1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

1.8T Remappable ECU'S

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by LeeT, Jun 8, 2011.

  1. LeeT
    Offline

    LeeT Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jun 8, 2011]
    At what year did the B5 ECU become remappable? As i have read on here somewhere that some have to be chipped or switched out to a later ECU??
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 1, 2014]

  3. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,614
    Likes Received:
    318
    [Jun 8, 2011]
    Effectively none of them are flashable, they all have to be chipped.

    The early ones are extremely difficult/impossible to find the physical rom chip they require, as its long discontinued and isnt rewritable. The later ECU's use a much more common rom.

    A good tuner doing a custom map on one of these ECU's would use an Emulator in place of the rom, while he got the map nailed down, then he would burn the virtual rom to a real chip and fit it.
    #2
  4. LeeT
    Offline

    LeeT Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jun 8, 2011]
    thanks for that, so what would be considered an early one? which years? A good tuner being someone like MRC?
    #3
  5. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,614
    Likes Received:
    318
    [Jun 8, 2011]
    They changed over around 1997 i think.

    You can tell just by looking at the ECU. The early ones are really chunky square oldskool looking things, and have 5 small individual plugs. The later ones are slimmer and rounded off, and have two large plugs.
    #4
  6. LeeT
    Offline

    LeeT Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jun 8, 2011]
    hmmm, ive got an early 97 on a P. I'll have to take a look when i get the car back here on Friday. If it is the early one am i knackered in the way of tuning or can i swap it out for a newer one relatively easily?
    #5
  7. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,614
    Likes Received:
    318
    [Jun 8, 2011]
    You can swap the later harness and ECU in without too much problem, infact i have one here if your interested :p
    #6
  8. Jason.s
    Offline

    Jason.s Active Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,879
    Likes Received:
    348
    [Jun 8, 2011]
    Yay i have a later one on a 98 lol.

    If you`re chassis number is up to 8DW100 then you have an early one, if its over that then its a late ECU

    Saying that looking at a 97 if its 8DV onwards then it goes up to 99..

    hhm chassis number is needed to work it out properly.
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2011
    #7
  9. LeeT
    Offline

    LeeT Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jun 8, 2011]
    I could be when i have had a look to see what i have there on friday. How much are you looking for?

    I'll get the chassis number on friday
    #8
  10. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,614
    Likes Received:
    318
    [Jun 8, 2011]
    I'd like £50 for the ECU and harness.
    #9
  11. LeeT
    Offline

    LeeT Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jun 8, 2011]
    fair price, i'll give you a shout when ive had a look
    #10
  12. steady jay
    Offline

    steady jay Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Aug 9, 2011]
    Kind of on the same subject Ive got a chipped ecu to swap over for my standard one but it run like s**t after setting it all up. Check both of them the only difference is the last 2numbers and very last letter. Would I need to get hold of the chipped ecu harness to?
    #11
  13. steady jay
    Offline

    steady jay Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Aug 9, 2011]
    14 hour shift my grammar is shocking. Haha
    #12
  14. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,614
    Likes Received:
    318
    [Aug 10, 2011]
    It should run fine, unless you've fitted the wrong MAF or something.

    Theres a few different MAF's depending on the exact ECU you've got.
    #13
  15. steady jay
    Offline

    steady jay Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Aug 10, 2011]
    Vagcom said something about 02 sensor and MAF. But runs fine with standard ecu. For the short time it was fitted the revs were really lumpy and throwing out black smoke.
    #14
  16. boost-addict
    Offline

    boost-addict Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    979
    Likes Received:
    35
    [Aug 22, 2011]
    it could have a mafless map. but as its not set up right its overfueling
    #15
  17. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,614
    Likes Received:
    318
    [Aug 22, 2011]
    Cant do mafless on DBC cars, they have no boost sensor and narrowband lambda.
    #16
  18. steady jay
    Offline

    steady jay Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Aug 22, 2011]
    It's being sorted now, the ecu that was sent had a different bosch number. A new one is being sent over now that identical to mine.
    #17

Share This Page