1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

1.8T 225 BAM Engine Cutting out! Air Mass problem? PLEASE HELP!

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by tjkherz, Aug 24, 2011.

  1. tjkherz
    Offline

    tjkherz New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 24, 2011]
    My car has been running fine, but went to start it the other day and it just cut out almost straight away. Thought I'd stalled it so tried again and same thing happened.

    Couldn't understand it but I suspected the Air Mass Meter so unplugged it. The engine runs fine without it plugged in, but as soon as I plugged it back in it stopped working, i.e it cuts the engine out immideitly. The traction control light and engine management have now come on.

    I ordered a cheaper replacement meter and it hasn't fixed the problem. Also I have plugged the car into my neighbours ETHOS diagnostic and it picks up no codes apart from those picked up from running it without the meter. Very strange!

    Not really sure what to do?

    Any help or experience with this would be much appreciated!

    Thanks

    Tom
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 20, 2014]

  3. Nilz
    Offline

    Nilz Defo worth the wait :)

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Likes Received:
    403
    [Aug 24, 2011]
    Try swapping it with a genuine MAF, as the aftermarket ones can be a bit dodgy, also some of the genuine ones can be faulty too.

    Any chance you can get it scanned on VAGCOM, see if it brings up anymore, or if you can list the codes it comes up with, someone on here maybe able to assist further.
    #2
  4. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,331
    Likes Received:
    695
    [Aug 24, 2011]
    non Bosch maf is just as likely to be as problematic as a dodgy tired old bosch one.

    genuine only dude.
    lights on dash will be because its been disconected and/or faulty.

    do you have access to vagcom?
    #3
  5. tjkherz
    Offline

    tjkherz New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 26, 2011]
    Sort of, ill take it to my gargage, think he's got vagcom.

    Should have ordered the bosch one, knew it at the time, I was just too cheap!!

    So the non bosch ones are just **** are they, ie dont work? they shouldnt be selling them!

    Ill get a vagcom done asap!
    #4

Share This Page