1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

2010/2011 LED Rear lamp for Sportback coding using Kufatec device.

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by hambo0, Nov 27, 2012.

  1. hambo0

    hambo0 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. ryanstewart9

    ryanstewart9 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    9
    If I were you I'd save my money and look at the map in the VCDS section for someone near you that already has the software.

    Most people do it for Beer Tokens :)

    Where about's are you?
     
  4. hambo0

    hambo0 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Coventry

    :)
     
  5. mike foster

    mike foster Fossie
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    80
    Click on, and enlarge the map, pick a flag close to you and PM the lucky winner !!!

    VCDS (formerly VAG-COM) forum
     
  6. hambo0

    hambo0 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Finally managed to borrow a VAG-COM cable and I am all set to do the install next weekend of my 2011 Sportback rear LED lights.

    I have searched the forum and want to just double check the coding I need to do.

    This is what I am going to code my car to :

    Go to Central Electornics on VAG COM and go to coding -> help with long coding

    Btye 9 to Dec = 0
    Byte 10 to Dec = 0
    Byte 12 to Dec = 36 or 48 if you want them to be brighter
    Byte 19 Bit 2 Cold Diagnosis rear active

    The only question I have as a total novice to VAG-COM is I have checked quickly me current settings as below

    Btye 9 DEC1: 22 X 1 = 22

    Btye 10 DEC1: 0 X 1 = 0

    Btye 12 DEC: 22 X 1 = 22

    Btye 19 Bit 2 is already ticked.

    If i`m correct its the values on the right that I change as above, but which value is it, the first ot second digit. (ie the 22 OR 1 on Btye 9)

    I would appreciate any assistance :)
     
  7. Dannykn9

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride"
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,122
    Likes Received:
    54
    The first digit mate. Basically for example, when you select Byte 9, you should then be able to highlight the box and change the end figure.
    It will make sense when you put it in practice mate.
     
  8. hambo0

    hambo0 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the assistance will give it a go at the weekend
     
  9. hambo0

    hambo0 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi have spent the afternoon fitting my 2011 LED Rearlights.

    I have come to the coding part and hit abit of a problem,

    i have gone into the Central Elecs, then Coding, then long coding helper and changed the Byte 9, 10, 12 and 19 etc as instructed by changing the first value on the right of the screen ie 22X1=22 I changed the 22 to 0 in my case.

    The problem when I click exit I get a window appear which states;

    This appears to be an uninitialised control module, valid WSC/importer/equipment data may be required.

    Click (Yes) for VCDS to use default values 12345/123/12345
    Click (No) for VCDS to try the values currently in the module
    Click (Cancel) to go back and manually edit the values

    Any ideas what I have done wrong?
     
  10. Dannykn9

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride"
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,122
    Likes Received:
    54
    Click "YES"
     
  11. hambo0

    hambo0 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    You a star. Works perfectly. Cheers :)
     
  12. Dannykn9

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride"
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,122
    Likes Received:
    54
    No worries, anytime :)
     
  13. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,051
    Likes Received:
    1,396
    Just purely means the module hasnt been given the workshop/importer/installer codes as it has been the same since factory installed, so shows only zero's.

    You can go into vcds options window, then user interface tab & within this section setup the default codes to use when such situations arise.
     
  14. hambo0

    hambo0 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the response I will try and take a look at the codes today, tomorrow when I get chance.

    Question would you recommend the setting of 36 or 48 on Byte 12 for the brightness?
     
  15. Dannykn9

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride"
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,122
    Likes Received:
    54
    All installs I do, I set it at 48. TBH, there is minimal difference I found.
     
  16. Piggi89

    Piggi89 New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello I am looking to do this led upgrade also, looks so much better. I know i will need to get someone to do the coding after install but can the vag com also turn off the bulb out computer so I can have led drl bulbs without bulb errors coming up. I have in at moment with resistors and no bulb errors during day but when I start car and headlights come on straight away (night) the fault comes on as the drl are not being used so I have to turn off headlights so it turns on bulbs, wait for computer to do check and see bulb is working and then turn back on headlights. Does not do it all the time but it is annoying. It is an a3 sport back 2006. Thanks for any reply.
     
  17. Mindak

    Mindak Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    75
    Were you successful with this? Lol
     
  18. Mindak

    Mindak Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    75
    Bump...
     
  19. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,051
    Likes Received:
    1,396
    What are you trying to establish with the bump, as you can simply try the codes advised & see what you get.
     
  20. Mindak

    Mindak Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    75
    I bumped it so somebody could find this thread!
     
  21. affy

    affy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone around bradford or leeds that's got vcds to reprogram my rear aftermarket led facelift lights on a prefacelift a3 thanks
     

Share This Page