1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

6 cd changer mp3 ??

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by cliveywolves, Jun 16, 2008.

  1. cliveywolves
    Offline

    cliveywolves Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 16, 2008]
    hi all,

    quick one for anybody please ....:yes:

    does the glovebox audi 6cd changer support mp3 or just ya box standard cds ????

    cheers
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 25, 2014]

  3. S3IZZO
    Online

    S3IZZO Guest

    [Jun 16, 2008]
    Just standard cd's
    #2
  4. Roswell
    Offline

    Roswell Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 16, 2008]
    Is that a definite?

    Seeing as the headunits can now handle MP3s, you would imagine that it's the HU doing all the decoding. Seems strange that the 6 disc changer wouldn't be decoded in the same way.

    ???
    #3
  5. S3IZZO
    Online

    S3IZZO Guest

    [Jun 16, 2008]
    Try it yourself, the RNS-E has MP3 via SD slots, on my 6 CD changer in the glovebox it does not work with MP3 CD's - I also assumed it would.
    #4
  6. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Jun 16, 2008]
    Still the same interface as before for the CD changer, so no Mp3 support on the external device. The internal CD can support Mp3's.
    #5
  7. Roswell
    Offline

    Roswell Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 16, 2008]
    Audi are so **** with their lack of up-to-date audio technology. It's really annoying!
    #6
  8. dunk
    Offline

    dunk Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 16, 2008]
    you could use a phatbox instead - just plugs instead of a changer and gives you more mp3's than you can be bothered with

    ive got about 160gig space 1/2 full with about 750 albums so far
    #7
  9. Roswell
    Offline

    Roswell Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 16, 2008]
    Yeah, go the Phatbox route. I'm taking mine out the A3 and putting it in the new S3......once I get it ordered. I don't like the sound of the limitations of the Ipod adaptor either.
    #8
  10. S3mad
    Offline

    S3mad Dark Knight

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 12, 2008]
    These sound cool ,

    says they dont sell them anymore >???

    #9
  11. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Aug 12, 2008]
    Think there's one in the classifieds sections... Failing that try the bay.
    #10

Share This Page