1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

2013 A7 - Retrofit of OEM reversing camera?

Discussion in 'A7/S7/RS7 forum' started by NewburyA7Q, Jul 20, 2014.

  1. NewburyA7Q

    NewburyA7Q Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hi Guys,

    I'm getting an ex-demo 2013 A7 TFSI at the end of the month. It has most of the goodies with one exception. No reversing camera, although it does have the PDC sensors and MMI Graphic. Audi option codes list QK1 & 7X2 there is no rear camera fitted. So I'm assuming QX1 refers to the radar distance sensors for the adaptive cruise?

    My current C6 A6 has the reversing camera fitted, so I'm used to the convenience and added security of having it when reversing. With the more restricted view out the A7 Sportsback, I'd like to get a cam fitted to it.

    I've seen the Kufatec retrofit kits - using OEM parts by the looks of it. Just wondered if anyone has done this mod, specifically for the A7 and whether it was a relatively straight forward installation. I have VCDS so coding not too much of an issue, however will it need component protection unlocked by the dealer?

    if anyone has retrofitted the camera, can they share the parts list?

    I know Nigel is the Retro King, not sure he's tackled this one though...

    TIA,
    John.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. B5NUT

    B5NUT Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,683
    Likes Received:
    353
    I've fitted one to an A6 and A8, but the A8 did require a boot trim which had to be painted. If you have access to etka and elsawin then you could buy the individual parts, and you then could buy just the harness from kufatec. If you just want a east life then just buy the full kit from kufatec they usually come with good instructions.
     
    NewburyA7Q likes this.
  4. Cruiser89

    Cruiser89 Advanced In Car Tech
    Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,495
    Likes Received:
    216
    NewburyA7Q likes this.
  5. DarkyUK

    DarkyUK New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've added one to my A7, not finished the wiring yet, got the cam and controller off of ebay and the loom from KUFATEC, it's fun fitting the camera, small spaces to loose nuts in but not too bad, instructions from KUFATEC good but not totally up to date.

    Will let you know if it works well when I finish it ;)

    Andy
     
  6. biffyg

    biffyg New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did u ever get this working? Just wondering if it needs a dealer visit for some unlocking or can it simply be activated in vcds? Not exactly on friend terms with my local dealer.
     
  7. DarkyUK

    DarkyUK New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Biffyg,

    Mine works well and no dealer visit needed, not done calibration yes though.

    Cheers Andy
     
  8. biffyg

    biffyg New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers Andy,

    Now I just need to work out if this will work on my 2011 I'm not entirely sure which mmi I have, I don't have the touch pad or the online services such as Google maps. I might just drop the company that sells them an email, I'm sure they'll have an idea
     
  9. DarkyUK

    DarkyUK New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Kufatec can tell you, will take them a day or two to respond, then either find the parts yourself (ebay.de) and get the loom from them or get a kit.

    Camera controller is not subject to content protection so vcds is all thats needed to code it.

    Cheers Andy
     

Share This Page