2.0 TDi Engine management light help

Jonny84

Reaction score
Hey, im new to the site and the world of audi's! Ive recently got myself an a3 sportback 2.0tdi and on monday on the way to work the engine management light came on. Ive done a search of the site and i think it might be a common problem that ive got.
Im a mechanic (for toyota) and have plugged in a snap-on diagnostic machine and got the following codes -

P3102 Motor for intake manifold flap no signal
P3101 Motor for intake manifold flap open or short to ground
P0691 Fan 1 control circuit short to ground

Ive replaced the fuse in the fusebox in the engine bay and checked the fans move freely and arnt jammed and they seem fine. Started her up and the fuse instantly blew again. Does this point to the IMF rather than there being a problem with the fans??

Thanks for any help or advice (hope ive posted this in the right section of the site)
Jon

yes m8 i would say imf flap is jamming and blowing fuse

you may get away with just cleaning it, but its a common problem. Mine had the same codes, and i just changed it on spec, didnt even try and clean it. IMO if its out, whats the point in putting it back, to find out its still u/s. They arnt overly expensive, from memory about £300 odd.

Ok cheers guys, ive also got to fit a new ABS pump as thats also failed (but i bought the car cheaper knowing this) so i may aswell do both jobs at once. Looks like a weekend of work is in order! So its definately not the fans then, would they only throw the light on if they were jammed or the motors seized? (which they arnt)

im not quite sure where the fans fit into this fault if im hounest. the fuse is blowing because the IMF is sticking, so the motor/solonoid, not sure what it will be, is drawing to much current. I dont remeber the fan fault code on mine now i think about it...
maybe some one else can shed some light on that bit for you... :readit:

Hope you get it sorted soon :)