1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

4GB SD cards?

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B7 Chassis)' started by Andy H, May 19, 2010.

  1. Andy H

    Andy H Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    1
    Has anyone managed to find any 4GB SD that will work with the RNS-E? I know they are only compatable with standard SD cards and not HCSD cards, which is a bit of a shame considering the age of these cars. However I have searched high and low and found some non HCSD 4GB cards but they wouldn't work either.

    So has anyone had any luck with 4GB cards? and where did you get them from?
     
  2. PetrolDave

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    83
    I got some 4GB SD cards on eBay a few years ago which I used - but it seems most 4GB cards are now SDHC which won't work in a pre-2010 RNS-E.
     
  3. 1wheelonly

    1wheelonly cabriolet
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,086
    Likes Received:
    9
    cant see the point in getting 4gb anyway as the rns-e will only read 512 files, 2gb should be ample
     
  4. Andy H

    Andy H Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    1
    The pair I got from ebay recently are only marked as SD rather than HCSD and these do not work, just says 'reading card'. I have tried re-formating and just copying a few mp3 files but this still does not work.

    Finding non HCSD is very hard now. Seen a lot of references to Transcend 4Gb SD cards working in the RNS-E but I can't find these anywhere now.

    I did check the 512 file/folder limit and with one of my non working 4Gb cards I was only just over that limit so I can easliy get a lot more music on a 4Gb card and still stay within 512 files/folders. Just need to find a working card.
     
  5. dsl55

    dsl55 exploring other avenues

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bugger! Wish I'd done a small amount of research before buying a 4gb SDHC card. Came today, loaded a few songs on it and the car won't recognise it. I presumed it would work, only just picked the car up so not fully read the manual etc

    Never mind, will try a standard 2gb one
     
  6. Andy H

    Andy H Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    1
    Don't feel bad, I did the same:haha: Luckly I bought mine from PCWorld so I went back in and changed them for a pair of 2Gb SD which work nicely.
     
  7. dsl55

    dsl55 exploring other avenues

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Glad it's not just me, got it from r4cards.co.uk which have some good deals, was only £6.50 (with a discount code) so will stick it on ebay as have no other use for it

    My car is the new shape 2008 on model, would have hoped it could handle it but never mind
     
  8. Nu-Tec

    Nu-Tec New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi chaps, play.com are doing a deal on x2 scandisk 2GB SD cards for £9.99 inc free P&P

    cheers

    Mark
     
  9. solaris

    solaris Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    16
  10. Andy H

    Andy H Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    1
    Excellent, thanks for that. Did you get the x133 or the x80 versions?
     
  11. solaris

    solaris Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    16
    I got the x133..and they are bloody fast indeed
     
  12. Andy H

    Andy H Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    1
    Cool, just wanted to make sure that the faster ones would work with the rns-e before I added to my collection on non compatable SD cards :lmfao:
     
  13. PetrolDave

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    83
    If you have MP3 files ripped at 320kbps (like all of mine are) then a 2GB SD card will often be full before you reach 512 files.
     
  14. 1wheelonly

    1wheelonly cabriolet
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,086
    Likes Received:
    9
    cheer dave, wasnt aware of that, but does make sense really.
     
  15. Andy H

    Andy H Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just got mine today and they work well, thanks :beerchug:
     
  16. Playsatan

    Playsatan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I jumped onthe bandwagon and ordered a couple also but I'm having some problems.

    I put about 10 - 12 folders on each but when browsing the cards can only see 4 ot 5 on each card. Very hit an miss. They are on there though but can only be reached by scrolling through the songs one at a time. Is there a better way to navigate about the folders.

    Many thanks.
     
  17. PetrolDave

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    83
    Reformat the cards to FAT32 and try again.

    Make sure the maximum path length is 64 characters - any longer than that and the RNS-E won't see the file.
     
  18. Playsatan

    Playsatan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Figured out what I was doing wrong.

    I've just got the RNS-E and thought that I moved through the folders by choosing the Source option as some of the folders were listed under it, some were not though and that's what confused me.

    I've now noticed that it's the return button to list them.

    Maybe the next time I'll learn to read the instructions first. But probably not.
     
  19. Andy H

    Andy H Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    1
    Glad you figured it out mate, now go and enjoy :)
     
  20. A4 steve

    A4 steve New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just placed my order for 4 4gb SD cards, thanks for the link.
    They have the same cards on amazon.
     
  21. Andy H

    Andy H Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    1
    One thing you have to watch is the files and folder limit. Although the card appears to work ok, if you exceed this limit you won't see some of the music loaded. I had to keep going back out to the car and checked how much I could load on each card and still see it on the screen.
     
  22. Hellz

    Hellz Geordie Racer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    6
    When we're talking about a 512 'File' limit, does the number of folders count towards tha 512 limit... for instance, there are 509 tracks (files) on my 4GB SD card AND 69 files... does that actually count as 578 files to the RNSE?
     
  23. PetrolDave

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    83
    Yes.

    512 is the limit for folders + MP3 files + M3U files (if you use them).
     
  24. Hellz

    Hellz Geordie Racer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    6
    Thanks PD. Seems a bit naff for what was a near 2K option...

    Anyhow, I bought a 4gb SD (non-sdhc apparently) but when inserting the card into the RNSE I just get a permanent (tried for 15 mins or so) message of 'Card Loading', does this signal incompatibility or is it just taking time to index the card or something?

    My 2gb SD cards work fine so it isnt a problem with the unit itself. The content on the 4gb was copied direct from the 2gb cards so the data shouldnt be an issue...

    Have I answered my own question? or do i just need to be more patient? :S
     
  25. PetrolDave

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    83
    Try reformatting the 4GB SD card to FAT32 and then copying the files across from the 2GB card again.

    It does take a while from inserting a new card before it starts playing, but normally it's only a minute or so.
     
  26. solaris

    solaris Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    16
    I have found some more 4GB SD cards for RNS-E £7:30 Bargin!
    eBay item number :220630937610
     

Share This Page