1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

1.9 tdi 130 awx remap file

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by glenandem, Feb 9, 2013.

  1. Ollie-B
    Offline

    Ollie-B Rockin' Shnit

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Feb 13, 2013]
    And when you read/write your ecu, dont worry if it sounds like a jets trying to take off in your engine bay
    #41
  2. Dan TheMan Welburn
    Offline

    Dan TheMan Welburn Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    23
    [Feb 13, 2013]
    I was advised by andrew on my bora to remove a couple of fuses before performing the remap, do you not need to with the a4?
    #42
  3. Ollie-B
    Offline

    Ollie-B Rockin' Shnit

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Feb 13, 2013]
    I didnt on mine, mine is a 51plate, audi didnt fit extra monitoring until late 02 early 03, like egr monitoring for example.
    #43
  4. aham_uk
    Offline

    aham_uk Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Feb 13, 2013]
    Fuse pulling is only needed when there is a communication error caused by the cluster. Even with 2 identical clusters, 1 may need the fuses pulled and the other not.

    I did forget to mention, the A4 has to have a good battery as the fans activate for 70-100 seconds during remap, if in doubt disconnect the fan/ put a charger/stabiliser on the battery.
    #44
    Dan TheMan Welburn likes this.
  5. glenandem
    Offline

    glenandem Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    562
    Likes Received:
    20
    [Feb 13, 2013]
    Ok guys I'm having a trauma!!
    i downloaded the galleto software from somewhere else and sort of got it to read, where it read and gave me the ecu info but than freezes again, it says seed key error sk1?
    heres a pic, anyone know what's the prob, also the fans start coming on so I'm wondering if its fuses as its too dark and wet to whip them out tonight?

    Attached Files:

    #45
  6. Ollie-B
    Offline

    Ollie-B Rockin' Shnit

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Feb 14, 2013]
    Its normal for the fan to come on, mine did and it went fine. Its maybe a good idea to pull the fuses andy suggests. Like he said in the last post its for communication error, which it sounds like your gettin. Guess im just lucky i didnt get that error
    #46
  7. glenandem
    Offline

    glenandem Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    562
    Likes Received:
    20
    [Feb 15, 2013]
    jammy sod!
    im still fighting with mine,ive tried downloading three different galletto softwares now and they all seem to read enough to get the details as shown in picture but stop at 42% then i get the sk1 error.
    im waiting for the guy on ebay to get back now about the lead!
    hows yours going pal,still enjoying the speed and is your mpg improving?
    #47
  8. Ollie-B
    Offline

    Ollie-B Rockin' Shnit

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Feb 15, 2013]
    Ive done 38miles from empty and 20quid fill up, horsing the **** off it and ive got 185mile range left. But i dont think the computer has sorted its head out yet as those miles were small journeys here n there
    #48
  9. stu_m
    Offline

    stu_m Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    36
    [Feb 15, 2013]
    want to come and do mine so I have someone to blame if it goes wrong :-D
    #49
  10. Ollie-B
    Offline

    Ollie-B Rockin' Shnit

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Feb 15, 2013]
    haha thats the attitude i like to hear
    #50
    stu_m likes this.
  11. Ollie-B
    Offline

    Ollie-B Rockin' Shnit

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Feb 15, 2013]
    also though i would mention especialy for you stu my flat spot is gone after i done the remap :) winning!
    #51
  12. stu_m
    Offline

    stu_m Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    36
    [Feb 15, 2013]
    excellent sounds pretty good

    I shall be doing this at some point but not sure when as I need to save my pennies for a bike trip to germany :)
    #52
  13. Ollie-B
    Offline

    Ollie-B Rockin' Shnit

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Feb 15, 2013]
    Sounds cold to me lol me brothers into his bike hes got some sort of kawazaki road bike and he want and enduro to start green laning. Wierd person, ad rather have a trophy truck lol
    #53
  14. stu_m
    Offline

    stu_m Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    36
    [Feb 15, 2013]
    It wont be cold when I'm going lol

    you don't know what your missing when it comes to bikes
    #54
  15. Ollie-B
    Offline

    Ollie-B Rockin' Shnit

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Feb 15, 2013]
    I do, evrytime av ever been on a bike it ends in disaster. Had a quick go on my cousins motorcorss bike a few year ago and ended up leapind 10ft in the air and landing about 5meters away from the bike on my head lol broke my wrist and damaged my kidneys, pisd blood for a few days after that lol
    #55
  16. stu_m
    Offline

    stu_m Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    36
    [Feb 15, 2013]
    ah well motorcross bikes are a total different kettle of fish

    I used to do it years ago when I was younger and was always dumping the bike its the nature of it

    road riding is a total different story the best part about it is all thos flash twats who try to race you off the line in their 50k plus cars that will only do 0 -60 in about 7 seconds when my bike that costs way less will do it in 3 seconds flat and its 15 years old lol
    #56
    AR-rkon likes this.
  17. 666markyboy
    Offline

    666markyboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Feb 15, 2013]
    ordered my lead today from a seller that says they are all tested on a Golf before dispatch...... can't wait :)
    #57
  18. cruisinbeatz
    Offline

    cruisinbeatz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 16, 2013]
    I also done the same as yourself, Was speaking to Andrew yesterday and today and it seems really straight forward. Cant wait, I paid over £300 for my last remap :s
    #58
  19. glenandem
    Offline

    glenandem Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    562
    Likes Received:
    20
    [Feb 16, 2013]
    I'm sending my galletto back and the seller is going to swap it for a mpps as he says Thryre more stable and hopefully that will sort my reading error!
    just to be clear can Somone tell me which fuses I take out as I've tried fuse 15 and fuse 10 or 11 which one it was I can't remember but when I checked it there wasn't one there as that says its for auto gearbox?
    ive been told there's two fuses for the dash but I'm only finding the 15 fuse?
    #59
  20. Ollie-B
    Offline

    Ollie-B Rockin' Shnit

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Feb 16, 2013]
    It tells you on blacksmoke.co.uk when you click remap using galletto. 11&15 i think if you dont have 11 you shouldnt worry i suppose? As for your lead thats unlucky! And since this seller is selling clone leads im guessing hes gona send you a clone mpps aswel as there 500 or close to it for official lead. Same with galletto there close to 200 for official lead. Always taking a risk on a clone lead of it being no good cos theyl be made for 23pence in the back of a shoe shop in china
    #60
  21. Ollie-B
    Offline

    Ollie-B Rockin' Shnit

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Feb 16, 2013]
    If i was closer to manchester your car would of been done by now i feel bad that i hijacked your thread and mines been done since wednesday lol
    #61
  22. glenandem
    Offline

    glenandem Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    562
    Likes Received:
    20
    [Feb 16, 2013]
    Haha yeah I hope you feel bad u ******* lol!!!
    no seriously glad you did it too pal and even nicer to hear its a flyer!
    im gonna sort this prob somehow, so I can rule out the fuse issue, when I take the fuse out it says fuse on the dash but I don't get airbag light on?
    yeah think the other lead may help even though its a clone as the guy said its a more stable lead than galletto but who knows!
    just wanna get it done now, the only thing puzzling me is it reads something as it finds the chassis no and the 1.9 rd4 bit?
    #62
  23. Ollie-B
    Offline

    Ollie-B Rockin' Shnit

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Feb 16, 2013]
    It deffo sounds like either the car is blocking communication or the software (or laptop) but your lead seems fine to me. You dint have to right click newserial.exe and click run as administrator? Have you tried that? Alot of things require you to do this to have it fully functioning
    #63
  24. TOTE
    Offline

    TOTE Just Me

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Feb 16, 2013]
    Sorry to disturb your post,just a quick question,i have a a3 tdi 130 sport quattro 2002,i would love to remap but in my case being a quattro what kind of differences i would expect from the remap?
    #64
  25. stu_m
    Offline

    stu_m Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    36
    [Feb 16, 2013]
    the best thing is to look here as it depends on your engine code and ecu

    100BHP Remap files
    #65
  26. scottshere
    Offline

    scottshere Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Feb 16, 2013]
    May sound like a daft question... But.. Do these leads let you access and change everything the same as VCDS leads and software?
    #66
  27. stu_m
    Offline

    stu_m Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    36
  28. 666markyboy
    Offline

    666markyboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Feb 16, 2013]
    Well my lead arrived today .... 24 hours from buying on ebay so i'm impressed with that... laptop is on charge and reading up on it all tonight... i allready know my ECU number and engine code from reading it with VAG-COM and a cheap lead but i'm going to wait and see if this Galletto lead talks to my car first before ordering the map.... am i right in thinking they arrive via email in around 15 mins ??? will this be the case for a Sunday ?? i'm going to use the genuine software a link was posted to earlier... do i need to install drivers for the lead first from the small cd that came with it ?
    #68
  29. Ollie-B
    Offline

    Ollie-B Rockin' Shnit

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Feb 16, 2013]
    If ya order a map thats on the site its emailed automaticaly to the address ya paid with
    #69
  30. 666markyboy
    Offline

    666markyboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Feb 17, 2013]
    All mapped and up and running... :p

    I won't say it went without issues but none of those were to do with Blacksmoke or for that my eBay lead...

    I plugged the lead into my Windows 7 Desktop PC when i got it and windows went off and found drivers for it all by itself no problems at all so that to me said the lead was fine

    Onto my Laptop a very old one running XP that is purely only on XP because that's what i had Vag-Com running on and when i plugged the lead in nothing happened ... i got the bong sound and a serial device appeared in the device manager under COM Ports and it was running on Com 5, i know this can be an issue so i changed it to Com 2, this is what i had to do to get my Vag-Com lead to work but on connection to the car , NOTHING i tried all sorts in the end forcing various drivers onto that serial device etc but all to no avail

    that's when i decided right I'll put Windows 7 on my Laptop as a dual boot system, but it said it would trash my old XP system which i didn't want to do just yet, that's when i remembered my Dad has exactly the same Laptop as me But he has Windows 7 on his so off i went to my Dads

    Plugged the lead in my Dads laptop but now it's not connected to the net as we are too far away for the wifi and when it tried to install drivers for the lead it threw a fit, eventually letting me to point it to the mini CD i got with the lead,,,, a bit of chuntering later and it had installed drivers

    GOING ON A BIT AINT I :)

    So now i ran the software , turned on ignition and it found my ECU and let me save the old file ( Fans came on as mentioned and i pulled no fuses )

    Great i thought, off to the net on my Desktop and bought the map file i needed, it arrived instantly in my email :thumbsup: , went back to the car and thought I'll save a second image before i start and I'll save this one on my phone which i plugged into the USB of the laptop (this may have been a bad idea) when i ran the program again it didn't read,,,, i tried all sorts, restart Laptop , Car on and off without the lead in i might add but nothing :mad: so i checked the Device manager on the laptop and it seemed to have a couple of unknown devices and the network adapter had lost it's drivers , STRANGE possibly something to do with adding the phone to it perhaps... anyway as i said, no wifi outside so back inside and connected to the Internet via and Ethernet cable and fixed all the unknown devices... Result , happy Laptop again

    Back outside , i reconnect to the car and re save another copy of my old file, this time to the laptop, not bringing the phone anywhere near it this time ... all that went fine so uploaded the new map,, that went great too up to the last box popping up that i was waiting for, it tells you that in the instructions you'll get a box that says turn the ignition off,,, mine came up in Spanish LOL but i knew what it was

    Anyway that's the end of my long story, the car runs great ,,,, no massive power gains as it's only gone from 130 to 160 but you can certainly tell and it revs much more freely and you can feel the extra Torque.... I'll no doubt need a new clutch soon as it's on 120k oh and i can hear the turbo whistling a little louder than it did.... again it's a high mileage turbo so to be expected,,, what I'm hoping for is maybe a little better MPG as it's a Quattro Avant 2002 so it's a heavy brute

    All in All I'm very happy

    Sorry for the long post, I'm now off to format my Laptop :)
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2013
    #70
  31. cruisinbeatz
    Offline

    cruisinbeatz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 17, 2013]
    what kind of torque improvement are there is these remaps? I know it says 130bhp to 160bhp but its all about the torque imho. What kind of gains? It seems as if black smoke are just using standard maps as they are not able to tinker at all with them. I bought the lead but now im not so sure. I know £45 is a steal but if seems he could be using the maps from ebay at like £5 for all we know.
    #71
  32. Ollie-B
    Offline

    Ollie-B Rockin' Shnit

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Feb 17, 2013]
    Mine was +32bhp and 20%extra torque from standard and you can feel it! Im only goin off what andy said but there is a partner of blacksmoke who has a rolling road and he does alot of the work, as i say i dont know andy from adam but it works.
    #72
  33. aham_uk
    Offline

    aham_uk Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Feb 17, 2013]
    If there is any information you require please feel free to contact me.
    I can give torque figures to anyone who wants them but to be honest 99% of people just know BHP figures.
    All maps are created using tested map packs which is where the dyno figures come from.
    We have seen a few of our maps appear on tuning forums asking for a critique and our peers have no bad words.
    We don't aim for the maximum figures and never achieve them by doing dangerous things seen on some "eBay" map DVDs.
    What mods to the files would you like? We're quite comfortable with launch control/DPF delete/ egr delete but without a car infront of us it can be a pain the behind hence why we don't offer most mods normally.
    For example: EGR delete... Dead straight forward I could teach anyone how to do it in 5 mins safely. Put it on a car with an electrical fault relating to he actuator and it still has an EGR fault. So the next stage is to delete the DTC for EGR flow. Still got the light and an unhappy customer who was told by friends that the light would go with a remap. :-(

    Having a goal what you want from a remap is important, I have one customer who upgraded a 115bhp to 150bhp with massive FMIC only to be dissapointed that the nippy take up was gone through turbo lag.
    DIY mapping is defiantely not for everyone so please weigh up your options as with any mod you do.

    Andy
    #73
  34. cruisinbeatz
    Offline

    cruisinbeatz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 18, 2013]
    Well ill give it a go anyhow, what in the line of fuel economy are we to roughly expect from a standard 130 -160 remap Andy?
    #74
  35. aham_uk
    Offline

    aham_uk Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Feb 18, 2013]
    If you drive the same journey before and after it should remain the same or improve upto 10%.
    it should never go down unless there is a faulty component (temperature sender or boost pipes etc).
    #75
  36. cruisinbeatz
    Offline

    cruisinbeatz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 18, 2013]
    Thanks for the quick response. Cable will be here tomorrow and hopefully you will have a new customer then to. :D
    #76
  37. cruisinbeatz
    Offline

    cruisinbeatz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 19, 2013]
    Cable came this morning, bought the map, and it was in my emails as soon as i went into them. Followed the instruction on black smokes website and all went 100%. I went for the 162bhp remap and have to say you definitely notice a difference, Loads more torque low revs but not so much higher. But i assume that is to save your clutch a little. All in all, I'm happy thus far, now for a few runs about now to get a proper feel for it.

    I can recommend Andrew 100% guys, really helpful guy and even answered my silly question with no fuss. The map is delivered in seconds and is straight forward to put on. Simply put.... It just works lol.
    #77
  38. glenandem
    Offline

    glenandem Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    562
    Likes Received:
    20
    [Feb 19, 2013]
    Anouther jammy sod with no probs lol!
    I've sent my lead back today and the seller is going to send me a mpps lead and I pay the difference but he's offered me the choice of a plastic mpps lead or a metal mpps box for a few quid more?
    anyonf know which is best or does it matter?
    #78
  39. cruisinbeatz
    Offline

    cruisinbeatz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 19, 2013]
    Not sure myself mate but I used the other type, the cheaper one from the same guy ollie got his from, DIY-diagnostics. Worked first time. My cars an 01 a4 awx 130. What's yours?
    #79
  40. glenandem
    Offline

    glenandem Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    562
    Likes Received:
    20
    [Feb 19, 2013]
    Hi pal mines an 03 awx too, I got mine from a seller called total_diagnostics hopefully the mpps lead will read the ecu this time and I can get it mapped!
    #80

Share This Page