2.8 quattro performance upgrade

Rum

Reaction score
Im pretty new to these cars and from what i can see at the moment there isn't a whole lot that you can do to the NA engine in the 2.8 but was wondering if there is any specific enhancement that is actually worth doing

Yes, look for a PES 2 supercharger kit, worth every penny ! Google is your friend...

awesome suggestion adam.
i wonder if theres one for the old 12v 2.8 in my 100??

now that looks real interesting costs more than the car did but may actually be worth doing nice idea adam

You used to be able to get these 2.8 engines chipped. Not the turbo type increases tho'!
I seem to remember at the time, 1996, that Audi restricted these engines to the 193 (??) bhp --- something to do with German insurance categories. I remember that Audi Driver ( probably VWAudi Car back in those days) tested one that somebody chipped and exhausted -- result was about 220 bhp iirc.

I'll be very surprised if they got more than 5-10 Bhp out of that engine without getting high lift cams, exhaust and chip does not give as much as a 30 Bhp increase ! Even the PES supercharger does not have that bold claims ! Been in a few passats with the PES supercharger and not massively impressed but worth the money. 2 converted passats sold on ebay in the last 6 months for under 2k, on one i have done a cambelt job. Was alright, albeit a little lumpy on tick over but far,far from the 285Bhp owner's estimate...