1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

4 bar fuel pressure regulator?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Defratos, May 28, 2005.

  1. Defratos
    Offline

    Defratos You’re Dethpicable!!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 28, 2005]
    Hey guys, hopefully I'm gettin a MOFO soon and need a 4bar Fuel pressure regulator, I've had one place that sells it but lost the site, have any of you fitted anythin similar?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 17, 2014]

  3. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 28, 2005]
    Whats a "MOFO"?
    #2
  4. monty77
    Offline

    monty77 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 28, 2005]
    #3
  5. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 28, 2005]
    Okay doke. Just checking that he didn't mean "mother f***er"!! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/lol.gif
    #4
  6. imported_hookie
    Offline

    imported_hookie Guest

    [May 28, 2005]
    The reason for the screen is to ensure that the airflow going through the centre portion over the sensor is straight and smooth, this is so that the ECU's computation will be accurate. If the flow is not smooth then the ECU's computation of total flow through the barrel will be possibly off.
    #5
  7. Defratos
    Offline

    Defratos You’re Dethpicable!!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 28, 2005]
    Hye monty how was your MOFO performance? I mean did you feel any difference or gains? Bottom line is it worth it? cause I'm def getting one =) lol MOFO
    #6
  8. imported_grantos
    Offline

    imported_grantos Guest

    [May 28, 2005]
    visit our ecommerce site, £35+VAT & Delivery
    #7
  9. Defratos
    Offline

    Defratos You’re Dethpicable!!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 29, 2005]
    Yeah but did u have a TTDA installed at the time. U need a TTDA for it to work optimum I think. Hey Monty you've got a TTDA and MOFO, did you find it got a bit more laggy?
    #8
  10. monty77
    Offline

    monty77 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 29, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Yeah but did u have a TTDA installed at the time. U need a TTDA for it to work optimum I think. Hey Monty you've got a TTDA and MOFO, did you find it got a bit more laggy?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    I ran TTDA, MOFO and boost machine with 4 bar FPR. Butt dyno felt gains all over the rev range, felt smoother too.

    Adam
    #9
  11. MingBluS3
    Offline

    MingBluS3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 29, 2005]
    can someone tell me how this would make a difference? I get the TTDA but the MOFO looks no better than the original part....
    #10
  12. Defratos
    Offline

    Defratos You’re Dethpicable!!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 29, 2005]
    Well if you check www.modshack.net it'll tell u the technical info, basically it's 11% bigger than the original and has no screen to disrupt the air flow into the engine. Only question is do u get greater turbo lag?
    #11
  13. Defratos
    Offline

    Defratos You’re Dethpicable!!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 29, 2005]
    I ran TTDA, MOFO and boost machine with 4 bar FPR. Butt dyno felt gains all over the rev range, felt smoother too.

    Adam

    [/ QUOTE ]

    So would u say u did not feel any increase in low end turbo lag?
    #12
  14. imported_hookie
    Offline

    imported_hookie Guest

    [May 29, 2005]
    The only problem is most people don't understand that you need to remove the bottleneck on any system at each stage. The MAF housing is by noi means any where near the the bottleneck, money is better spent elsewhere initially.

    A descreened MAF is not the way forward in my opinion even APR on their Stage 3 1.8T include a screen for the MAF, read the flow straightener part on this page
    #13
  15. Defratos
    Offline

    Defratos You’re Dethpicable!!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 29, 2005]
    man that screen looks very restrictive, especially since it's a clip on, ontop of the existing screen so that's two screens your flowing through. Plus it's not just de-screening it's that plus a bigger chamber (11%) bigger. Now what I want to know is would I get great lag that's all nothing else, I've already looked at the whole issues on air flow and people's opinions on air filters, I'm happy with my choices, but would like to know what people experience with this particular product if anyone apart from Adam "Monty" has.
    #14
  16. Gambba
    Offline

    Gambba Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 30, 2005]
    If you really want to upgrade the MAF then I'd say look for a standard Cosworth version housing (i think this is the one??!) and simply put your MAF sensor in it........might as well take the injectors and a remap whilst you're at it.

    I wouldn't be inclined to purchase one without the screen as it will disrupt the air flow across the sensor, which cannot be good for performance.

    The 4 bar reg is available from VAG/Audi (or VAG parts as stated earlier) as it was used on the longitudinal 1.8T engine i.e. the one from the A4.
    #15

Share This Page