1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

005 - No or Incorrect Basic Setting / Adaptation error after SRI reset

Discussion in 'VCDS (formerly VAG-COM) forum' started by fizz, Jan 6, 2013.

  1. fizz
    Offline

    fizz Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jan 6, 2013]
    Hi

    Would anyone be able please advise how to reset the service light on an Audi A3 57 plate TDI 2.0 SLine with VCDS as I have followed the documented procedure here Ross-Tech: VCDS Tour: SRI Reset but now get the following error:

    Address 17: Instruments Labels: 8P0-920-xxx-17-MY8.clb
    Part No SW: 8P0 920 982 J HW: 8P0 920 982 J
    Component: KOMBIINSTR. VDO H02 0980
    Revision: D0H02002 Serial number: 2246I002005548
    Coding: 0005428
    Shop #: WSC 00618 210 91773
    VCID: 40849B341364CC18615
    1 Fault Found:
    00003 - Control Module
    005 - No or Incorrect Basic Setting / Adaptation
    Freeze Frame:
    Fault Status: 01100101
    Fault Priority: 6
    Fault Frequency: 1
    Mileage: 36109 km
    Time Indication: 0
    Date: 2012.12.04
    Time: 19:54:23

    Although the light has now gone off, error appears when scanning. This is very frustrating as I would of thought the procedure to reset the service would not bring an error. I emailed rosstech a few times on their support address but have not yet received a reply. FYI I am using a HEX CAN USB (Genuine) cable. Any help appreciated guys.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 23, 2014]

  3. @udi A3
    Offline

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,766
    Likes Received:
    175
    [Jan 6, 2013]
    From memory:
    With the ignition on, pull out the trip reset knob and then let it go and then pull again and hold for about 5-10s it will reset the service indicator.

    Regarding the fault code:
    From Rosstech wiki:

    When found in Audi A3/S3 (8P): Instrument Cluster:
    • Check/Perform Instrument Cluster Service Interval Settings (Adaptation Channels 42, 43, 44, 45 and 49)
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2013
    #2
  4. fizz
    Offline

    fizz Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jan 7, 2013]
    thanks for the heads up, however got a reply from Peter at ross-tech too with the following thats sorted the issue:
    Just incase anyone else comes across this problem I got a reply from Peter from ross-tech with the following thats now cleared the code:

    "You may need to manually adapt the channels. To reset these to factory
    > default settings, follow the
    >
    > Select Address 17-Instruments
    > [Adaptation]
    > Enter in Channel [42], Read
    > New value = [145]
    >
    > Enter in Channel [43], Read
    > New value = [300]
    >
    > Enter in Channel [44], Read
    > New value = 730]
    >
    > Enter in Channel [45], Read
    > New value = [2]
    >
    > Enter in Channel [49], Read
    > New value = [730]"

    The difference from my original adaptations was channel 43 was set to 306 instead of 300. Hope this helps somebody.
    #3

Share This Page