1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

2002 A6 Headunit Choice??????????

Discussion in 'A6/S6/Allroad forum (C5 Chassis)' started by Rizy102, Feb 11, 2008.

  1. Rizy102
    Offline

    Rizy102 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 11, 2008]
    hi,
    just bought an 02 plate a6, with chorus headunit. doesnt have cd changer, nor does it have the lead and bracket in the boot. thinking of getting cd changer, lead and bracket or just an aftermarket sony mp3 player.
    what would you recommend?
    also, would any cd changer fit, or would i have to get a chorus??? one?
    or could i get an oem audi cd player which goes in the front replacing my existing casette/radio chorus?
    thanks
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 27, 2014]

  3. karl7900
    Offline

    karl7900 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,392
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Feb 11, 2008]
    [​IMG]

    This is the Alpine IDA-X001 I have fitted in my motor. No CD player but full iPod control and radio.
    #2
  4. bigblokey0
    Offline

    bigblokey0 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Feb 12, 2008]
    ive got an alpine dvd/mp3 player in mine would deffo recomend alpine
    #3
  5. Rizy102
    Offline

    Rizy102 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 12, 2008]

    hi, what model alpine is it. got any pics???
    thanks
    #4
  6. bigdavie
    Offline

    bigdavie please speak slowly so i'll understand !

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 13, 2008]
    i currently have an alpine in mine too but i just want another concert without the volume problem to replace it !
    #5
  7. bigblokey0
    Offline

    bigblokey0 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Feb 13, 2008]

    its dva-9860r with a 7" screen wired upto it i aint got any pics sorry
    #6
  8. Rizy102
    Offline

    Rizy102 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 13, 2008]
    hi, thanks for the replies.
    might go for an alpine mp3 player but still not sure. will a concert 2 fit in? the one with cd player built in? i.e.:
    [​IMG]
    anyone have any idea???
    thanks
    #7
  9. bigdavie
    Offline

    bigdavie please speak slowly so i'll understand !

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 14, 2008]
    lol i had that very same thing fitted in my car today ! it works fine ! and plays the changer fine ! but the steering wheel buttons wont work and the dash clock doofer next to the spedo wont display track info etc !
    other than that its fine !
    #8
  10. mattfinn
    Offline

    mattfinn Smoking is good for you

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    825
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Feb 14, 2008]
    Gotta say I just love the word 'doofer' and rarely hear it! Respect!
    I like the look of that fancy Alpine HU, very nice!
    #9
  11. Rizy102
    Offline

    Rizy102 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 17, 2008]
    hi again,
    still not too sure what to get. i dont really like the idea of the concert 2 unless i get a cd changer with it. does anyone know which model cd changer will go with my chorus unit??? someone said something about grundig????
    thanks
    #10
  12. bigdavie
    Offline

    bigdavie please speak slowly so i'll understand !

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 18, 2008]
    well i have a blaupunkt h/u so i presume its a blaupunkt changer i have too and the chorus plugged in and worked fine and that was a bose .
    #11
  13. maxlbrown
    Offline

    maxlbrown Deep Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 18, 2008]
    any cd changer will work but you may need a interface box between the harness and the cd changer.

    I have this as i have a alpine cd changer with a vag interface box and that works fine. i have the standard head unit in mine and i ma happy with it so refuse to change it.

    M
    #12
  14. Rizy102
    Offline

    Rizy102 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 12, 2008]
    hi again,
    decided to get the cd changer. it came with a bracket all ready so not too bad. however, i now have another problem. ive checked at the back of the headunit and it does have connections (20 pin connecter, however doesnt fully have 20 wires coming from it) for the cd changer, but cant find anything in the boot. ive taken back seats off aswell but still no joy.
    anyone have any ideas?
    thanks
    #13

Share This Page