1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

2004 8p headlight adjuster toggle does nothing??

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by RU55SSO, Jan 21, 2011.

  1. RU55SSO

    RU55SSO Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    21
    Are they controlled by fuses? I cannot adjust the headlight levels moving the spin toggle does nothing . Note my car isn't auto levelling model or anything just standard sport
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. RU55SSO

    RU55SSO Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    21
    Anyone know the relative fuse numbers? Not listed on the plastic flap on my car so I'm a bit lost
     
  4. mike foster

    mike foster Fossie
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    81
    Fuses are listed in the user manual.
     
  5. Geraldy212

    Geraldy212 Sportback owner

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    41
    Russo, according to my Haynes manual, it is fuse 'FC5' which controls the headlight leveling. This fuse is located in the internal (passenger-side) fuse-box, and is 5 amps capacity. Hope this helps. Cheers, Geraldy212
     
  6. RU55SSO

    RU55SSO Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    21
    Thanks mate I take it the internal one is under the bonnet? Will check now
     
  7. RU55SSO

    RU55SSO Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    21
    Ok had a look there was no fc5 f5 was closest but was 30amp fuse in there checked all other 5s present and was intact. Bit confused now but will have a peek in my manual
     
  8. RU55SSO

    RU55SSO Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    21
    Checked my manual and headlight range level is f38 10 amp red fuse. Checked it and it was fine. What else could be a problem?
     
  9. mike foster

    mike foster Fossie
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    81
    Must be different between 2004 and 2006

    My headlight range control fuse is number 5 in the fusebox to the right of the steering wheel RHD model (in the box behind the end dash panel) and is 10 amp
     
  10. RU55SSO

    RU55SSO Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    21
    Mike is this for manual adjustment? Not auto levelling model? For toggle switch next to dash illumination adjuster?
     
  11. mike foster

    mike foster Fossie
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    81
    Yes - description in the book says - Fuse 5-Automatic headlight range control, AFS control unit (advanced front lighting system)/manual headlight range control 5/10 amps.

    Therefore I can assume that the manual adjustment is 10 amps.
     
  12. RU55SSO

    RU55SSO Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    21
    Just checked the driver side fuse box and number 5 was empty although behind the cover it says brake clutch switch. So I take it that it has changed. Mines a 53 plate
     
  13. mike foster

    mike foster Fossie
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    81
    Ok - so if your fuse is ok then you need to get a diagnostic scan to find the problem.

    There will be an error message that will point towards the problem. If you clear the error message and try the range control again if it doesn't work then another error message will appear.

    Then we go from there.
     
  14. RU55SSO

    RU55SSO Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    21
    [​IMG]

    F38 looks most likely but seems fine
     
  15. RU55SSO

    RU55SSO Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    21
    How much and where is the best place to get vcds?
     
  16. mike foster

    mike foster Fossie
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    81
    Agreed - F38 is the fuse. Totally different from my set up.

    So you need a scan.
     
  17. mike foster

    mike foster Fossie
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    81
  18. Lewis583

    Lewis583 Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    956
    Likes Received:
    91
    Well i was in the process of buying a lead off NHN and was quoted £249, would be better to pm him though
     
  19. mike foster

    mike foster Fossie
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    81
    It was only a guess but not far out eh ?
     
  20. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,718
    Likes Received:
    1,530
    Could even be the switch itself, ideally you need vcds to see if it has a measuring block to ascertain if its seeing the switch adjustments being made, this is one option.
     
  21. RU55SSO

    RU55SSO Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    21
    thats what i was thinking mate. Unfortunately i dont have the funds to get vcds atm. and the one person near me on the list that does never replied
     
  22. Advert Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,718
    Likes Received:
    1,530
    Strange as you have money to buy whats in your sig :p
     
  24. FranA3

    FranA3 events moderator
    Regional Rep Gold Supporter Team Brill Red Audi A3

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    7,203
    Likes Received:
    291
    hi soz for the thread hi-jack but on mine above the toggle switch the thing that usually lights up (headlight symbol) has stopped working it was flickering on and off for a while now its stopped working all together is it time for a new switch anybody got any ideas soz again russo2k5
     
  25. RU55SSO

    RU55SSO Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    21
    no problem mate. thats fine. and LOL yeah NHN its more of a wish list ;) its because im saving for a holiday with the GF shes the boss. :(
     
  26. FranA3

    FranA3 events moderator
    Regional Rep Gold Supporter Team Brill Red Audi A3

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    7,203
    Likes Received:
    291
    my wish list is alot bigger than that haha there are many many things on mine most of which i cant afford yet lol
     
  27. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,718
    Likes Received:
    1,530
    I would pull the switch out & check for any loose wires 1st.
     
  28. Khufu

    Khufu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,704
    Likes Received:
    30
    the reostats sometimes go. I will have a spare headlight switch after i've fitted my xenons. Its basic one with headlight adjuster, side/dipped, front & back fogs.

    New one hasn't got aim adjuster as its for xenons.
     
  29. FranA3

    FranA3 events moderator
    Regional Rep Gold Supporter Team Brill Red Audi A3

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    7,203
    Likes Received:
    291
    i had the pannel off while i was fitting my footwell lights but plugged the wire back in firmly i might take it back off 2morow and see if i can see if there is anything obvious
     
  30. lesteague

    lesteague New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have the same problem on a 53 plate A3. Fuses are fine, light dimmer works but range control doesn't do anything, also don't appear to have any codes...
     
  31. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,718
    Likes Received:
    1,530
    Could be headlight motors.
     
  32. lesteague

    lesteague New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    I hate to agree NHN but I think you may be right. Can the motors be stripped and potentially fixed or are they sealed units?
     

Share This Page