1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

2001 Allroad C5 2.5 tdi Auto Tip Gearbox Oil and Diff change?

Discussion in 'A6/S6/Allroad forum (C5 Chassis)' started by Rossy, Sep 10, 2011.

  1. Rossy
    Offline

    Rossy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 10, 2011]
    At 156k I think it’s time to do the Gearbox oil/Filter and Diff oils...

    Anyone offer and "easy" to follow guides/walkthroughs ideally with Pictures etc...

    That or recommend a reputable garage in the Bolton/Manchester region?

    It seems at times in MANUAL tiptronic mode more obvious, like riding the clutch if that makes sense?

    I.e. will go around a corner in 3rd engine will sound like its in 2nd then engine note will indicate its engaged 3rd..like its slipping?

    But once locked in a gear is fine and knowing how crucial the oil is to the opperation and its miles just hoping its that and all will be well?

    Hope that makes sense..

    Oh, also, I read that you should not use any "adatives" like the lucas stuff, is that true and why what effect can it have and why?

    Much appreciated...

    Rossy
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2011
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 26, 2014]

  3. adamss24
    Offline

    adamss24 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,531
    Likes Received:
    197
    [Sep 11, 2011]
    Only use the genuine oil and strainer and make sure the garage know how to fill properly the gearbox...the level is checked at the right temperature !
    #2
  4. Rossy
    Offline

    Rossy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 11, 2011]
    So are you saying its a garage only job and not a DIY?
    #3
  5. Mike B
    Offline

    Mike B Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    834
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Sep 12, 2011]
    I think its an Audi only job cos if theres any mistake the box is toast.My A4 is in there now cos someone took the wrong drain plug out!!
    #4
  6. Fraser
    Offline

    Fraser Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Sep 18, 2011]
    #5
  7. a6george
    Offline

    a6george Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 20, 2011]
    you have to have vagcom plugged in to monitor temp, has to be done at certain temp and drains and fill from same point, so you need pump.
    #6

Share This Page