1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

2013 A3 1.8 TFSI remap ?

Discussion in 'New A3/S3 (8V Chassis)' started by Casey87, Sep 30, 2013.

  1. Casey87
    Offline

    Casey87 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Sep 30, 2013]
    Hi guys,

    I've just bought a new A3 1.8 TFSI and was wondering if there was a remap available for this new engine style yet ?

    I've had a look on the revo website and googled it but couldn't find anything suitable for the new engine.

    As standard they run 180bhp so I'm hoping with a remap it would be pushing 220bhp with a decent setup ?

    If anyone has any info that would be great :)

    Casey
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 28, 2014]

  3. cuke2u
    Offline

    cuke2u Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    2,116
    Likes Received:
    428
    [Sep 30, 2013]
    Hi, I think the engine and car is a little new for a remap yet, have you tried e-mailing Superchips who have a good reputation? I would also let your car get a few more miles under its belt before you remap it anyway...
    #2
  4. Casey87
    Offline

    Casey87 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Sep 30, 2013]
    I will get a few more miles on before remap as it only has 140 miles on the clock, but was looking for any info for the near future.
    I know that super chips will develop it for free if you can supply the car as a donor but I don't fancy being the Guinea pig and would rather use Revo if possible. It is very smooth and quick as standard but I can't help think how quick it would be with a remap.
    #3
    Revo Steve-W likes this.
  5. cuke2u
    Offline

    cuke2u Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    2,116
    Likes Received:
    428
    [Sep 30, 2013]
    Hi, where you go is totally up to you, and I wasn't suggesting anyone else. However it doesn't hurt to look around before you commit.
    #4
  6. 97catalunya
    Offline

    97catalunya Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    161
    [Sep 30, 2013]
    Wherever you go I will be interested to know what kind of figures they come up with, The 1.8 is plenty fast enough but I'm sure it still has more to give ;)
    #5
  7. Casey87
    Offline

    Casey87 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Oct 1, 2013]
    I was suprised how quick it actually is as standard. Coming from a Focus RS MK1 running 360bhp/360lbft i want to keep this car as refined as possible as its the daily drive for the wife and she has already said i cant mod it :-(
    I just know it has so much more to give and a remap would release all that potential.

    As its still being run it i wouldnt be doing anything until 1500 miles + but i would like to see what figures could be achieved. Im not far from Awesome GTI so may be worth popping down in a couple of months.
    #6
  8. Jonnyg4949
    Offline

    Jonnyg4949 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Oct 1, 2013]
    Don't forget with a re-map you void your warranty. And if you wanted to trade it in to an Audi dealer down the line seriously effect the value as they can't resell them.
    #7
  9. Casey87
    Offline

    Casey87 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Oct 2, 2013]
    ^ I would purchase either Bluefin or another handheld option that can remove/re-install as required.
    Ive never had a problem in the past with a remap on a car, i just unistalled and took it to the dealer then when it was back home put the remap on.
    #8
  10. cuke2u
    Offline

    cuke2u Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    2,116
    Likes Received:
    428
    [Oct 2, 2013]
    +1 as my present car has a bluefin remap, plus superchips give a one year mechanical breakdown insurance as well...
    #9
  11. STERLING VOID
    Offline

    STERLING VOID Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    21
    [Oct 15, 2013]
    Does mapping with the bluefin leave a trace in the logs of the cars' computer box? so even if you revert to original mapping, would the dealer pick up on the diagnostic systems' history that it has been mapped?
    #10
  12. cuke2u
    Offline

    cuke2u Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    2,116
    Likes Received:
    428
    [Oct 15, 2013]
    Hi, probably all remaps will however the dealership wouldn't necessarily be looking unless they suspect something...
    #11
  13. Casey87
    Offline

    Casey87 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Oct 15, 2013]
    It would show up somewhere on the data logs but they would have to prove that the remap had caused the issue you were trying to claim against. If you go with someone bug like Revo or Bluefin you would just give them a call to sort any issues caused directly because of the remap, for anything else just take it bacK to Audi.
    #12
    STERLING VOID likes this.
  14. STERLING VOID
    Offline

    STERLING VOID Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    21
    [Oct 17, 2013]
    Please let me know what your gains are when you do the remap.
    #13
  15. synthdood
    Offline

    synthdood Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Oct 17, 2013]
    Do you have a manual or s-tronic gearbox? Although the bog standard 1.8TFSI can produce something like 320NM, when the car has the s-tronic box the engine is limited to 250NM because the 7-speed version can't handle more than that. Apart from the extra bhp it probably wouldn't feel any faster after remapping as the torque will still be limited to 250NM..
    #14
  16. STERLING VOID
    Offline

    STERLING VOID Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    21
    [Oct 17, 2013]
    That is plain sad! :(. I am running the 7 speed dsg. In other words you are saying that if I do map it I would bear the risk of damaging the gearbox?
    #15
  17. STERLING VOID
    Offline

    STERLING VOID Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    21
    [Oct 17, 2013]
    According to ABT-sportsline their upgrade which is quite pricey produces these changes DataSheet
    #16
  18. M_D_O_London
    Offline

    M_D_O_London Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    34
    [Oct 17, 2013]
    Having now taken delivery of my 8V SB 1.8 TFSI S-Tronic, I'd honestly say I don't think it needs a re-map. The power delivery is smooth and linear and, apart from changing up to 2nd gear a bit too quickly off the mark, it's quick enough - especially when you climb the revs. I'd save voiding the warranty and just enjoy what Audi created!
    #17
  19. Schizophonic
    Online

    Schizophonic Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    54
    [Oct 17, 2013]
    You'll get bored of it within 6 months and want more gains. It's just not only performance but mpg can improve!
    #18
    Richyboyp and STERLING VOID like this.
  20. cuke2u
    Offline

    cuke2u Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    2,116
    Likes Received:
    428
    [Oct 17, 2013]
    Hi, one thing for sure is that I have never been bored with my remaps. Yes most dsg boxes are torque limited. But then many diesel cars have torque limitation in the 1st and 2nd gears even with a manual box...
    #19
  21. Casey87
    Offline

    Casey87 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Oct 18, 2013]
    Mine is a manual so it wont be an issue with the gearbox and as Cuke2u has said if youve ever had a remap on a car it totaly transforms it. huge gains can be had and you very rarely loose any MPG, if anything youll slightly gain a better MPG.

    I would expect to see 220bhp & 230lb/ft from someone like Revo, probably the company i'll go with or Bluefin with a handset would be interesting .

    I am happy with the current power delivery but think it needs a bit more pull in the gears as 180lb/ft isnt much theese days.
    Its also one of the reasons i went for the manual as i had heard that the gearbox in the S-tronic was torque limited, im sure there will be an upgrade for this though for our S-tronic users out there.
    #20
    STERLING VOID likes this.
  22. 97catalunya
    Offline

    97catalunya Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    161
    [Oct 18, 2013]
    Why do you think they fitted the 7 speed S-Tronic to the 2WD and 6 speed on the Quattro?
    #21
  23. cuke2u
    Offline

    cuke2u Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    2,116
    Likes Received:
    428
    [Oct 18, 2013]
    Hi, I've always got better mpg with a remap because the increase in torque means you can also drive the car more 'lazily' with a manual box. it might not be the same with the dsg as it is less 'intuitive' than a driver can be with a manual.
    #22
  24. JohnnyM100
    Offline

    JohnnyM100 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    200
    [Oct 18, 2013]
    There a 3 main types of s-tronic box.

    1 for longitudinal mounted engines and RWD
    2 for transverse mounted engines ( 6 speed & 7speed)


    The 6-speed S-tronic (for transverse mounted engine) has a higher torque rating but that's not the reason for the 1.8T Quattro. it also has an additional driveshaft coupling on the side to allow for the driveshaft to the rear wheels. The 7 speed only has those for FWD.

    John.
    #23
    snowfree52 likes this.
  25. 97catalunya
    Offline

    97catalunya Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    161
    [Oct 18, 2013]
    Ah that makes perfect sense thanks John :)
    #24
  26. STERLING VOID
    Offline

    STERLING VOID Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    21
    [Oct 30, 2013]
    So i was doing some reading and apparently the 7 speed dsg gearbox has a torque limit of 600Nm ?

    Source
    #25
  27. JohnnyM100
    Offline

    JohnnyM100 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    200
    [Oct 30, 2013]
    That S-tronic box is for longitudinally mounted engines with rear wheel drive.

    I read somewhere that the transverse 7 speed S-tronic box was re-rated at 280Nm but that's still not enough compared to the remap.

    John.
    #26
  28. STERLING VOID
    Offline

    STERLING VOID Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    21
    [Oct 30, 2013]
    ohhh thanks for clarifying that for me Johnny, according to the same page on the transverse gearboxes, it says
    could that not have been the one in the A3 as well? (high hopes:wub:)
    #27
  29. arad85
    Offline

    arad85 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    111
    [Oct 30, 2013]
    Just a FYI: the quattro version uses a 6 speed s-tronic, the manual a 7 speed....
    #28
  30. STERLING VOID
    Offline

    STERLING VOID Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    21
    [Nov 6, 2013]
    So if the polo gti 6r is so successful with being remapped and thrown over its torque limit I don't see why the a3 1.8tfsi dsg should be restricted.
    #29
  31. Kingfisher
    Offline

    Kingfisher Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 6, 2013]
    I understand that VW are having some challenges with the 7 speed box. It appears not to like too much torque - and this is from standard cars.
    Allegedly a significant number have been replaced under warranty and at least one taxi company ( in Scotland? ) have refused to run Passats with 7 speed S tronic boxes following a series of breakdowns. (??)


    Apparenty for transverse engines:
    6 speed are 'wet' ie with oil in them ( you can change the oil regularly if you wish to be careful !!)
    7 speed are 'dry' i.e. do not contain oil, (sealed for life - life may not be what consumers expect !! )

    Anybody have information about this ?
    #30
  32. cemerson
    Offline

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,756
    Likes Received:
    777
    [Nov 6, 2013]
    How the hell does a manual 7 speed work?!
    #31
  33. cuke2u
    Offline

    cuke2u Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    2,116
    Likes Received:
    428
    [Nov 6, 2013]
    Are you sure it doesn't mean wet and dry clutches, not the boxes themselves...
    #32
  34. Kingfisher
    Offline

    Kingfisher Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 6, 2013]
    don't know !
    It seems that any problem may be related to the clutches rather than the actual gear train itself.
    #33
  35. JohnnyM100
    Offline

    JohnnyM100 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    200
    [Nov 7, 2013]
    To clear up a few points here:

    1.8T Quattro petrol or 2.0 Diesel S-Tronic is 6 speed wet clutch
    FWD petrol or 1.6 diesel S-Tronic is 7 speed dry clutch
    Both have oil in the gears. The wet/dry refers to the clutch.

    The rumours of a taxi company having issues with the S-Tronic and VW allegedly not covering under warranty came from one of Netherlands/Sweden/Denmark I think and with cars over 150k miles. Not sure how true it is.
    Taxis tend to be diesels so the story doesn't quite sit that it's the 7-speed S-Tronic as 2.0 diesels use the 6 speed S-Tronic. Only 1.6 diesels use the 7-speed S-Tronic

    You can google pretty much anything and add the word "problem" or "fault" after it and get results. Nevertheless the reports do seem a bit higher than just background noise. They also tend to be on older design boxes. Are the issues real? Who knows.

    John.
    #34
  36. arad85
    Offline

    arad85 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    111
    [Nov 7, 2013]
    Taxi companies tend to take the most fuel efficient model, not the most powerful.
    #35
  37. RobH_S3
    Offline

    RobH_S3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    179
    [Nov 7, 2013]
    On the subject of gearboxes, what's the torque limit on the s-tronic fitted to the new S3?
    #36
  38. Fanoe
    Offline

    Fanoe New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Nov 9, 2013]
    Regarding the 7 speed S-tronic used on the 1,8 TFSi, then I believe it is the same as the VW DQ200 DSG7. Audis designation for the S-tronic is PNC which should be the same as VW's 0CW (it used to be designated 0AM before it was updated).

    So if my Googling is correct, then I believe the 7 speed S-tronic is limited to 250 nm, same as the DSG7 DQ200. So unfortunately it makes the remapping a bit risky, yet still desirable :yum:
    #37
    STERLING VOID likes this.
  39. STERLING VOID
    Offline

    STERLING VOID Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    21
    [Oct 2, 2014]
    Looks like APR has finally released their solution for the 1.8tfsi motor.

    Gains look impressive from 132kw to 184kw!

    Upgrade is suitable for manual, 6spd DSG and 7spd DSG :jump:

    More info here
    #38
  40. Nawaid
    Online

    Nawaid Just orderded Audi S3 Saloon S-Tronic

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2014
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    53
    [Oct 2, 2014]
    Should have bought an S3 :)
    #39
  41. Paul @ Unit 9 Remaps
    Offline

    Paul @ Unit 9 Remaps Site Sponsor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,443
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Oct 3, 2014]
    hi' where are you based. we are located in the north east and can offer Remaps on these engines
    #40

Share This Page