1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

2009 A3 - Concert 3 head unit?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by evapor8, Mar 16, 2009.

  1. evapor8
    Offline

    evapor8 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 16, 2009]
    Guys,

    Can anyone confirm that the 2009 A3's, that haven't upgraded to either the RNS-E or the Symphony head unit, get the Concert 3 that looks like this:

    [​IMG]

    Cheers,

    Chris
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 17, 2014]

  3. frenchy2475
    Offline

    frenchy2475 Tetbury Audi Parts Man

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 16, 2009]
    Yes I can confirm that it is the same:)
    #2
  4. evapor8
    Offline

    evapor8 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 16, 2009]
    Cheers Frenchy. A definite bonus that it's the double-din fascia.

    Chris
    #3
  5. h5djr
    Offline

    h5djr Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,515
    Likes Received:
    569
    [Mar 16, 2009]
    It does actually depend on the model. The Standard and SE get the Chorus radio/single CD player with front speakers as standard. The Sport, S-Line, Black Edition and S3 get the Concert single front loading CD player with MP3 file compatibility with active front and rear speakers as standard.

    The upgrade for the Standard and SE from Chorus to Concert is £215 and from the Chorus to the Symphony £475. To upgrade from the Concert to the Symphony on the models costs £260.

    In both cases you can also specify an glovebox mounted iPod connection for £145.
    #4
  6. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Mar 16, 2009]
    #5
  7. evapor8
    Offline

    evapor8 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 16, 2009]
    Thanks guys.

    My car's a Black Edition, so am expecting the new double-din Concert 3 (and as such, an easier upgrade to the RNS-E hopefully!)

    Does the fact I have the Bose speakers and the glovebox ipod connection make a difference to the wiring loom I'll need?

    Chris
    #6
  8. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 17, 2009]
    None at all as you don't need an adapter. Both the RNSe and latest double DIN units all use the quadlock connector. You'll just need to move your BOSE wire and look at the antenna system if your reception is poor with the RNSe fitted.
    #7
  9. evapor8
    Offline

    evapor8 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 17, 2009]
    That's a bit of a bonus! Thanks for that John.

    Chris
    #8
  10. tomshorter1
    Offline

    tomshorter1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 19, 2009]
    Hey sorry to interupt but i have a problem which audi are quoting me £1000 to fix and i just paid them £2500 for a service plus £500 for more rubbish! anyway ill stop ranting but i have a possibly older concert system with the bose speakers ect, now my issue is that my amp has been leaked on by my rear wiper piping, can someone tell me where the amp actually is so i can pull it out and try fix? please!!!!
    #9
  11. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 19, 2009]
    Your BOSE amp is behind the trim on the right hand rear wheel arch.
    #10
  12. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Mar 19, 2009]
    Welcome to AS, but you sure your sums are correct £3k for service & rubbish, what exactly did they do to the car for 3k, new engine by any chance, I mean WTF, lol

    Well if its the amp then fix the wiper leak & replace it from ebay, there are always Bose amps on there for very small cost, make sure you buy the correct one though.

    I still cant believe 3k for service etc, must ahve been serious things gone wrong.
    #11
  13. Lee_R
    Offline

    Lee_R Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Mar 19, 2009]
    If they told me 3k to service I would have said no ta, stuck it on ebay and bough another one! :sign_omg:
    #12
  14. tomshorter1
    Offline

    tomshorter1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 20, 2009]
    im sorry i shoulda been more clear, i had to have a new cam belt plus plates discs new key bla bla bla but still!!!

    anyway so let me make sure i know this, i go into the boot and its on the right hand rear wheel arch?
    #13
  15. tomshorter1
    Offline

    tomshorter1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 20, 2009]
    why didnt i think of ebay!!! i used to live on the site!! ive found one that may work on the uk ebay, or there is a full system which currently has 26 bids moving it to over £100, would it be worth getting invovlved with that and bidding? or theres this one...

    Audi Bose Amp,
    removed from Audi A8 2005 and is in fully working order. This is 32 pin connector amp.
    4E0 035 223A,
    any questions, please ask. Please check if it compatible to your vehicle before biding as non refund will be given. Non UK biders please email me first to consider shiping price. Thanks for looking.
    Happy biding!


    will this work?
    #14
  16. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Mar 20, 2009]
    You have to pull the trim of as its held on by spring clips as not removeable sides like the old 8L was, interms of ebay, you need to swap like for like, get the part number of yours & find one the same or superseded version, it will be alot cheaper than audi for sure.

    Damn for 3k I would have bought another car, lol
    #15
  17. tomshorter1
    Offline

    tomshorter1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 20, 2009]
    Awesome I've found it thanks, the long rectangle conector I've managed to disconect it easy but it's all rusted up.... I'm gona have to sit and wait till one come on eBay, and I spose I best pray that the lead coming from all the speakers isn't rusted and useless!!
    #16
  18. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Mar 20, 2009]
    How bad is the rust, cause I would attempt a clean up of the connectors & check amp for any internal damage then see if works ok
    #17
  19. tomshorter1
    Offline

    tomshorter1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 22, 2009]
    mmmmh its pretty bad, what can i do with regards to getting another cheaper non bose amp?
    #18

Share This Page