1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

1.9 tdi quatrro clutch slipping DIY on the street ?

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by boytrigg, Jan 21, 2014.

1. boytrigg

boytrigg Member

[Jan 21, 2014]
    Hi everyone one im a newbie to the site im looking for some help lol ive recently bought a 2002 a4 1.9tdi quattro and the clutch has started slipping im going to replace it before it gives up i was wondering if it would be recommend doing this with out a ramp on the street with minor mechanical knowledge ive never done a clutch before but im pretty confident on the mechanical side of things also the car has been remapped im wondering if the standard replacement clutch would handle the torque or is it worth while upgrading cheers everyone any help would be much appreciated
  2. Ads

Ads

[Sep 23, 2014]

3. SL11CKK

SL11CKK Active Member

[Jan 21, 2014]
    If you are taking it off on the street. How comfortable are you working underneath a car?

Also define what you mean by minor mechanical knowledge. If I were you I would make sure I have a backup car/transport ready should something out of the ordinary set you back.

Taking it off isn't too much of a problem however putting it back on can sometimes be a bit of a struggle.
  4. benjie

benjie Active Member

[Jan 21, 2014]
    I have had a standard clutch on my remapped 1.9 tdi quattro for 60,000 miles, no problems.
  5. desertstorm

desertstorm Well-Known Member

[Jan 21, 2014]
    Hello again :) .
    As I said on the UK Passats forum.
    If it's just a phase 1 map of a 130 pd engine so running around 170bhp that will be fine on a standard clutch. Just stick with a Sachs or LUK clutch.
    As for changing the clutch in the street, You wouldn't catch me crawling around under a car in the street. Too much to go wrong.