2.0 TDI (BNM) engine sounding rough AFTER injector swap.

max69vk

Reaction score
Hi to all, I'm a newbie to the forums & to Audi's, I had hoped one of my first posts on here would be a more positive one after picking up my 2.0 TDI S-line sportback 4 weeks ago.

I'd been looking for a TDI sportback for weeks & one came up at reasonable money with FASH so it was snapped up. Having driven an older tuned AMF TDI PD car for the previous 8 years I was amazed at how silent & smoothly it ran (the loudest noise was the turbo whistle), & was absolutely delighted with it. After a couple of weeks the previous owner contacted me to say they had received a letter from Audi regarding the injector recall & that he thought I should conatct Audi to get it all checked out, which I did. The car was booked in & I was told that all 4 injectors + the loom would be replaced.

When I dropped the car off I had had no issues with it at all, it ran perfectly. However since picking it up, whilst it may drive ok it sounds like a bag of spanners - very agricultural. I'm now having to take the car back to Audi for further inspection but am trying to arm myself with as much info as possible & was wondering if anyone else has experienced this problem?

Below is a quick list I put together of the issues:

Car running perfectly 16/04/12, 8.30am, taken to Audi Epsom (Drift Bridge) for recall on potential Siemens injector & wiring loom fault.

Parts replaced:

Injector units x 4
Injector loom? – Not listed on service invoice
Injector seals? – Not listed on service invoice

Since collecting the car 16/04/12 15.30pm car has not been running correctly & sounds like a tractor.

Symptoms:

Rough idle compared to before – Much more engine movement, very reminiscent of an old 3 cylinder PD TDI I used to own.

Excessive ‘diesel knock’ – Engine was practically silent before.

Extremely loud on idle compared to previously (excessive top end rattle).