Hi! S3 hunting, new to Audi, long-time BMW owner (Boooo I hear!) ;)

-Keith-

Reaction score
Hi All,

New to the forum and would like to introduce myself before I start to ask lots of newbie stuff that will (probably) have you all rolling your eyes. ;)

My name's Keith and I'm a 30yr old Engineer from Maidenhead, Berks. I've always been a petrolhead... But a loyal BMW driver - if you'll forgive that! Currently my car is an E46 M3 which I've had for years and still enjoy very much:

P1010268Copy.jpg

Past cars include an Z3 M Coupe and E36 M3, 330i's, 328's etc. A BMW fanboy I guess you could say, although I have always driven (old!) Golf's as the daily / dog transporting car too. That is why my VAG connection finishes I'm afraid. As you can tell I have a strong preference for German cars and I suppose that leads me here!

My wife Vicky is also a bit of a petrol head and fellow German car fan. Her last three cars have been a Cooper S, 125i coupe and 130i Limited Edition.

We are looking for her next car and up until recently we we're looking for an Edition 30 Golf. Trouble is we wanted good spec, low miles and must be a 3-door manual in black or gunmetal only. Due to these fairly specific requirements the search has been taking longer than we thought. However, VW's loss is Audi's gain as we turned our attention to S3s (2007-2008ish). They seem better specced, less common on the roads compared to the mk5 Golf shape and all-in-all, better value. I think they look superb.

I am trying to establish some basic info on the models and learn as much as I can. I am a frequent forum user on the BMW scene, so after finding this place it seems a very good resource to get me started. I look forward to hanging around and chatting with you guys - so please be patient with me!

Regards

Keith