1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

2001 Audi A3 - Concert CD Player not turning on after replaced

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by mattyv33, Jan 21, 2011.

  1. mattyv33
    Offline

    mattyv33 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 21, 2011]
    Hi All,

    I’m currently in the process of selling my 2001 A3 1.9TDI – I installed a kenwood cd player a few months ago with an Autoleads lead which I took out yesterday.

    I conencted the leads into the back of the OEM concert CD player and for some reason nothing happens when I turn it on?

    It worked fine before I took it out so not sure why its not turning on now.

    Can anyone help please, its really annoying !

    Thanks,

    Matt
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 21, 2014]

  3. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Jan 21, 2011]
    Can you post a pic of the wiring?
    You would have used an adapter when you installed the Kenwood, this now needs to be removed.
    #2
  4. mattyv33
    Offline

    mattyv33 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 21, 2011]
    I've taken the adapter out and am just connecting the 3 blocks from the car to the concert, there's a yellow wire into the back of the concert too.

    I'll take a pic at lunch - thanks for the quick reply!
    #3
  5. mattyv33
    Offline

    mattyv33 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 21, 2011]
    Here are the pics of the headunit and wiring

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    #4
  6. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Jan 21, 2011]
    Is the yellow wire connected to the permanent live?
    You would have needed to provide 2 x 12v feeds to the Kenwood, whereas the Concert only needs one as it uses the CANBUS to tell it when the ignition is on. You may have 12v connected to a pin on the concert that shouldn't have anything on it. Also I presume you have checked the fuse on the back of the HU and the fuse at the fusebox?
    #5
  7. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Jan 21, 2011]
    Maybe take a pic that actually shows the wiring and not the antenna connection?
    #6
  8. mattyv33
    Offline

    mattyv33 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 21, 2011]
    Have checked the fuses which are ok - will take a better pic, 1 second
    #7
  9. mattyv33
    Offline

    mattyv33 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Jan 21, 2011]
    That wiring is fine. Can you check that the perm live (red with white stripe) is getting 12v?
    If it is then the HU should turn on manually without the ignition on (it will then turn off after an hour)
    If it doesn't unplug everything and just plug the black power ISO in and see if it powers up.
    If there is no 12v then you need to recheck the fuse in the fusebox
    #9
  11. mattyv33
    Offline

    mattyv33 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 21, 2011]
    Thanks ill try that, haven't got a multi meter though unfortunately

    Strange though as the Kenwood turned on fine before I took it out so must be getting power?
    #10
  12. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Jan 21, 2011]
    Plugging the old Concert back in could have caused a fuse to blow, just buy a 12v testing screwdriver from Halfords, they are only £3
    #11

Share This Page