1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

2.5 tdi glow plugs?

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by markyzs180, Dec 18, 2009.

  1. quattrojames
    Offline

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,885
    Likes Received:
    475
    From looking I think it is no. 4 on this diagram:

    [​IMG]

    Or arrowed on this pic:

    [​IMG]

    If you do a search you will see that several 1.9 users have done this recently, I think you just pull the clip out and quickly swap the sensor trying not to lose too much coolant in the meantime!
    #81
  2. swarcup
    Offline

    swarcup Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,285
    Likes Received:
    37
    ive done this very recently and found it a lot easier if you unbolt the metal bracket with the hole in it shown just above the sensor whatever its for probably to lift the engine. make sure the engine is cold! and you wont lose any coolant on this engine because its at the top
    #82
  3. JimLoskot
    Offline

    JimLoskot Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks chaps!
    I had a quick look before and thought that might be it.
    Hopefully this should solve my starting and temp problems.
    Does it screw out? I suppose it'll be obvious when I see the new one.
    Cheers
    #83
  4. swarcup
    Offline

    swarcup Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,285
    Likes Received:
    37
    no it pulls out with a little wiggle. first slide out the horseshoe shaped retainer horizontaly then wiggle out the sensor making sure you get the old rubber 'o' ring out and replace with new 'o' ring which should come with the sensor and fit the new sensor. youl think its easy when done. all in all about 5mins work
    #84
  5. JimLoskot
    Offline

    JimLoskot Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    will I need to reset the ecu once I have done this?
    I've done a quick search and there seems to be a variety of answers on how to do this.
    What is the correct procedure?
    Thanks
    #85
  6. adamss24
    Offline

    adamss24 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,310
    Likes Received:
    171
    No mate, no need to recode anything...
    #86
  7. JimLoskot
    Offline

    JimLoskot Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Little update;
    replace the temp sensor this morning, was an absolute pig to get out as it had corroded a bit and was stuck fast.
    A bit of forcefull persuasion with some mole grips shifted it. new one in, top up the coolant and then disconected the battery for 20 mins to reset the ecu.
    Unfortunately still got the problem with the cold start, don't know if its fixed the temperature gauge problem yet, taking her out on a run soon.
    Also the esp light has come on (used to come on occasionally on long journeys anyway) so hopefully might be able to get to the bottom of that one.
    Due a cambelt in the next 15k miles so might get it done early and have the thermostat done if the temp guage still isn't right
    #87
  8. quattrojames
    Offline

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,885
    Likes Received:
    475
    Jim, In no expert but your problems seem very similar to mine, list what you've done so far and your key symptoms mate.
    #88
  9. JimLoskot
    Offline

    JimLoskot Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    another update;
    esp light went out after I had driven for a couple of minutes and hasn't been back on since (70 mile round trip today) :yes:
    also the temprature guage now sits nicely at 90 :yes: which means that I haven't wasted £30 on the new temp sensor.
    It didn't start well from cold after I replaced the temp sensor but I'm kinda hoping that the engine needed to recalibrate itself and maybe when I start it tomorrow it might be back to normal :unsure:
    thats the only thing I have really done so far apart from have a error check which showed up nothing
    #89
  10. swarcup
    Offline

    swarcup Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,285
    Likes Received:
    37
    gettin there, keep us posted:icon_thumright:
    #90
  11. JimLoskot
    Offline

    JimLoskot Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    unfortunately this has not solved my cold starting issues :crying:
    #91
  12. quattrojames
    Offline

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,885
    Likes Received:
    475
    Jim have you had the fuel pump timing checked? And the inlet manifold flap? Mine was a fuel pressure problem caused by a sluggish battery, have you thought about that?
    #92
  13. JimLoskot
    Offline

    JimLoskot Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    not had anything else checked out.
    did a new battery sort your cold starting problem out then?
    I'm kinda stuck for getting the fuel pump timing checked as I don't really know anywhere I trust with the right kit to get it done or that I could afford.
    Don't know anything about the inlet manifold flap or how to go about getting it checked?
    Really would like to get this problem sorted but don't have a great deal of time and certainly not money to throw at it.
    Not sure what to do next
    #93
  14. quattrojames
    Offline

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,885
    Likes Received:
    475
    Fuel pump timing can be checked by anyone with Vagcom, if you dont know anyone then you'll just have to pick a specialist. Where are you? Shouldn't be too expensive just for a scan?

    Touch wood, a battery has solved mine (although its not been supercold since) - but when I had my battery tested they told me it was fine.....

    Apparently the inlet manifold flap won't show up on Vagcom, but my sepcialist told me it usually does - try a google search and see what comes up.
    #94
  15. JimLoskot
    Offline

    JimLoskot Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    is there anyway of checking to see if I need a new battery without actually going and buying a brand new one?
    #95
  16. BahnStormer77
    Offline

    BahnStormer77 BahnStormer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,604
    Likes Received:
    14
    there is a test that you can simulate if you've got a multimeter... need some cofirmation though:

    put a multimeter on it, check voltage - think it should be 11V-13V... the important thing is recovery... so turn the headlight on for a minute then off... check voltage again, it'll probably be a little lower (10V) and then recover to around 12V again.... if it's something like 4V just after you switch the lights off, theyn you have a prob... if it takes 5mins to recover, then you have a prob....

    like I said - need to read up / get confirmation on this test - exact numbers, etc... but that is the general pronciple of the AA "battery test" that they do.
    #96
  17. markyzs180
    Offline

    markyzs180 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    1
    pop into halfords, they will do you a free check with their battery tester ;)
    #97
  18. JimLoskot
    Offline

    JimLoskot Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    The more I think about it the more I'm convinced that its the battery
    What battery do you lot recomend?
    I looked at eurocarparts and they range from £80-£190.
    Also where is the best place to get the batteries from?Thanks
    #98
  19. markyzs180
    Offline

    markyzs180 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    1
    mine packed up on holiday last year in the middle of nowhere!!! RAC supplied and fitted one for £99 with five year warranty :)
    #99
  20. adamss24
    Offline

    adamss24 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,310
    Likes Received:
    171
    Where abouts are you ? I can get you a battery for your audi for 1/2 that price from ECP...
  21. JimLoskot
    Offline

    JimLoskot Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Manchester
  22. JimLoskot
    Offline

    JimLoskot Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    anyone recomend what battery and where to get it from please?
  23. quattrojames
    Offline

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,885
    Likes Received:
    475
    I can't see the make of mine, but its:

    80 AH
    800 Amps (sae)

    Also for a 2.5 tdi
  24. vrbob
    Offline

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,364
    Likes Received:
    157
    My car has had some starting issues and has been putting out a nice cloud of white smoke when it starts but not all the time. i always wait for the glow plug light to go out on the dash before attempting to start the car no matter how warm the outside temp is or how warm the cars engine is.

    In the mornings it sometimes doesnt start very quickly 1-2 secs (especially if its very cold/frosty) but catches in the end and i get a little cloud of white smoke. My journey to work is about 20ish miles of a bit of both town and motorway driving and after the 8 hours sat at works car park when i go home the car is much more difficult to start sometimes taking 5-6 seconds before it will catch and then throws at a much bigger cloud of white smoke.

    The MPG of the car hasnt been great since i got it but without access to VAGcom (still waiting for my cable) i am getting about 340-370 miles out of a full tank when the light comes on. I think the car could do with a good service but i want to scan it with VAGcom beforehand.

    So after reading this thread i am gonna give the battery a good charge overnight to see if that improves anything but if it doesnt what else should i check??

    Cheers
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2010
  25. quattrojames
    Offline

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,885
    Likes Received:
    475
    That is 'exactly' the same symptoms mine has. A new battery has vastly improved it, but it's still far from perfect. If anything it starts better in the colder weather (with the glowplugs?) than the milder weather. Now it's starting to warm up a bit, the second start of the day is often the worst.

    I need to get the intake manifold physically checked as apparently because it's vacuum operated it wont show up with a scan. The other issue raised by my garage is fuel pressure - which might be as a result of a failing fuel pump.....
  26. vrbob
    Offline

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,364
    Likes Received:
    157
    Well at least its not a weird prob no-one has heard of then :)

    Will see if it improves after the battery charge. I also took the MAF off and gave it a bit of a clean with some electrical solvent to see if that helps at all.

    My car hasnt been scanned since i have owned it so not sure what might show up but will defo be interested to see if any of the other stuff mentioned makes any difference.

    I am thinking it must be temprature related as if my car cant work out if its hot or cold and therefore uses to much diesel to start which floods the engine and when it does catch chucks out extras diesel in smoke form. This could also be why it uses a bit more diesel than i think it should. Not sure which sensor it might be though as i have seen people mention an EGR valve aswell as engine temp sensor both of which im not 100% sure what they do or how they effect the cars running or for that matter where they are in the engine bay.
  27. vrbob
    Offline

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,364
    Likes Received:
    157
    Gave the battery a good charge over staurday night it did take some charge but not a great deal although so far it does seem to start a little better i think. First proper test will be when i leave work at 4pm as this has been the time it takes the longest to start and smokes the most. So will post up what happens later fingers crossed!
  28. vrbob
    Offline

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,364
    Likes Received:
    157
    Well still got the same issue as when i went to come home today at 4pm the car took a good 5 seconds to catch although there did seem to be less smoke which is better than the james bond esque smoke screen i have been leaving.

    So looks like i will have to wait for my VAGcom cable before i can go any furthur with the diagnosis
  29. quattrojames
    Offline

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,885
    Likes Received:
    475
    I'm watching this thread with interest!
  30. jimes
    Offline

    jimes Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    any luck guys as i have the same prob!
  31. swarcup
    Offline

    swarcup Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,285
    Likes Received:
    37
  32. vrbob
    Offline

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,364
    Likes Received:
    157
    Right got a few more symptoms in regards to my starting issue so :

    The car starts well 90% of the time it just seems to have issues when i go to start it after i finish work (so after it has been standing around for 8 hours after a 40 min journey in the morning). The thing i have noticed is that the starting problem seem to relate to the glowplug light on my dashboard. By this i mean if when i turn on the ignition the glowplug light comes on (to indicate it warming up the plugs), if the light stays on for more than 1 sec the car starts ok (it has done this a few times but not very often), if the glowplug light litrally flashes on then off it takes 2 attempts to get the car to start and i have to keep the starter motor going for a good 3-4 secs and it also kicks out a cloud of white smoke.

    After i have driven the car and its warmed up i can turn it off go away and come back say an hour later and it will start on the button even if the glowplug light just flashes on then off.

    So my question is why? any ideas will be greatly appreciated :)
  33. vrbob
    Offline

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,364
    Likes Received:
    157
    Just to clarify the car only really smokes when starting once its going it never seems to put any smoke out at all (a little bit if i boot it but thats all and that doesnt seem to be white smoke). So after reading that thread it seems my issue is different.

    oh and it doesnt really use any oil either
    Last edited: May 11, 2010
  34. vrbob
    Offline

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,364
    Likes Received:
    157
    ok thats a bit weird the car started fine again today after work thats 2 days in a row (a personal best)

    But on my way home on the motorway a symbol came on the dashboard (its the yellow one that comes on with the ignition and then goes off) so tried the usual and turned off and back on and the symbol came back. Got home checked the owners manual to see that symbol is the emissions control system and if its on there is a problem, so as i now can i got my VCDS cable out of the boot plugged in the laptop and scanned for faults. It came back with the coolent temp sensor being at fault so gave audi a buzz they had one in stock for £33 so have just popped up there and got one so waiting for the car to cool down a bit before i fit it.

    Not sure if this has been the prob all along as it would maybe indicate why it was starting poorly cos if that sensor wasnt doing its job the car wouldnt know if it was hot or cold and therefore how long it should put the glowplugs on for before starting the car. Fingers crossed so will see what happens with the new sensor in place and obviously i will report back any results i get.
  35. quattrojames
    Offline

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,885
    Likes Received:
    475
    Hmmm thats interesting as your symptoms are similar to mine. If it's cold mine starts ok, and if the air temp is warm (12C +) then it's ok. But if its neither cold or warm mine still winds over for a bit first.

    @ Swarcup, thanks for the suggestion, but the smoke I get (not as bad as a James Bond smoke screen!) is I think just the unburnt fuel injected into the cylinders before it combusts.

    I've had mine scanned twice and it's logged no fault codes, I hope the temp sensor sorts it. If it does I might be tempted to try one anyway.
  36. vrbob
    Offline

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,364
    Likes Received:
    157
    Yeah i will find out this afternoon if its starting better so will have to see.

    The light on the dashboard did not come on on the way to work today so thats a good sign. I will still scan it with the VCDS cable when i get home today to see if any faults are coming back or not too.
  37. vrbob
    Offline

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,364
    Likes Received:
    157
    Dammit not fixed the issue as still had the same poor start after work today.

    Looks like the coolent temp sensor was knackered though as the light on the dash has not come back plus just scanned with VCDS and the fault has not returned either.

    After the scan i did notice that it does have another error (might of missed this yesterday) which says needle lift sensor G80 signal intermittent, had a quick search for this and read what others have said and as far as i can tell the cars performance is still as i would expect. So i have found the wire running from the injector and traced it back to the connector which i have given a good clean so maybe that will fix the error. So have cleared all fault codes and will see if it comes back or not.

    If the fault does keep coming back, is it something i should worry about or as it is not really affecting the car should i just ignore it as if i didnt have VCDS i would never have known there was anything wrong.
  38. vrbob
    Offline

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,364
    Likes Received:
    157
    *Bump*

    Hi Chaps,

    Not been around for a while as the car has been pretty good all in all (have still been lurking and reading the odd post or two). Anyway i am still having issues starting the car in the mornings or after it has sat for a while (if it has got to normal running temp the car will start on the button afterwards even if it has sat for an hour). I am still erring towards the Glow Plugs being dodgy as the car runs fun the rest of the time.

    So first off is it best to get the plugs from audi?? if so what sort of price are they?? Secondly from reading this thread again i see a few people say get a garge to replace them and a few people say you can do it yourself. Now i have a little spare time at the mo and am happy to try to do it myself and then if i still have starting issues i will get it to a garge to have the timing checked out.
  39. vrbob
    Offline

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,364
    Likes Received:
    157
    So has anybody bought glowplugs from the dealers then??
  40. quattrojames
    Offline

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,885
    Likes Received:
    475
    Sorry mate I saw this the other day and meant to answer it later but forgot!

    I bought mine from pjmspeedy and they were about £13 each iirc. I changed them myself and it was pretty straightforward, a couple of them are quite fiddly and you need to take a few things off but nothing major. I was twitching a bit when I undid each one scared they were going to shear off as they're only think little things, but as long as you keep the socket and extension square on, are gentle with the ratchet and use plenty of WD you 'should' be fine. I'd give them a good soak in penetrating oil overnight the night before. Then put some copper grease on the thread before you put the new ones in. Quite a simple job in my experience.

Share This Page