1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

2.0 Tdi 170.. 2010/common Rail Fuel Filter Change!

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by A_Davison, Aug 17, 2014.

  1. A_Davison

    A_Davison New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hi all, recently purchased the above car after my 2.0fsi decided to finally give up.

    Giving it a service, using genuine parts, however a little unsure on the fuel filter.

    I've read various posts on here and on other sites saying you require vag com to prime the fuel filter as the pumps aren't activated with the ignition... I called a German car specialist and they said just turning the key will be enough!

    Could anyone clarify this for me?

    Thanks a lot.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Lee540

    Lee540 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    10
    I was told turnung key was enough however I read on here that could potentially cause damage to pump on CR engines
     
  4. SPARTAN91

    SPARTAN91 RED FIVE STANDING BY
    Regional Rep TDi Gold Supporter Team Silver Audi A3

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    132
    You need to use vcds to prime the filter and fuel lines on cr engines. bkd's will prime with just turning the key
     
  5. TimWills28

    TimWills28 Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    62
    Spartan got it spot on...ki got bkd and primed with key...a mate had to use vcds on his newer cr engine...
     
    SPARTAN91 likes this.
  6. SmithyAG

    SmithyAG Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2013
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    61
    The advice above is spot on.
     
  7. Phil-1

    Phil-1 Well-Known Member
    Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    437
    ^ correct. When mine was changed they had to prime it first with VCDS
     
  8. A_Davison

    A_Davison New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ahh I thought this might be the case, nothing simple these days is there haha. Thanks for all the advice, need to get my hands on VCDS now..
     

Share This Page