Monster MotorsportBadger5
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Posts
    10

    Opinions on the new shape passat.

    I have seen quite a few of these around lately. In the beginning i was impressed with the shape of the new car, but now im not so sure.

    I saw one yesterday and from the front side as it drove past it looked almost Toyota Avensis.

    I think i will have to reserve my opinion for a while.

    Does anyone have any strong likes or dislikes about this car??

    JD

  2. # ADS
    ADS
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Global
    Posts
    Many
     
  3. #2
    Soupie69uk's Avatar
    Owner

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    Posts
    2,751

    Re: Opinions on the new shape passat.

    I am not a that big fan of the new shape.

    I think the last of the line older ones look a lot classier than the new shape.

    Maybe it will grow on me though.

  4. #3
    jojo's Avatar
    S3 Drift King!

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Solihull, Midlands
    Posts
    25,505

    Re: Opinions on the new shape passat.

    Not as good looking as the B5/5.5 Passat, but it's a classier and more modern machine. I had a go in a 2.0 TDI 140, and it's much more refined and quicker than my TDI115 Passat and handles a lot better aswell, interior is well put together, almost Audi standard actually, but not quite.

  5. #4
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    London UK
    Posts
    2,614

    Re: Opinions on the new shape passat.

    My work colleague in my office is getting the sports passat its on order now. I like it i think its nice....not spectacular but nice!

  6. #5
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    250

    Re: Opinions on the new shape passat.

    Only glanced inside one when I was ordering my GTI but it looked very Merc like inside - in a good way obviously.

  7. #6
    TDI-line's Avatar
    Uber Post Whore

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Peterborough
    Posts
    8,885

    Re: Opinions on the new shape passat.

    I quite like it, very well built, and the interior is really good. And the price is pretty reasonable too.

    Seeing more on the road now, so there will be plenty of 2.00 TDI SE for sale in a couple of years from all the reps.

  8. #7
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Cheshire
    Posts
    3

    Re: Opinions on the new shape passat.

    I think the new Passat is very well designed. I think VW designed to look like a small Phaeton. I think it's tried to move the medium sector a notch up. The competition is well behind in terms of looks & build quality. Just look at what Ford have to offer.

  9. #8
    6th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    London UK
    Posts
    2,614

    Re: Opinions on the new shape passat.

    Colleague got his new Passat this week.... Black 2.0TDI with the sports pack and Sat/nav, xenons, Auto with 6 speed DSG box. Went out for a spin in it and must admit its a very nice motor. Very smooth and extremely quiet wouldnt have known it was a diesel from engine noise inside the cabin. Nice dials on the dash and t i like the way the satnav screen is mounted. Very nice car.

  10. #9
    Numptie of the highest order

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Crowthorne, England
    Posts
    2,512

    Re: Opinions on the new shape passat.

    Yep I was looking around at cars just after they came out and had a sit in one, thought the interior was really well designed and also like the look of the car. Would by one if I needed a bigger car I think... well maybe.

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO

Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO