1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

09 Plate A3 Facelift Coming Home Lights Succesfully Enabled!

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by A3Kent, Oct 21, 2012.

  1. A3Kent

    A3Kent Well-Known Member
    Team Daytona TDi Audi A3 S-line

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,518
    Likes Received:
    206
    Just got back from having my Coming Home and Leaving Home Lights enabled on my Facelift 2009 A3 by Ash. Was a quick 2 minute job done via VCDS without any cabling etc. We're not sure if it will work the same way with any later models, even the 59 plate might not work. If anyone else has achieved it on a 59/10 plate onwards let us all know.

    Appreciate your time this morning Ash, I hope you've got your feet up after the MAJOR mod you were secretly doing yesterday. All to be revealed shortly I believe :icon_thumright:

    He has also filled my head with various mod ideas which although is good, it means dipping deep into the wallet!
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. mjr901

    mjr901 Parts Manager - (Main Dealer)
    Audi Main Dealer Gold Supporter Audi S3

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    3,099
    Likes Received:
    654
    if ash wants to test this coming home feature in my 61 plate S3 he's more than welcome....
     
  4. aky20

    aky20 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    4
    I second that, would be great to have this feature and not too far away from North London.

    A3 Kent / Ash what did you enable with VCDS to enable this feature?
     
  5. Tinners

    Tinners Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same question as above........ my VCDS cable arrives tmrw so would be grateful to know how to do it.
     
  6. Ash187

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User Audi A5 quattro

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,257
    Likes Received:
    603
    Well there are a few combos of coding tick boxes you can try, but none are guaranteed as in the end of the day it is a hack of a feature that usually only comes with cars that have auto lights.
    So in VCDS go to central electrics (09) followed by coding, then long coding helper, in the first byte tick the box that says coming home enabled. If you do not have that option on the very first byte then it may not work for you but you could still fish around and see what 'coming home' coding you have.
    As I told Chris before he made his way over to me it is not a guaranteed mod, I have had issues on a 2011 car in the past so try it at your own risk, and always make a note of any changes you make so you can go back and undo the change you have done if anything goes wrong.

    Chris it was a pleasure to meet you, hope I didn't put too many evil ideas in your head... Last thing I need is your misses blaming me for your new addiction lol
     
  7. Baffles

    Baffles Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    11
    So how does it work without the light sensor? Do they not come on in the day time too?
     
  8. Rhyso

    Rhyso Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    923
    Likes Received:
    44
    That's the thing; they will come on regardless of what time of day it is lol unless you retro-fit the light sensor etc

    I disable mine during the summer months and have now re-enabled them as I leave for work in the dark and come home in the dark :(
     
  9. A3Kent

    A3Kent Well-Known Member
    Team Daytona TDi Audi A3 S-line

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,518
    Likes Received:
    206
    Regardless of time of day, when you open the drivers door to get out your headlights will come on for 20/30 seconds and then automatically go out regardless of whether you lock it or not.

    Then when you return to the car and unlock from your key fob the headlights automatically come on until you open the drivers door.

    I would have preferred it if it was just the fog lights that came on as it's less subtle but I believe thats for the later models (10-11 plate etc?). Still, it works for me, espeically with it getting darker earlier in the evenings.

    Thanks again Ash
     
  10. Tinners

    Tinners Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Managed to get this working tonight...... literally just had to check the CH/LH boxes in byte 0 in adaptation and all was good. Now appears in the DIS and can turn off CH in there as well by just changing the duration to zero seconds (LH is either on or off).
     
  11. A3Kent

    A3Kent Well-Known Member
    Team Daytona TDi Audi A3 S-line

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,518
    Likes Received:
    206
    Good stuff. Your's must be a 58 plate?
     
  12. Tinners

    Tinners Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Certainly is. Was surprised how easy it was to be honest, given the amount of issues people seem to be having.....
     
  13. A3Kent

    A3Kent Well-Known Member
    Team Daytona TDi Audi A3 S-line

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,518
    Likes Received:
    206
    Yeah I think it's only easy on the 58 and 09 plate, maybe the 59 plate too although no ones confirmed this as yet. Anything later and it's not possible we think. The A3's before (8P2) need an additional cable I think.
     
  14. Tinners

    Tinners Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looks like I might have spoken to soon. With the CH/LH lights enabled via VCDS but turned off in the DIS the headlights are now permanently on when the switch is set to DRL. Sidelight 'icon' on the switch is lit and the interior eqpt lit as it would be if you had the switch on side or headlight. Odd!!

    Doing my head in! so have disabled in the interim. Any thoughts?
     
    #13 Tinners, Oct 26, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2012
  15. Msphotographic

    Msphotographic New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will this work on a 12 plate ??
     
  16. A3Kent

    A3Kent Well-Known Member
    Team Daytona TDi Audi A3 S-line

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,518
    Likes Received:
    206
    we don't know, find someone with vcds in your area and give it a go and then report back with your findings.
     
  17. rdfcpete

    rdfcpete Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    11
    Question to Ash or A3Kent I suppose, but what did Ash change or set in VCDS for this to work if I may ask please?
    I've got VCDS so would be keen to know what was done?

    Thanks.
     
  18. A3Kent

    A3Kent Well-Known Member
    Team Daytona TDi Audi A3 S-line

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,518
    Likes Received:
    206
    does this not say then?
     
  19. rdfcpete

    rdfcpete Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    11
    Not really fella, it's very light on detail. Ash must've done more than drive to see you to enable a single checkbox?

    It describes one check box in the CE 09 Module which won't do much on it's own. It's also one I've personally enabled in VCDS and tested with unsuccessful results.
    Ticking that box is the same as enabling the tick box in your DIS for activating coming home lights, which I've also tried and was also unsuccessful.

    Clearly these cars, where ticking this box in the CE module in VCDS enables coming/leaving home lights, have something else present either in their CECM's or have another wiring feature that my car does not, otherwise it would be very simple to enable.

    I'm very technically interested to find out what that component(s) or items(s) is/are because it clearly ain't just as simple as that... :think: Ash mentions no further wiring is needed, which means something must already be present that we don't know about, or, we haven't considered (or this would consistently work on other cars including the 2010 CECM A3's).

    I'm willing to hack and play to get progress on this... :yum:

    Cheers.
     
  20. A3Kent

    A3Kent Well-Known Member
    Team Daytona TDi Audi A3 S-line

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,518
    Likes Received:
    206
    Well I think, and it'll need Ash to confirm, that all he did was tick a box.

    like Ash has said though, he's tried it on other later A3's and its a no go so its obviously something different on later models. How late, we don't know and hoped that others would try on there 59, 10, 60, 11...etc and post back if it works.
     
  21. H4ldex

    H4ldex New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi Guys
    I have successfully enabled this today on my 58 plate A3 SportBack
    It was so straight forward - VCDS - clciked a tick box and then clicked do it - job done :yahoo:
    What is the difference with later A3's ????
     
  22. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. H4ldex

    H4ldex New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi Tinners
    I tried this too and got exactly the same result I just disabled the LH option and all was well :yahoo:
     
  24. stefoster

    stefoster Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    8
    I have a 59 plate and would love to try to get this to work on mine.. if anyone is in the Midlands area that has VCDS and would give it a go for me please let me know...
     
  25. R90 STL

    R90 STL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2013
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    288
    Doesn't look like it is possible to activate these on a 59 plate :( tried it tonight on mine
     
  26. element140

    element140 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Was there a fix for this? I have had this problem, but even though leaving home has been disabled via VCDS, the headlights still come on when the car is unlocked.
     
  27. Tonka Toy

    Tonka Toy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    24
    I might have misunderstood some or most of this thread but I've activated both Coming Home and Leaving Home functions by ticking boxes in DIS menus on my 2011 S3. Only works at night and with light switch on auto but couldn't have been easier and I'm rubbish at anything technical. So, have I just been lucky or is that normal?
     
  28. S3_Jacko

    S3_Jacko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,649
    Likes Received:
    493
    Quite normal... Took me 10 minutes to do it on a mates car
     
    Tonka Toy likes this.
  29. adam_may

    adam_may Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    30
    Can you use the DRL lights as coming home lights rather than the headlights?
     
  30. Ash187

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User Audi A5 quattro

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,257
    Likes Received:
    603
    only on facelift cars, the coming home lights up the DRL and Fogs. can't be coded in on prefacelift cars.
     
  31. adam_may

    adam_may Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    30
    Yeah it's for my mates facelift A3 sportsback black edition. So when u enable coming home lights it automatically uses the DRL and fogs?
     
  32. adam_may

    adam_may Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    30
    It's a 59 plate though. Has anyone managed to enable these yet?
     
  33. L05T

    L05T Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have managed to get the coming home feature work on my 59 but have to use the flash stalk before exiting the car

    Any ideas how to get the leaving home to work?
     
  34. Schlaag

    Schlaag Bwah

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    19
    Another bump.. anyone with a 2011 car (no auto lights) get this working with just VCDS?

    I have got a couple of repair wires but they're for the SDS microphone re jiggle
     
  35. Sayam

    Sayam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,482
    Likes Received:
    310
    On a 2011 car you need to get the auto lights and wipers retrofitted to activate coming home/leaving home lights.
     
    Schlaag likes this.
  36. Schlaag

    Schlaag Bwah

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    19
    Oh bloody hell... That's a new windscreen isn't it. Sod that!
     
    Sayam likes this.
  37. Chris1982

    Chris1982 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just reading through this thread and I like the sound of this. I've a 58 plate A3, the facelift type. How do I go about doing this? Is it a DIY job or do I need some special kit?
     
  38. Ash187

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User Audi A5 quattro

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,257
    Likes Received:
    603
    on a 58 plate just enable it via coding.
    @Schlaag auto lights install isn't that bad, i can install it for you if you want
     
  39. MA3TDIQ

    MA3TDIQ Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    7
    Is this mod poss on a 57 plate? Also just tick box with VCDS?
     
  40. Ash187

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User Audi A5 quattro

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,257
    Likes Received:
    603
    on a 57 plate its a wiring hack and a vcds code
     
  41. Schlaag

    Schlaag Bwah

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    19
    My insurance charge £75 excess on windscreens so I guess I could just bite the bullet and get a new one!
     

Share This Page