1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

8P VCDS changes thread

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Staz, Sep 11, 2009.

  1. bodders
    Offline

    bodders Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    2
    10.6

    I only need to confirm I'm counting the bits correctly.
    #41
  2. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,226
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Are you using lcode directly to create a coding before connecting to the car or long coding connected to the car, cause the latter should for that CE module show the tick boxes no problems.
    #42
  3. bodders
    Offline

    bodders Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    2
    Not 100% sure.

    I think it's the long coding. I connected to the car, and clicked on 'Long Coding Helper' (or 'Long Code Helper', something like that)

    I only have that screen shot as I took it so I had a reference to change back if it all went wrong. lol.
    #43
  4. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,226
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Ah well if its connected to the car then certainly you should see the tick boxes, there was a bug where some modules didnt show the tick boxes/descriptions, try uninstalling vcds & reinstalling & see if they show up on the 1st usage, if so then come out & go back in & see if it still shows up the correct info, if not then this is the bug, only 1st time you went into modules it showed the info correctly, I had same issue on my conv module, updated to newer module & problem went, but I sent my old module into RT to track down the problem as I wasnt alone.

    What version of 10.6 are you using, are you using the latest?
    #44
  5. bodders
    Offline

    bodders Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ah OK thanks for the information.

    It doesn't really matter to me about the tick boxes as its just as easy changing a 0 to a 1 than it is clicking a box. So I'd still like to know if 'Bit 0' refers to the 1st digit and therefore 'Bit 7' the last?
    #45
  6. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,226
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    I already advised this in post 40.
    #46
  7. bodders
    Offline

    bodders Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ah yes. I see now.

    Thank you for your help.
    #47
  8. Vertigo1
    Online

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,703
    Likes Received:
    248
    Does anyone have any similar info for a MY11 8P3? Just had a look at mine and the long coding helper bears no resemblance to the options listed above. I know that controller 46 was assimilated into 9 in recent models so I suspect this has changed everything.
    #48
  9. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    31
    My MY09 8P3? has exactly the same long coder as that....not matched the codes up persoanlly but it looks the same from that snap
    #49
  10. Vertigo1
    Online

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,703
    Likes Received:
    248
    Do you have the Comfort System on channel 46? It seems that the latest cars don't have this - it's all been merged into the Central Electronics on channel 9 instead. Seems this isn't all 8P3 models but only the very latest MY10/11 cars.
    #50
  11. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,226
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Its been staggered across the year as with most chassis facelifts, hence why some 8P3 models have older modules/wiring.
    #51
  12. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    31
    So this module is how you tell what wiring you have? makes sense really as they always phase out old parts across the facelifts
    #52
  13. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,226
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Yeap, my 54 car had wiring for a facelift pump but had older pump, hence why I had to upgrade for the white dis.
    #53
  14. apoc_reg
    Offline

    apoc_reg Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great thread, got a very generous guy looking at my new 8P tongiht :icon_thumright:
    #54
  15. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    I'm just going to make this thread a sticky for a week or so just to let people know this type of thing exists!
    #55
  16. AudiMafia
    Offline

    AudiMafia Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    13
    Tried to click on the VCDS map but it gives me this "No Thread specified. If you followed a valid link, please notify the administrator"
    #56
  17. Sandra
    Offline

    Sandra MODERATOR Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    15,917
    Likes Received:
    2,296
    I have got in no problem Joe. :) x
    #57
  18. 37
    Offline

    37 Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    5
    Do you need certain # of posts? Cos it happened to me as well when I joined..
    #58
  19. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,226
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    I'm dealing with it, so we'll see what's happened to that thread.
    #59
  20. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    My link was for the old thread, now fixed!
    #60
  21. s3reptdi
    Offline

    s3reptdi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    2
    When I tick the box for auto lock after 15 kmh it says: The equipment number is invalid! Equipment number must be 5-6 digits: 00000-262143
    #61
  22. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,226
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    You need to advise of the module, coding used, year of car etc
    #62
  23. s3reptdi
    Offline

    s3reptdi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    2
    vcds1.jpg vcds3.jpg 2005 2.0 tdi 140 dsg
    #63
  24. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,226
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Try using the actual release version 11.11.5, instead of the beta version.
    #64
  25. Lima
    Offline

    Lima AUSmotive.com

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    26
    I vaguely remember reading when I first got my car that it was possible to adjust the weight of the power steering. I've had a quick search and this thread was the most useful discovery. Can anyone confirm if my memory is correct and if so what's the prodecure required for adjustment?
    #65
  26. TillA
    Offline

    TillA Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    6
    09 - Central Electronics

    Long Coding Helper:

    Byte 0
    Bit 3 - Daytime Running Lights (Scandinavia) active - (DRLs plus tailights)

    This is not an option for me.

    Byte 0 is all to do with unlocking.

    Any ideas?
    #66

Share This Page