Volks AutosJMB Retrofits
Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1
    lincoln_dj's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lincoln, England.
    Posts
    137

    error light on dash but no codes...

    the 2004 audi a3 3.2 i've just bought has error light on dash, but apparently audi themselves can find no fault codes on diagnostic. has anyone come across this before? is it at all possible that all is well with the car and that whatever chip/wire/etc that tells the dash to display a error light is broke, rather than anything on the engine or ecu??

    Cheers, Adam

  2. # ADS
    ADS
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Global
    Posts
    Many
     
  3. #2
    NHN
    NHN's Avatar
    Modmetractor

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Coding Something
    Posts
    27,094
    Pic of icon please so we can ascertain what it is 1st.

    OEM RETROFITS - CRUISE CONTROL - SAT NAV - BLUETOOTH - AMI - HEADLIGHT SYSTEMS

    PARKING SYSTEMS - DIAGNOSTICS - FAULT FINDING - BODYWORK - PAINTWORK

  4. #3
    lincoln_dj's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lincoln, England.
    Posts
    137
    yeah sorry nigel, it's the "emissions control" icon.

  5. #4
    NHN
    NHN's Avatar
    Modmetractor

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Coding Something
    Posts
    27,094
    It could just be a thrown dtc code advising of an error in another module mate, but have you tried vagcom on the car as yet mate apart from audi diag?

    OEM RETROFITS - CRUISE CONTROL - SAT NAV - BLUETOOTH - AMI - HEADLIGHT SYSTEMS

    PARKING SYSTEMS - DIAGNOSTICS - FAULT FINDING - BODYWORK - PAINTWORK

  6. #5
    lincoln_dj's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lincoln, England.
    Posts
    137
    not yet, a mate has one but it is lent out at the moment. and have had an offer of help from a chap on here about 40 miles away with the vcds.

    is there things the vag com system can show up that audi diag wouldnt? you'd have thought if audi dont know then no one will!

  7. #6
    bearthebruce's Avatar
    Ross-Tech, LLC

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Ambler, PA
    Posts
    331
    That is refered to as the MIL indicator. If it is on, there should be a DTC stored.

    I don't know how to reply to the Audi tech not finding an error. That seems real strange to me.

    Could it be a malfunctioning instrument cluster? Sure. We won't be able to help further without a full scan by a factory level diagnostic tool like VCDS or the Audi factory tool.
    -Bruce-
    Ross-Tech, LLC
    Bruce@Ross-Tech.com

  8. #7
    NHN
    NHN's Avatar
    Modmetractor

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Coding Something
    Posts
    27,094
    Quote Originally Posted by lincoln_dj View Post
    is there things the vag com system can show up that audi diag wouldnt? you'd have thought if audi dont know then no one will!
    The thing is, the scan is sometimes only as good as the person doing the checks mate, so obviously cant comment on the diag by audi, but as Bruce says could be a cluster fault, but for sure if its lit up then there should be log to show this if cluster is working as it should, which is why I advise a vagcom scan to make sure the audi scan was done correctly.

    OEM RETROFITS - CRUISE CONTROL - SAT NAV - BLUETOOTH - AMI - HEADLIGHT SYSTEMS

    PARKING SYSTEMS - DIAGNOSTICS - FAULT FINDING - BODYWORK - PAINTWORK

  9. #8
    lincoln_dj's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lincoln, England.
    Posts
    137
    was a camshaft speed sensor / engine speed sensor correlation fault. camshaft sensors were changed apparently. cleared it using vcds and seems to be ok so far

  10. #9
    NHN
    NHN's Avatar
    Modmetractor

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Coding Something
    Posts
    27,094
    So you found these error logs when using vagcom then or what?

    OEM RETROFITS - CRUISE CONTROL - SAT NAV - BLUETOOTH - AMI - HEADLIGHT SYSTEMS

    PARKING SYSTEMS - DIAGNOSTICS - FAULT FINDING - BODYWORK - PAINTWORK

  11. #10
    lincoln_dj's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lincoln, England.
    Posts
    137
    yep. so god knows why audi in notts couldnt clear the engine check light!
    2004 A3 3.2 V6 manual

  12. #11
    NHN
    NHN's Avatar
    Modmetractor

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Coding Something
    Posts
    27,094
    You should buy yourself vagcom mate, nudge nudge wink wink PM me if interested as I sell the genuine cables.

    OEM RETROFITS - CRUISE CONTROL - SAT NAV - BLUETOOTH - AMI - HEADLIGHT SYSTEMS

    PARKING SYSTEMS - DIAGNOSTICS - FAULT FINDING - BODYWORK - PAINTWORK

  13. #12
    bearthebruce's Avatar
    Ross-Tech, LLC

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Ambler, PA
    Posts
    331
    - as I said, I can't for the life of me understand what went on with the Audi tech.
    -Bruce-
    Ross-Tech, LLC
    Bruce@Ross-Tech.com

  14. #13
    NHN
    NHN's Avatar
    Modmetractor

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Coding Something
    Posts
    27,094
    Bad day I'd say Bruce

    OEM RETROFITS - CRUISE CONTROL - SAT NAV - BLUETOOTH - AMI - HEADLIGHT SYSTEMS

    PARKING SYSTEMS - DIAGNOSTICS - FAULT FINDING - BODYWORK - PAINTWORK

  15. #14
    lincoln_dj's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lincoln, England.
    Posts
    137
    yeah i will get round to buying one dont worry. the one my mate has looks like a copy cable, and uses serial port anyway which my laptop doesnt have.
    2004 A3 3.2 V6 manual

  16. #15
    lincoln_dj's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lincoln, England.
    Posts
    137
    light came on again today below is a paste of what the vcds software throws up.

    VAG-COM Version: Release 409.1-S


    Scan: 01,02,03,08,09,15,16,17,19,25,37,42,44,46,47,52,55 ,56,57,69,75,76,77,7D

    Chassis Type: 8P - Audi A3/S3
    Scan: 01,02,03,08,09,15,16,17,19,25,37,42,44,46,47,52,55 ,56,57,69,75,76,77,7D

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Address 01: Engine
    Controller: 022 906 032 CA
    Component: MOTRONIC ME7.1.1 5629
    Coding: 0000172
    Shop #: WSC 06435
    1 Fault Found:
    17755 - Camshaft Position Sensor 2 (G163) / Engine Speed Sensor (G28): Incor. Correl.
    P1347 - 002 - Lower Limit Exceeded
    Readiness: 0000 0000

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Skipping Address 15-Airbags

    End --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    any ideas what would make this appear??
    2004 A3 3.2 V6 manual

  17. #16
    bearthebruce's Avatar
    Ross-Tech, LLC

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Ambler, PA
    Posts
    331
    I believe that your engine uses variable valve timing. This error indicates that something is out of sync between the CAM and Crank timing. There is too much difference between them. Here is some more information from the Ross-Tech Wiki: 17755
    -Bruce-
    Ross-Tech, LLC
    Bruce@Ross-Tech.com

  18. #17
    NHN
    NHN's Avatar
    Modmetractor

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Coding Something
    Posts
    27,094
    I had that same error on my S3, but only after a cambelt change, so stands to reason its linked to this, as I swapped sensors & made no difference.

    OEM RETROFITS - CRUISE CONTROL - SAT NAV - BLUETOOTH - AMI - HEADLIGHT SYSTEMS

    PARKING SYSTEMS - DIAGNOSTICS - FAULT FINDING - BODYWORK - PAINTWORK

  19. #18
    lincoln_dj's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lincoln, England.
    Posts
    137
    cheers for the info bruce.

    nigel, how did you get rid of the error? assuming you did!

    the sensors have apparently been changed so looks like the timing chain needs attention. guess cam cover needs to come off in order to make sure the TDC marks on the cam/crank rollers line up??
    2004 A3 3.2 V6 manual

  20. #19
    NHN
    NHN's Avatar
    Modmetractor

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Coding Something
    Posts
    27,094
    The car worked perfectly & came & went & came back, car got sold & no reports of issues from buyer, but I'd get the chain checked mate for sure.

    OEM RETROFITS - CRUISE CONTROL - SAT NAV - BLUETOOTH - AMI - HEADLIGHT SYSTEMS

    PARKING SYSTEMS - DIAGNOSTICS - FAULT FINDING - BODYWORK - PAINTWORK

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO

Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO