1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

09 White Cluster/DIS fitted to 04 8P

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by NHN, Mar 3, 2009.

  1. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Apr 4, 2010]
    LOL, no way - I was staying in Estepona, popping down to Gibraltar a few times as my sister used to live there for 7 years. What is the deal with all the bashed cars!! Doesnt help the parking spaces are about 6" wider than a car I guess.
  2. scottie123
    Offline

    scottie123 (●̮̮̃•̃) (●&# VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,972
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 4, 2010]
    Right i'll try again now i'm thinking.

    So as I have a lowline cluster, would I be correct in saying that if I was to buy a 2nd hand dis cluster, I could take it to the dealers and they could recode the immob/dis cluster to my car, and only the mileage would be incorrect.
    Tbh, I would love the white version, but would be happy with a red one, as I have no dis and anything would be an improvement, especially with the rns-e
  3. phil_w
    Offline

    phil_w Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Apr 5, 2010]
    I've got a TDI one going spare - tested ok - but never got round to fitting it before selling the car. Let me know if its of any use...

    Mileage could be corrected later by someone in the know...

    Oh and DIS wiper stalk as well (which is also on my garage shelf...)
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2010
  4. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,161
    Likes Received:
    688
    [Apr 5, 2010]
    This thread reminds me, still need to get the mileage done on my 09 cluster!
  5. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Apr 5, 2010]
    +1
  6. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,161
    Likes Received:
    688
    [Apr 5, 2010]
    = 2
  7. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Apr 5, 2010]
    Yes british people are tbh fecking louts abroad & overall in UK aswell, disgusts me to see the way we act abroad especially in spain area.

    Would you require some wiring additions for your conversion mate, it can be done, just more time/work & money needed to do.

    Scottie I may have a red dis cluster available soon from my SB if I stick the white KMH one in for the missus in italy.

    That links to this thread mate, lol
  8. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Apr 5, 2010]
    Us Scots are usually quite friendly abroad, just dont try to understand us LOL. Regarding mileage, my white cluster has 3540 miles, guess it was a useless driver LOL
  9. spanishpacs
    Offline

    spanishpacs New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Apr 20, 2010]
    Finally got round to getting my 09 cluster coded today.

    Sadly they wouldn't let me know what they were doing or help, said due to passwords being involved! I swapped in the new one for them & left it with them. They said to come back in 20-30 mins. Gave them 40 mins & they had it done - no problems. I had already coded everything bar the immob already though. £35 later & I'm a happy bunny.

    It was Ingrams in Ayr that did it. Their telephone number is +441292 269522 but I dont know if they will volunteer any info over the phone even to another Audi dealer (They aren't actual dealer, they are Authorised agent)
  11. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,161
    Likes Received:
    688
    [Apr 20, 2010]
    Good result, seriously need to get my mileage done.
  12. spanishpacs
    Offline

    spanishpacs New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 21, 2010]
    Thanks for the info though! I will go to another dealer and ask them if they know how to do it. Info would have been of great help, but i will take my chances. I can´t wait to get the new cluster.
    Thanks again Khufu and if you come to Spain ( to Valencia or Alicante) drop me a PM and i´ll invite you to a good paella for your effort!!
  13. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Apr 21, 2010]
    I still have to get my SB coded with the KMH one, so hold your horses & I will when I go record it all & take notes as they should allow me in workshop as I always am in there with them doing anything to my car, also get to play with the 5051/2
  14. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Apr 21, 2010]
    Cheers :)

    It matches the white Air con LEDs better now:

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
  15. jungleman
    Offline

    jungleman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    42
    [Apr 21, 2010]

    did anyone work out how to do this on the S3 clusters?
  16. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Apr 21, 2010]
    Yes, you need an S3 to be able to do it, its an adaption you can set.
  17. jungleman
    Offline

    jungleman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    42
    [Apr 21, 2010]
    ive got an S3 but its on a 56 plate can it still be done, and what do i need to do?
  18. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Apr 21, 2010]
    You would need to check your adaption channels in the cluster module to see if its an available option, then turn it on & test, if its not there then you'll need a newer cluster version as I have seen this option in mine, but as its not an S3 it wont work.
  19. jungleman
    Offline

    jungleman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    42
    [Apr 21, 2010]
    so would that be a job for VCDS?
  20. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 21, 2010]
    This feature was introduced in MY08 on S3s as you have a MY07 car it can't be done without swapping the cluster for e newer one.
  21. jungleman
    Offline

    jungleman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    42
    [Apr 21, 2010]
    ah cool cheers for that :icon_thumright:

    would be nice, but other mods id rather spend the money on as am sure a new cluster would be pretty expensive haha
  22. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Apr 21, 2010]
    Yes

    There you go, answered, cheers John.

    Also I checked label file for MY07, nothing shows & now the MY08 is encrypted, I cant advise except to say I have seen that setting with my new cluster but of course wont work for TDI.

    Check the bay mate as seen number of used S3 clusters for sale & a hell of alot cheaper than new.
  23. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Apr 21, 2010]
    I've seen the option for it & the lap timer on VCDS too but as said it states for S3 & R8 only.
  24. spanishpacs
    Offline

    spanishpacs New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 21, 2010]
    Thanks so much N., I extend the invitation to a good paella to you as well:)
  25. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Apr 21, 2010]
    You might see me sooner than you think mate lol, as driving to Italy at some stage again so might pop in, lol, or you can drop by us in Italy my new soon to be home.
  26. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Apr 21, 2010]
    MMM, paella & tapas :)

    I hope you can finally get it coded, it must be doing in the heads of the pair of you both!
  27. spanishpacs
    Offline

    spanishpacs New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 10, 2010]
    Hi, still no news? I´m thinking of trying on wednesday with another dealer. If so many people are able to do it in different places maybe it is the dealer that I went the only one who couldn´t manage to do it.
    I will let u know on wednesday if there is any luck!
  28. PH1L
    Offline

    PH1L Gievf Buckets VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,864
    Likes Received:
    39
    [May 10, 2010]
    just to clarify, my old boys s3 (57 plate) has this option and i dont think it was registered in 08 either
  29. spanishpacs
    Offline

    spanishpacs New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 18, 2010]
    I finally managed to swap the cluster!! I went to another dealer and they did the job this morning. I only got charged 40 Euros for half an hour, vs first time that I went ( 90 euros and no result).
    Brake lights are on right now, but I will code it later this afternoon following NHN indications.
    Big thanks to NHN and Khufu for all their recommendations. Invitation to tapas and paella is still up in case you come to Valencia or nearby!!
  30. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [May 18, 2010]
    glad you finally got it done, it makes car see more modern inside - have you gone back to other dealer to rub nose in it? LOL
  31. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [May 18, 2010]
    I hate to say it, but I told yer so, its always the dealer that makes these mistakes with cluster fitment, you should have seen the guys doing mine, listen they're really nice blokes but audi dont make it easy for them at all, thats why my respect for my dealer has grown over time, as I personally have seen & used there equipment along with fitting/coding 1 time, so I know what trouble they have, BUT, thats no excuse for not doing the job as it 100% works as I've proved now what 5-6 times with 2 of mine & number of others.

    Glad your all setup now mate, its great to see persistance & please do go back to that dealer & if they charged you, claim it back from them mate as they should of done the job in the 1st place, do make a point of this fella as they cant charge for something they didnt, but could of done.
  32. spanishpacs
    Offline

    spanishpacs New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 18, 2010]
    Not yet, but i certainly will. I don´t hope to get my 90 euros back, but maybe i can get some discount on stuff for my car.
    Drop me a PM if you come to Valencia or Alicante, i will glad to treat you.
  33. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [May 18, 2010]
    i'm with you on that Nigel, I wouldn't have payed in the 1st place though LOL
  34. spanishpacs
    Offline

    spanishpacs New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 18, 2010]
    I know NHN, but to to be honest it was thanks to you that I took the chance to go to another dealer. I was scared to lose another 90 Euros with no result, but as you proved that it was possible so many times I was positive it had something to do with the dealer. If i hadn´t read this post my new cluster would still be in my shelf, so my persistance is 90% your credit.
    Thanks again for your recommendations and as I said to Khufu I would be glad to take you to a nice restaurant if you come near by!
  35. tee2803
    Offline

    tee2803 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 12, 2010]
    Hi does any one know any were in the midlands i could get my cluster coded from ??
    Took it to my local dealer and they told me it can not be done.. told them it can be done and charged me for it..
    Also any one know how to get the white led on the heater panel??

    Thanks
  36. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Sep 12, 2010]
    was it an actual dealer or just a specialist? As proven above Audi can do it, its just the mileage they cant.

    The only way to get the white LEDs on the aircon panel is to de-solder the old red ones & solder in new white ones. It depends if you have much experience with a solder iron. I bought the white LEDs off ebay.
  37. tee2803
    Offline

    tee2803 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 13, 2010]
    Yep actual dealer listers audi in coventry i was there for 30mins telling them i can be done.But all they kept saying was that its the wrong cluster for my car and it wont work 09 one wont fit in 05 car.even charged me a hours labour for it!!!!!!!!!! So looking for some were else to do it then iam going back to them to get a refund...
  38. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Sep 13, 2010]
    It would also depend on what cluster you have, remember an S3 cluster wont fit a TDI etc, but I would think after you've read my thread, I doubt this has happened.

    Dont need to get it done 1st then refund, I know of at least 3 people who've done this upgrade since I did mine, with invoices who will happily provide the require docs to prove to coventry audi it can be done, so you can get a refund now.

    Its a case of not knowing wtf they're doing, if they charged you an hours labour, as its a 30 minute job tops, 1/2lf to 3/4 of that time is for testing aswell.
  39. smudge_don
    Offline

    smudge_don Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,945
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Sep 14, 2010]
    Me and Scottie are getting ours done for the 24th :)

    Well, that's if Scottie can find a white cluster in time :laugh:
  40. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Sep 14, 2010]
    Did you speak to the said person aswell then Jord?

Share This Page