1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

8L Bose system plug and play compatible with aftermarket headunits?

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by Matt T, Nov 9, 2008.

  1. Matt T
    Offline

    Matt T Bumble Bee

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 9, 2008]
    Is the 8L Bosesystem plug and play compatible with aftermarket headunits? I want a double DIN satnav unit but dont want to chop the original loom or anything so it can all be slotted back when i sell.

    Is it a straight swap with the correct adapters or do the speakers/amps/sub get messed up?

    Ta
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 30, 2014]

  3. Matt T
    Offline

    Matt T Bumble Bee

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Nov 9, 2008]
    Unfortunately even with that RCA adapter you'll very likely get loud popping on the Bose system everytime you change track or select source. You'd be far better off going with an Audi RNS-E unit, or going completely aftermarket.
    #3
  5. Matt T
    Offline

    Matt T Bumble Bee

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 17, 2008]
    Is the popping an earth issue? It usually is.

    Was thinking of trying the new VW RNS510 sat nav, but suspect it will be a pain integrating it, its so much better than the RNS-E though.
    #4
  6. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Nov 17, 2008]
    Yes, the Bose amps use a floating ground on the input stage, along with a whole bunch of capacitors, so the normal common ground used by aftemarket HU's to reduce elctrically noisey activities like changing CD track discharges the capacitor array and causes the loud pop. You can buy floating ground adapters (slightly different to ground loop isolators), but no idea if this would solve the issue.
    #5

Share This Page