1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

59plate tfsi with alternator whine from appradio2

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by coolevilangel, Mar 22, 2013.

  1. coolevilangel
    Offline

    coolevilangel Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 22, 2013]
    God help me, im gonna throw the thing in the bin...
    Serious alternator whine from the stereo ever since it was wired in.
    Have have it out as many times, trying to connect & re-connect to see if anything different etc but to no avail.
    Does anyone know how i can get rid of this noise?
    At this rate the original is going back in and the appradio on fleabay!:notme:
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 21, 2014]

  3. olethalb
    Offline

    olethalb Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    45
    [Mar 22, 2013]
    when i bought my B7 tfsi the double din was broken so popped my pioneer double din satnav / dvd from my old car in and got a terrible low level buzz / humm that has now developed into engine speed related whine (a lot louder with lights on)

    i removed the stereo, ran a new earth - nothing

    earthed the stereo chassis to an existing earth point in the kick well - nothing

    checked bose amp - earthed amp chassis - nothing

    yesterday i took delivery of a boss 12v supressor and 2 RCA lead supressors to try and stop this noise, drives me around the twist!

    if i get a chance at the weekend i'll hook them up and update.

    if no luck i'll try a new alternator and refresh engine grounds, i'll try anything at this point
    #2
  4. Sidhu88
    Offline

    Sidhu88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    797
    Likes Received:
    74
    [Mar 22, 2013]
    I didnt think this affected the newer cars but ive had this problem with two 8L a3s. At first i used a harness adaptor that used high level inputs throughout and due to poor ground of the amp there was the feedback issue. I solved this by using a harness lead that used a high to low level input, so basically u plug some rca's into the rear of whatever unit and the feedback was gone.

    What leads are u both using?
    #3
  5. Digzz
    Offline

    Digzz "Started From The Bottom" VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,404
    Likes Received:
    67
    [Mar 22, 2013]
    #4
  6. olethalb
    Offline

    olethalb Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    45
    [Mar 22, 2013]
    i had to use a connects / connex car2 kit for £100, only one i could find for B7, uses rca outputs to connect to adaptor to run to bose amp
    #5
  7. olethalb
    Offline

    olethalb Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    45
    [Mar 22, 2013]
    Digzz - i took delivery of two of these last night as well as a power source one. yet to fit it though....
    #6
  8. coolevilangel
    Offline

    coolevilangel Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 22, 2013]
    Cheers for that
    Have ordered 2 so will see how i get on.
    In the meantime, its been whipped out and the original concert unit is back in
    Complete pita

    PS
    Anyone getting shot of a rnse unit feel free to pm me!
    #7
  9. coolevilangel
    Offline

    coolevilangel Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 26, 2013]
    IT WORKED!!!!

    Thanks for the ebay link, got the two rca isolators this afternoon, a quick clip together and away it went
    Over the moon now ive piece and quiet
    A quick and very cheap fix
    Thanks again
    #8

Share This Page