1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

4GB SD cards for RNS-E at less than £5

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B7 Chassis)' started by chrisru, Oct 19, 2008.

  1. chrisru
    Offline

    chrisru Guest

    [Oct 19, 2008]
    Having accidentally washed one of my SD cards the other week I was pleasantly surprised to find that you can now buy the 4GB cards on amazon for less than £5. Search for 4GB and Transcend and you will get a variety of cards listed, ignore the SDHC which won't work. I went for the cheapest unspecified speed cards (rather than the 150x or 133x) and they seem to work at just the same speed when I copy files to them.

    I understand the limit on the cards is 512 files but using 320kbs encoding on MP3 that works out just about right - I have 424 files taking 3.9GB

    Chris
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 16, 2014]

  3. Richardesty
    Offline

    Richardesty loves quattro

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    750
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Oct 20, 2008]
    I can't get my head unit to accept 4GB memory cards?!?!?!?

    Am I doing something wrong?
    #2
  4. IainP
    Offline

    IainP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 20, 2008]
    You're prob using the SDHC as most of the bigger cards are this format.
    #3
  5. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    82
    [Oct 21, 2008]
    4GB SD cards formatted to FAT32 should work fine, I use several different makes.

    Any size SDHC card won't work at all.
    #4
  6. S-Line_Wales
    Offline

    S-Line_Wales Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 22, 2008]
    Yep, am using said Transcend 4gb SD cards from Amazon.com seller "Chimpology", they arrived superfast & work with no problems in my recently installed RNS-E.
    #5
  7. gaz j
    Offline

    gaz j Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Dec 1, 2008]
    I've just bought an A4 with RNS-e in and was wondering how you put music onto the sd cards? I've got i-tunes on my pc and a card writer aswell but thats as far as i can go. Any help appreciated.
    #6
  8. Rajiya_ne_Oudi
    Offline

    Rajiya_ne_Oudi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 1, 2008]
    I have an 8gb sd card not a sdhc...it works but some of the mp3's crackle and dont play properly anyone encounter this problem or know whats wrong?
    #7
  9. BahnStormer77
    Offline

    BahnStormer77 BahnStormer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,604
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Feb 20, 2009]
    #8
  10. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    82
    [Feb 20, 2009]
    There isn't - the SD standard specs the maximum size at 4GB - there isn't enough address bits for any more.

    <= 2GB - always SD.
    >= 8GB - always SDHC.
    4GB - available as both SD and SDHC.
    #9
  11. S-Line_Wales
    Offline

    S-Line_Wales Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 20, 2009]
    #10
  12. Rajiya_ne_Oudi
    Offline

    Rajiya_ne_Oudi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 24, 2009]

    Nope cant be true I certainly have a 8gb sd card its not a sdhc it works only thing is some of the songs crackle when being playedback id say 90% of them are ok so 8gb is definatly out there:icon_thumright:
    #11
  13. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    82
    [Feb 25, 2009]
    #12
  14. Cupramax
    Offline

    Cupramax Uber pimp meister

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 25, 2009]
    That says the SD max capacity is 2gb so thats clearly wrong as well ;)
    #13
  15. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    82
    [Feb 25, 2009]
    #14
  16. Addie
    Offline

    Addie Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 1, 2009]
    #15
  17. sukcede
    Offline

    sukcede New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 14, 2010]
    Hi
    @ Rajiya_ne_Oudi: I'm searching for a SD 8GB not SDHC, where do you buy yours?
    I've found Samsung MMC Plus 8Gb on the web but i don't know where i can buy this!
    Do you have a idea?
    Thank you
    #16
  18. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    82
    [Apr 15, 2010]
    You'll search forever - there is no such thing as an 8GB SD card, if it's 8GB it's SDHC, period.
    #17

Share This Page