110 TDi 1.9 power mods!

scr8pdo

Reaction score
Hi I dont know if iam in the right place, please feel free mods to move or delete:

Iam just wondering what sort of power increase I could expect from a remap and a few light mods to a 1.9 (110 BHP) TDi in a B5, I have heard mixed reviews, I havent picked one up yet, just getting to know them before, I havent had much to do with the VAG TDis, could anyone tell me if the 110 BHP is a PD engine??

Others have said that I will benefit from a De-Cat and EGR delete kit, Iam pretty handy with a spanner, Iam a mechanic by trade, but not had much to do with Audi/VWs over the years, had plenty of experience with other makes, namely Volvo, BMW and Mercs and would defo feel confident doing work myself.

I have been impressed by the figures quoted on these lumps for economy and power, iam loooking for a family car I can have a play in and save a few quid on juice so have been swayed towards the DERVs of late especially with the price of fuel at the minute and am fed up visiting the petrol garage when iam only getting mid teens to early 20s (MPG) if iam careful in remapped Volvo T5s with nigh on 300 BHP, its not practical at the moment as iam off work.

There seems to be a massive tuning market for these VAG cars (Thanks Ruffrida) for pointing me in the right direction, any advice would be great and this forum seems to be a great friendly place :)

Engine is non-PD and afaik if the clutch and cam belt are up to scratch then it's pretty bomb proof.

Just about the cheapest mod you`ll see... *Update - Now with added boost**

I had a look at that, it's Mk3 related but the same principle as our engines. It's no where near as good as a remap but I've not found anyone that can map these engines so it might be a viable option. For the price I'll give it a go and report back though.

Engine is non-PD and afaik if the clutch and cam belt are up to scratch then it's pretty bomb proof.