18inch alloys 245/40/r18 wider than wheel arch! Help!

E

Essential93

Hey guys, now Ive currently got an issue with the width of the alloys that have come with the A3 i've bought. They are 245/40 and are 18inches but whenever I get passengers or anyone sitting in the back, and I turn I hear the rubber actually hitting the wheel arch edge. I stress it isn't rubbing inside the wheel arch, but because the wheels are wide for the car, they hit the edge every time i turn. My guess they've come off an a4 audi. But anyway, what is the best way to go about solving this issue? Buy new alloys? Suspension upgrade? Please do help me, it sucks that I can't take my family about places without it damaging the car.

Sadly the rear arches are tight

Change to 225 tyres, will Deffo help

Although I'm sure Alex got 245 to fit with some camber

So would I have to change the whole alloys or can I just change the tyres on the wheel and it should help? Sorry I'm a newbie at these sorts of things @Sayam

So would I have to change the whole alloys or can I just change the tyres on the wheel and it should help? Sorry I'm a newbie at these sorts of things @Sayam

It's ok don't apologise, no one was born knowing everything

If you look at the inside of the wheel it will be stamped with an offset, will say something like "ET45". I need you to check and post that along with the width of the rim. That will also be stamped on the inside it will say something like "8.5J"

Once I know that we can work out the narrowest tyre that is safe to use on your wheel for its width

Once we know that we can decide if you can just change the tyres or need new wheels

Reactions: Essential93
It's ok don't apologise, no one was born knowing everything

If you look at the inside of the wheel it will be stamped with an offset, will say something like "ET45". I need you to check and post that along with the width of the rim. That will also be stamped on the inside it will say something like "8.5J"