1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

312 mm brake upgrade

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by j4yvw, Apr 18, 2010.

  1. j4yvw
    Offline

    j4yvw Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 18, 2010]
    hi what parts do i need to upgrade my a3 front brakes to 312mm.the car is a 2000 V audi a3 1.8 tqs.
    what audi range can i source them from as well.thanks.
    #1
  2. elbored
    Offline

    elbored Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 18, 2010]
    I just got S3 carriers discs and pads,I used original calipers.
    #2
  3. jojo
    Offline

    jojo Looking for Boost! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    27,043
    Likes Received:
    2,261
    [Apr 18, 2010]
    That is what you need, search 312 brakes on ebay for the carriers if you want them brand new, or try and find a used set of Audi S3, 225TT and some higher powered B5 Passat/Audi A4's should do the trick, then 312 brake disks for S3/TT225/Leon Cupra(not R), and any pads that fit the caliper(must be 'Lucas' calipers I think?).
    #3
  4. A3Tom
    Offline

    A3Tom Smell my finger.

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,514
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Apr 18, 2010]
    Its just discs and carriers isnt it?, calipers are the same so the A3 pads will be just fine
    #4
  5. emery1990
    Offline

    emery1990 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,070
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 18, 2010]
    The first upgrade to do on your tqs! standards are so rubbish its unreal, i just got carriers, black diamond vented discs and ferado pads. your suspose to get ds200 pads from farado but i accidently got the crapper ones!.
    #5
  6. j4yvw
    Offline

    j4yvw Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 19, 2010]
    thanks for the replies.i was told that you could use thefront brake set up from an audi tt is that correct?
    if so what year do i need parts from?
    #6
  7. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,978
    Likes Received:
    34
    [Apr 19, 2010]
    yup TT set up is same as S3
    #7

Share This Page