Chris NottBadger5
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Cruise control

  1. #1
    Ross_S4

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Dundee
    Posts
    718

    Cruise control

    hello all.

    I have retrofitted CC and have activated it successfully and tested it, all is working okay.
    However, there is no light on the cluster to say that CC is active. Do ineed to do anything else to get a light on? I thought that the EPC light came on when cruise was on?

    Any help or info would be greatly appreciated.

  2. # ADS
    ADS
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Global
    Posts
    Many
     
  3. #2
    Mpathe's Avatar
    1st gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    manchester
    Posts
    394
    i had my cc fitted at awesome gti and mine doesnt bring a light on when its active, but maybe does it from factory.

  4. #3
    Ross_S4

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Dundee
    Posts
    718
    thats reassuring that you also don't get an indication.
    Cheers.

  5. #4
    sebhar70's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    South London
    Posts
    200
    Hi Ross,

    I'm interested in doing this mod but have no idea how difficult/easy it is? what are the costs? and where did you source the parts from?
    Would be greatful for some info.

  6. #5
    Ross_S4

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Dundee
    Posts
    718
    Hi,
    I got the kit from ebay, it was about 75 quid delivered, the ebay company i think is vwteesside, http://vwgolfr32.co.uk/shop/Retrofit-Cruise-Control.htm is the link for it, you can also find the fitting guide on this page near the bottom.

    As for fitting the kit, it is not too difficult, the hardest bit for me was disconnecting the ecu plug, i have never done that bit before but luckily i know an audi tech who helped me out.

    Basically it is mostly running wires into connectors, however you do need a special bit to remove the steering wheel from the column, i think it is called a XZN socket or bit, it is splined but not the same as torx etc, i got a set from the local autosave for a few quid.

  7. #6
    Ross_S4

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Dundee
    Posts
    718
    Actually the only bit that was any hassle at all was working out which of the various options in the instructions for wiring into the ecu plug was for my engine code (the manual is for VWs and didn't have the APY engine code in).

    All I did for that was looked at each option in turn and counted out the pins on the ecu connector. out of the four or five options it gives you, only one of them had all the terminals available (i.e. didn't have a wire already in each of the terminals).

    Oh and coding it is easy if you have VCDS. However, on mine it was a subtle change on the engine block 01, there is a line called "Component" and the only difference between cruise being activated or not activated is there is a letter 'G' when it is activated.

    I missed this and activated it about 3 times!!

  8. #7
    Ross_S4

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Dundee
    Posts
    718
    And another thing....!
    if you can get access to VCDS then do this:
    Clutch Switch

    this will tell you the cc, brake, and clutch switches are okay.

  9. #8
    sebhar70's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    South London
    Posts
    200
    Quote Originally Posted by rossbrownlee View Post
    Hi,
    I got the kit from ebay, it was about 75 quid delivered, the ebay company i think is vwteesside, http://vwgolfr32.co.uk/shop/Retrofit-Cruise-Control.htm is the link for it, you can also find the fitting guide on this page near the bottom.

    As for fitting the kit, it is not too difficult, the hardest bit for me was disconnecting the ecu plug, i have never done that bit before but luckily i know an audi tech who helped me out.

    Basically it is mostly running wires into connectors, however you do need a special bit to remove the steering wheel from the column, i think it is called a XZN socket or bit, it is splined but not the same as torx etc, i got a set from the local autosave for a few quid.
    Hi Ross,

    Thanks for the Link and info. I don't think this stalk is compatible with an A4 2.5 TDI. 75 is lot more cheaper than the 225 I was quoted for a fitted retrofit CC stalk.

  10. #9
    Ross_S4

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Dundee
    Posts
    718
    okay mate,
    what year is your car?
    I have read and been told that the Tdi will have the wiring already fitted so might be worth emailing some companies that supply retrofit equipment and asking, it may be that you only need the stalk and activation in your car.

  11. #10
    sebhar70's Avatar
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    South London
    Posts
    200
    Quote Originally Posted by rossbrownlee View Post
    okay mate,
    what year is your car?
    I have read and been told that the Tdi will have the wiring already fitted so might be worth emailing some companies that supply retrofit equipment and asking, it may be that you only need the stalk and activation in your car.
    hi Ross,

    I'm driving a 2002 B6 A4, I will check out some companies through google, have you got any links I could check?

    Seb

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO

Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO