djr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    559
    I have an up-to-date copy of ETKA and ElsaWin for the 8V and have just had a look and I can find nothing at all related to the Tyre Pressure Monitoring System. There does not appear to be a separate module or any additional wiring shown. Also with the 8P A3 the Current Flow Diagrams, under the heading Tyre Pressure Monitoring System, it shows a module J285 Control panel in dash insert as you mention. But in the same Current Flow Diagrams for the 8V the is no such entry for TPMS. At the moment I can only assume that with this later 8V design the TPMS has been incorporated into the ABS modules.
  12. veeeight
    Online

    veeeight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    703
    Does/do anyone/you know the security code for the ABS module yet?

    I'm missing this :(
  13. s3 owner
    Offline

    s3 owner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    5
    the part I'm referring to is J502 which is located behind the glovebox and shown on picture no A97-10891 and called tyre pressure monitor control unit. unfortunately as my model S3 is MY2014 according to resources the ETKA/elsawin for this year model doesn't exist yet in detail.
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2014
  14. h5djr
    Online

    h5djr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    559
    As I say I have a copy of ETKA updated to etupau10100 dated 28 March 2014 which shows all the current Audi models. If I look in the TT model section and do a search for J502 it comes up as the Tyre Pressure Monitoring Control Unit with a part number of 8V0 907 274. If I then do a search for that part number using the ATP facility it tells me that the only model than this was used on was the TT 2007-2010. It does not list it for the 2014 A3/S3 at all.

    Looking in Elsawin at the Current Flow Diagrams the only place it shows the J502 Module is unfer the Tyre Pressure Monitoring System but 'only with USA equipment from June 2006.

    If I look in EKTA at the TT dash board under Electrics it clearly shows the J502 module But it is not shown on any of the diagrams related to the 8V A3/S3. So I still think the TPMS has been incorporated into the ABS module in the new 8V.
  15. s3 owner
    Offline

    s3 owner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    5
    interesting cos my copy shows it as J502 located behind glovebox with the diagram number as I've given but as I say this is on an A3 so you could very well be right but without some kind soul posting a scan with it factory fitted we'll have to leave it there, and my search continues.
  16. h5djr
    Online

    h5djr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    559
    What we need really it the Access/Security code for the ABS module. When my 8V arrives in the next week or so I have a copy of VCDS so I will do a full scan and see what it says.
    On the scan for my existing 2012 8P A3 which has TPMS factory fitted it only mentions Address 4C: Tire Pressure II - Cannot be reached.
    s3 owner likes this.
  17. s3 owner
    Offline

    s3 owner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    5
    mmh that's interesting it suggests there is a module fitted in one breath but by saying it can't be reached suggests its not there.just as a by I had a hell of a job fitting it on my TTRS but with the help of R.T and a local indy I got it working. would be very grateful for your scan would answer a lot of things but specifically coding for ABS/canbus/instruments and wait for it........ TPMS module (if its there) lol
  18. h5djr
    Online

    h5djr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    559
    Perhaps Audi have done it a different way on the latest 8V because they know it will an EU requirement on all new cars made after, I think, November 2014.
  19. s3 owner
    Offline

    s3 owner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    5
    you could be right there it would be a sensible idea to make it compulsory as most new cars come without a spare. anyhow off to work now to pick up unfortunate souls who get punctures with no spare.
  20. Silky-S3
    Offline

    Silky-S3 Is loving his new 8V S3!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,393
    Likes Received:
    305
    You can see the TPMS coding in the ABS module. Just can't turn it on because we don't have the security code. The 8P also had it all in the ABS module.
  21. h5djr
    Online

    h5djr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    559
    I'm surprised that no one on a German forum has come up with the security code yet. Must be a well guarded secret.
  22. veeeight
    Online

    veeeight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    703
    Yup 4C is a virtual module, VCDS will pick it up, but VAS ignores it.

    There is no physical module for 7K6 TPMS in the 8P. Just ABS module and sensors.

    Question: In the TT install with the physical module - were there individual sensors in each tyre?
  23. s3 owner
    Offline

    s3 owner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    5
    don't know if that question was directed at me as I successfully did a retro on a TTRS,if so no there weren't individual sensors in each tyre it was done on the indirect method i.e rolling circumference measured at the speed sensors at each wheel as registered via the ABS module.
    sensors in the tyres are only for direct methods which I had fitted in my last car and the complete kit was over £400 I wouldn't advise anyone going down that route what a pain if you had a puncture not only did you have to replace the tyre but the special valve as well and then recode at the dealers.
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2014
  24. veeeight
    Online

    veeeight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    703
    Yup - just checking that your extra module behind the glovebox wasn't for the direct TPMS.

    As for ABS modules:

    1AS - ABS module without TPMS
    1AT - ABS module with TPMS

    Maybe your ABS module in the TT was pre 1AT ?
    h5djr likes this.
  25. s3 owner
    Offline

    s3 owner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    5
  26. gtiller
    Online

    gtiller Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    7
    Just tried disabling start/stop in VCDS on my S3

    However, when I try changing the value -50 to 50 I am getting an out of range error.
    Has anyone else seen this?

    Thanks!
  27. Silky-S3
    Offline

    Silky-S3 Is loving his new 8V S3!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,393
    Likes Received:
    305
  28. gtiller
    Online

    gtiller Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    7
    Didn't realise there was one. I will try it tomorrow, as I'd love to disable the pita start-stop system.

    I really don't want to have to buy one of the kufatec OBD thingies.

    I was disappointed with what can be done on the 8V so far, as I have been able to do so much with my previous A4/S4 and A6s in the past.
  29. cemerson
    Online

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,340
    Likes Received:
    685
    It's a new car, I'm sure more will become available as more modules are unlocked
  30. faisal_16
    Offline

    faisal_16 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    18
    Hi guys,

    I tried to enable to the visual display for rear parking sensors on mine. I followed the coding mentioned earlier in this thread but was shown error 33 - access not allowed.

    I typed in the access code provided on here but with no luck. I tried with two separate VCDS and got the same problem both times.

    Can anyone suggest how I can activate the display?

    Thanks
  31. 81llyh
    Offline

    81llyh Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    32
    Anyone know how to change the setting for the drl to stay fully lit when headlights come on?
    S3 TRS likes this.
  32. S3 TRS
    Offline

    S3 TRS Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    98
    And can it be changed to full brightness for side lights also but dim as usual on indicator?
  33. slipped_disc
    Online

    slipped_disc New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    5
    As stated by h5djr:

    "VCDS Mods is only for information about the codes to use with VCDS and NOT for general discussions about the rights and wrongs of carrying out particular code changes. For that please use the VCDS - Discussions thread. If you do start 'discussions' in the Mods thread they will be moved or deleted. "

    Can we not keep this thread for the actual coding associated with these mods, and keep the wants, wishes and questions in the discussions thread?

    When I need to carry out some coding on VCDS, I don't want to have to trawl through pages and pages before I find the relevant information.
  34. Itguy
    Offline

    Itguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,097
    Likes Received:
    430
  35. h5djr
    Online

    h5djr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    559
    I've just had a look at the site and it looks quite interesting but it is main aimed at the A4 so that and the fact that it is a US site and some things may well be a little different on 8V/UK models.

    Some of the more generic articles are interesting like the one on PR codes and the Part numbering system.
  36. Itguy
    Offline

    Itguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,097
    Likes Received:
    430
    Yes, it was more the calculation of the security code which i found of interest - not seen that before
  37. h5djr
    Online

    h5djr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    559
    I have joined to get any updates that become available.
  38. s3 owner
    Offline

    s3 owner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    5
    any luck with the scan on your 8v?
  39. h5djr
    Online

    h5djr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    559
    Yes I've done a full scan and I've sent a copy to Ross-Tech.

    As far as I can see there is no mention of TPMS system although some of the module have Subsystems listed but only by number.

    For example the 09: Central Electrics (J519) have five different subsystem with individual Part Nos for both Software and Hardware.

    Would a copy be of any use to you. If so send me a PM with an email address and I will send you a copy.
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2014
  40. s3 owner
    Offline

    s3 owner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    5
    thanks pm on the way

Share This Page