1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

2.0TDI Remap Questions?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Jonny-A3, Nov 29, 2010.

  1. Jonny-A3
    Offline

    Jonny-A3 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all, im now in the hunt for my first A3, i have narrowed it down to the 2.0TDI. I have read that there is quite a noticable different performance wise between the 140 and 170 models. Im struggeling to find many of the 170s with the spec i am after, so my question is, is it easy enough and cheap enough to chip/remap the 140 to give it a similar feel to the 170 and how will it effect the fuel consumption etc in doing so?
    Im looking at the black editions and like i said cant find many that suit all my needs/wants.
    Cheers for any help.
    #1
  2. Matt
    Offline

    Matt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,420
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes very easy and straight forward to remap them. Should get at least as good fuel consumption if not better.

    You can remap the 170 too ;) 200+bhp & 310lb/ft+ torque.

    I would recommend Bluefin from my experience with it. You do it all yourself and can take it on and off as you please plus I got it at a pretty good price in a group buy. And the main thing is it seems to be a great from the last 11 months that I have had it...
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2010
    #2
  3. roman3000
    Offline

    roman3000 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi, a remap on the 140 will get you about 185bhp/290 lbft and will also improve your mpg a little. The 170 remaps to 195bhp i think, so the difference will be minimal, but you will get better mpg from the 140, i think its the best all round choice. A remap costs around £300 and is very easy, make sure you go to a good place though, wouldn't want just anybody remapping your car.
    #3
  4. Jonny-A3
    Offline

    Jonny-A3 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0

    How easy is it to do yourself though?
    And cheers its set my mind at ease, the 170 is prety hard to find in the black edition :(
    #4
  5. Matt
    Offline

    Matt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,420
    Likes Received:
    2
    You get the bluefin unit, plug it in to your car, follow on the onscreen prompts, leave it do its thing. Unplug, install software on your computer. Plug bluefin in to your computer. Send the standard map file off using the software you installed. Bluefin send the a new modified file back. You download this to your bluefin unit, then plug it in your car, again follow the prompts and then leave it to it. Remap done.
    #5
  6. crunchie
    Offline

    crunchie Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    63
    Go for it! Provided you have the £ to replace the turbo when it goes. I've got a 140 but its the 1st car I've had that I've not mapped as I don't feel the turbo is strong enough. Too many horror stories. Apparently the newer CR diesels are much better for mapping if your thinking about a 58+ car.
    #6
  7. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,159
    Likes Received:
    686
    I'd recommend Shark Performance from my experience of software.
    #7
  8. Jonny-A3
    Offline

    Jonny-A3 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Turbo problems?:/ at how many miles? I won't keep it much past 40-50,000.
    #8
  9. Jonny-A3
    Offline

    Jonny-A3 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    CR diesels?
    #9
  10. sub39h
    Offline

    sub39h Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    5
    common rail.

    just before the MY09 facelift Audi replaced the engines. they had the same power and same stats but use different injection technology.

    some of the original PD engine had weak turbos. there's quite a few threads on this. not being a diesel man myself i can't offer more assistance than that.
    #10
  11. Jonny-A3
    Offline

    Jonny-A3 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well im looking at the black edition, am i right in think these are 09 onwards?
    Therefore are common rail?
    #11

Share This Page