1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

2004 8p headlight adjuster toggle does nothing??

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by S3 MRU, Jan 21, 2011.

  1. S3 MRU
    Offline

    S3 MRU Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Jan 21, 2011]
    Are they controlled by fuses? I cannot adjust the headlight levels moving the spin toggle does nothing . Note my car isn't auto levelling model or anything just standard sport
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 20, 2014]

  3. S3 MRU
    Offline

    S3 MRU Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Jan 21, 2011]
    Anyone know the relative fuse numbers? Not listed on the plastic flap on my car so I'm a bit lost
    #2
  4. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,969
    Likes Received:
    79
    [Jan 21, 2011]
    Fuses are listed in the user manual.
    #3
  5. Geraldy212
    Offline

    Geraldy212 Sportback owner

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    35
    [Jan 21, 2011]
    Russo, according to my Haynes manual, it is fuse 'FC5' which controls the headlight leveling. This fuse is located in the internal (passenger-side) fuse-box, and is 5 amps capacity. Hope this helps. Cheers, Geraldy212
    #4
  6. S3 MRU
    Offline

    S3 MRU Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Jan 21, 2011]
    Thanks mate I take it the internal one is under the bonnet? Will check now
    #5
  7. S3 MRU
    Offline

    S3 MRU Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Jan 21, 2011]
    Ok had a look there was no fc5 f5 was closest but was 30amp fuse in there checked all other 5s present and was intact. Bit confused now but will have a peek in my manual
    #6
  8. S3 MRU
    Offline

    S3 MRU Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Jan 21, 2011]
    Checked my manual and headlight range level is f38 10 amp red fuse. Checked it and it was fine. What else could be a problem?
    #7
  9. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,969
    Likes Received:
    79
    [Jan 21, 2011]
    Must be different between 2004 and 2006

    My headlight range control fuse is number 5 in the fusebox to the right of the steering wheel RHD model (in the box behind the end dash panel) and is 10 amp
    #8
  10. S3 MRU
    Offline

    S3 MRU Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Jan 21, 2011]
    Mike is this for manual adjustment? Not auto levelling model? For toggle switch next to dash illumination adjuster?
    #9
  11. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,969
    Likes Received:
    79
    [Jan 21, 2011]
    Yes - description in the book says - Fuse 5-Automatic headlight range control, AFS control unit (advanced front lighting system)/manual headlight range control 5/10 amps.

    Therefore I can assume that the manual adjustment is 10 amps.
    #10
  12. S3 MRU
    Offline

    S3 MRU Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Jan 21, 2011]
    Just checked the driver side fuse box and number 5 was empty although behind the cover it says brake clutch switch. So I take it that it has changed. Mines a 53 plate
    #11
  13. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,969
    Likes Received:
    79
    [Jan 21, 2011]
    Ok - so if your fuse is ok then you need to get a diagnostic scan to find the problem.

    There will be an error message that will point towards the problem. If you clear the error message and try the range control again if it doesn't work then another error message will appear.

    Then we go from there.
    #12
  14. S3 MRU
    Offline

    S3 MRU Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Jan 21, 2011]
    [​IMG]

    F38 looks most likely but seems fine
    #13
  15. S3 MRU
    Offline

    S3 MRU Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Jan 21, 2011]
    How much and where is the best place to get vcds?
    #14
  16. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,969
    Likes Received:
    79
    [Jan 21, 2011]
    Agreed - F38 is the fuse. Totally different from my set up.

    So you need a scan.
    #15
  17. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,969
    Likes Received:
    79
    [Jan 21, 2011]
    #16
  18. Lewis583
    Offline

    Lewis583 Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    70
    [Jan 21, 2011]
    Well i was in the process of buying a lead off NHN and was quoted £249, would be better to pm him though
    #17
  19. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,969
    Likes Received:
    79
    [Jan 21, 2011]
    It was only a guess but not far out eh ?
    #18
  20. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jan 26, 2011]
    Could even be the switch itself, ideally you need vcds to see if it has a measuring block to ascertain if its seeing the switch adjustments being made, this is one option.
    #19
  21. S3 MRU
    Offline

    S3 MRU Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Jan 27, 2011]
    thats what i was thinking mate. Unfortunately i dont have the funds to get vcds atm. and the one person near me on the list that does never replied
    #20
  22. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jan 27, 2011]
    Strange as you have money to buy whats in your sig :p
    #21
  23. FranA3
    Offline

    FranA3 events moderator Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    7,145
    Likes Received:
    246
    [Jan 27, 2011]
    hi soz for the thread hi-jack but on mine above the toggle switch the thing that usually lights up (headlight symbol) has stopped working it was flickering on and off for a while now its stopped working all together is it time for a new switch anybody got any ideas soz again russo2k5
    #22
  24. S3 MRU
    Offline

    S3 MRU Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Jan 27, 2011]
    no problem mate. thats fine. and LOL yeah NHN its more of a wish list ;) its because im saving for a holiday with the GF shes the boss. :(
    #23
  25. FranA3
    Offline

    FranA3 events moderator Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    7,145
    Likes Received:
    246
    [Jan 27, 2011]
    my wish list is alot bigger than that haha there are many many things on mine most of which i cant afford yet lol
    #24
  26. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jan 27, 2011]
    I would pull the switch out & check for any loose wires 1st.
    #25
  27. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Jan 27, 2011]
    the reostats sometimes go. I will have a spare headlight switch after i've fitted my xenons. Its basic one with headlight adjuster, side/dipped, front & back fogs.

    New one hasn't got aim adjuster as its for xenons.
    #26
  28. FranA3
    Offline

    FranA3 events moderator Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    7,145
    Likes Received:
    246
    [Jan 27, 2011]
    i had the pannel off while i was fitting my footwell lights but plugged the wire back in firmly i might take it back off 2morow and see if i can see if there is anything obvious
    #27
  29. lesteague
    Offline

    lesteague New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 9, 2014]
    I have the same problem on a 53 plate A3. Fuses are fine, light dimmer works but range control doesn't do anything, also don't appear to have any codes...
    #28
  30. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jul 11, 2014]
    Could be headlight motors.
    #29
  31. lesteague
    Offline

    lesteague New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 12, 2014]
    I hate to agree NHN but I think you may be right. Can the motors be stripped and potentially fixed or are they sealed units?
    #30

Share This Page