1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

03 S3 Service Light Reset

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Colly, Jul 13, 2012.

  1. Colly
    Offline

    Colly The Tangerine Machine

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 13, 2012]
    Is there any way to do this without plugging the car in?
    Thanks
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 17, 2014]

  3. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,902
    Likes Received:
    1,331
    [Jul 13, 2012]
    #2
  4. Colly
    Offline

    Colly The Tangerine Machine

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 13, 2012]
    thanks.
    I seen this but i wasn’t sure as someone further down the thread says it doesnt work so i was wondering if someone had a definitive answer
    #3
  5. knoxie
    Offline

    knoxie K4OXE

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Jul 13, 2012]
    alright mate, it didnt work for me but in you owners handbook will tell you how to do it, i have probably done it wrong
    #4
  6. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,902
    Likes Received:
    1,331
    [Jul 13, 2012]
    To be fair I have never tested it myself as I tend to use VCDS to reset mine...

    <tuffty/>
    #5
  7. Sevv
    Offline

    Sevv Pushing the limits..

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,322
    Likes Received:
    116
    [Jul 13, 2012]
    it should work mate as i have done it like that the Haynes manual actually tells you how to do it (which is the same way)
    #6
  8. Sevv
    Offline

    Sevv Pushing the limits..

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,322
    Likes Received:
    116
    [Jul 13, 2012]
    okay its my bad ive just checked again..

    " to reset the longlife display manually, witch off the ignition, then press and hold down the trip reset button, and note that the relevant service will appear in the display turn the digital clock reset knob clockwise and the display will now return to normal.... switch off the ignition to complete the resetting procedure. DO NOT "zero" the display otherwise incorrect readings will be shown


    there ya go thats the extracts
    #7
  9. Colly
    Offline

    Colly The Tangerine Machine

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 13, 2012]
    thanks Guys
    #8

Share This Page