1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

170PD Re-Map..

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by rsb2486, Dec 6, 2011.

  1. rsb2486
    Offline

    rsb2486 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 6, 2011]
    Got a 56' plate A3 170bhp dsg/s-tronic and want to get it mapped.
    Were do you guys recomend me getting the 170 mapped from in the midlands area? .. and ive read issue about the dpf - i take it, its ok to map with it still on and not to remove it?

    im based in Coventry but can travel around the midlands region... your help is apreciated.

    Cheers
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 21, 2014]

  3. paultaylor
    Offline

    paultaylor Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Dec 6, 2011]
    I've a 07 A3 SB 170 DSG and have been looking at maps lately but more to improve mpg!

    Would a map exist that would amintain power and torguw but giver better mpg?
    #2
  4. plezz
    Offline

    plezz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Dec 6, 2011]
    Paul I'm no expert at all, but i've heard a lot of maps actually boost performance and MPG together - something to do with the increased torque allowing you to change gear sooner, and the engine generally running more efficiently overall.

    i did look at maps a while ago - I THINK it was revo - and they offered either a small power increase with a larger MPG increase, or a bigger power increase with less MPG increase.
    #3
  5. cloughy
    Offline

    cloughy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Dec 6, 2011]
    would the box need remapping as well?
    #4
  6. AidenUK
    Offline

    AidenUK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,648
    Likes Received:
    38
    [Dec 6, 2011]
    No but you can have the box remapped if you want, i don't know the exact advantages of this but when i was looking at mapped my previous A3 which was DSG i seem to remember REVO were a company that could remap the box.
    #5
  7. cloughy
    Offline

    cloughy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Dec 6, 2011]
    Nice one, cheers pal
    #6
  8. S3 Dave
    Offline

    S3 Dave Now running on Heavy Oil

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Dec 6, 2011]
    £349 @ AMD in Alcester Warwickshire, There's a good place in Wolverhampton i can't think of the name, also might be worth giving chipped uk a buzz in Bromsgrove.
    #7
  9. h5djr
    Online

    h5djr Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,519
    Likes Received:
    573
    [Dec 6, 2011]
    The 'good place' in Wolverhampton is Performance Torque - 01902 324584. www.p-torque.co.uk. Used them to remap my current CR140.
    #8
  10. rsb2486
    Offline

    rsb2486 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 6, 2011]
    Ive used p torque in the past on my previous car.. 320d coupe went from 177bhp to just over 210bhp and ****e loads of torque.. bloody thing shifted!!!.. ive tried ringing them a couple of times but theres no answer! :(

    has anyone used AMD?

    #9
  11. b19ctr
    Offline

    b19ctr The King of Cannock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    41
    [Dec 7, 2011]
    revo dont do a remap for the 170pd

    I've been looking at custom code (Midland VW can do this)
    #10
  12. W8 Performance
    Offline

    W8 Performance Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    929
    Likes Received:
    18
    [Dec 7, 2011]
    I can do it with an sts unit. Have a look on my sponsor section as I am running an offer at the moment.

    Rob
    #11
  13. 170 dsg
    Offline

    170 dsg New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 12, 2012]
    is there any places to avoid in the midlands for a remap as im also looking around to get my a3 170 dsg mapped?
    #12
  14. Rick @ Unicorn Motor Dev.
    Offline

    Rick @ Unicorn Motor Dev. Site Sponsor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    151
    [Dec 13, 2012]
    There are only very small gains to be had when remapping a 170 without removing the DPF. These engines are already on edge with the DPF constantly regenerating, and adding more power only makes things worse. DPF removal is the way to go, which gives significant gains in both power and economy.

    Thanks, Rick
    #13

Share This Page