Sky InsuranceJMB Retrofits
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    5

    Concert II+ coding question

    I have a 2008 A3 with Concert II+ head unit and currently live in the US. In a few weeks we'll move to Switzerland. I'm trying to code the head unit to European mode. With VAG-COM I open controller 56. The coding helper indicates that the low-order digit is for region. 2 is for North America and 1 is for Europe. When I change the digit to 1 and click "Do It!" I get an error saying that the code is out of range. I've successfully changed many other settings on several cars so I don't think it's user error. Is it possible that the head unit can't be recoded to another region? Here's the scan for that controller:

    Address 56: Radio Labels: 8J0-035-1xx-56.lbl
    Part No SW: 8P0 035 186 H HW: 8P0 035 186 H
    Component: R Concert2+ H17 0240
    Revision: 00H17000 Serial number: AUZ1Z3G9203684
    Coding: 0010012
    Shop #: WSC 06314 000 00000

    1 Fault Found:
    01044 - Control Module Incorrectly Coded
    000 - -
    Freeze Frame:
    Fault Status: 01100000
    Fault Priority: 5
    Fault Frequency: 1

    Thanks for any help.

    David

  2. # ADS
    ADS
    Join Date
    Always
    Posts
    Many
     
  3. #2
    NHN
    NHN's Avatar
    Modmetractor

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Coding Something
    Posts
    27,114
    Welcome to the site.

    what engine is it, do you have leather?

    http://wiki.ross-tech.com/index.php/...II_Plus#Coding

    OEM RETROFITS - CRUISE CONTROL - SAT NAV - BLUETOOTH - AMI - HEADLIGHT SYSTEMS

    PARKING SYSTEMS - DIAGNOSTICS - FAULT FINDING - BODYWORK - PAINTWORK

  4. #3
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by NHN View Post
    Welcome to the site.

    what engine is it, do you have leather?

    http://wiki.ross-tech.com/index.php/...II_Plus#Coding
    Thanks for the welcome. Seems like an interesting place.

    The engine is 2.0T and I do not have leather. It's a base model. The information on the page you linked looks the same as what the coding helper shows in VAG-COM (not surprising since the webpage is by Ross-Tech).
    Last edited by CH-A3; 3rd December 2009 at 02:29.
    --
    David
    2008 A3 2.0T

  5. #4
    NHN
    NHN's Avatar
    Modmetractor

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Coding Something
    Posts
    27,114
    What version of vcds you running?

    Try changing it to have leather aswell & see if accepts & clears the fault, have you changed anyother car settings to EU as yet or just trying this so far?

    OEM RETROFITS - CRUISE CONTROL - SAT NAV - BLUETOOTH - AMI - HEADLIGHT SYSTEMS

    PARKING SYSTEMS - DIAGNOSTICS - FAULT FINDING - BODYWORK - PAINTWORK

  6. #5
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by NHN View Post
    What version of vcds you running?

    Try changing it to have leather aswell & see if accepts & clears the fault, have you changed anyother car settings to EU as yet or just trying this so far?
    I'm running the latest version. I upgraded the software on Monday.

    OK, I'll try making the change to leather.

    As for other changes, so far, I've changed the instruments to German mode: degrees C, km/h, L/100km. That worked perfectly. I've also been trying to find a way to turn off the parking lights in the front bumper. You EU guys are lucky not to have those ugly things. So far no luck despite some bytes in controller 9 that looked promising.

    Thank you for your help. I'll report back soon.
    --
    David
    2008 A3 2.0T

  7. #6
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    5
    I coded for leather (I didn't know it was so easy to get leather). Changed third digit from right to 1, clicked Do It! and got a popup saying that the code was accepted. But when I viewed fault codes, it was still there. I cleared the fault and then recoded back to no leather. Again the code was accepted but there was another fault (same error -- incorrect code). The radio works fine in either state. I changed the coding back to leather which is the state it's in now.

    I also set Adaptation Channel 002 to display speed on the radio display. That worked.
    --
    David
    2008 A3 2.0T

  8. #7
    NHN
    NHN's Avatar
    Modmetractor

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Coding Something
    Posts
    27,114
    So where we at now, fault still showing?

    OEM RETROFITS - CRUISE CONTROL - SAT NAV - BLUETOOTH - AMI - HEADLIGHT SYSTEMS

    PARKING SYSTEMS - DIAGNOSTICS - FAULT FINDING - BODYWORK - PAINTWORK

  9. #8
    Reverse Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by NHN View Post
    So where we at now, fault still showing?
    Yes, fault still showing but radio functioning properly as far as I can tell. And the change to displaying the speed in the head unit worked so it seems to accept at least some changes.

    Thank you again for your continued help.

    David
    --
    David
    2008 A3 2.0T

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO

Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO