JMB RetrofitsVolks Autos
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Westy's Avatar
    Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Cambridgeshire sometimes Hertfordshire
    Posts
    17,273

    S3 bonnet sensor

    Can VAG be used to check the bonnet sensor on the S3 (2002 BAM)?

    My alarm isn't arming and I think i've narrowed the problem down to the bonnet sensor as the DIS shows both doors and the boot working. I took the sensor apart yesterday and gave it a squirt of WD40 to try and clean it up at bit but it still doesn't work. I need to determine whether the sensor is actually broken or if VAG has been used to disable the alarm.

    If anyone can confirm for me.

  2. # ADS
    ADS
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Global
    Posts
    Many
     
  3. #2
    Westy's Avatar
    Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Cambridgeshire sometimes Hertfordshire
    Posts
    17,273
    Anyone?

  4. #3
    Westy's Avatar
    Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Cambridgeshire sometimes Hertfordshire
    Posts
    17,273
    Ok if nobody knows about the bonnet sensor can someone confirm if the alarm can be dissabled using VAG?
    8P A3 TDI - 220bhp - 335lbft
    A3 Maintenance Thread
    Bye bye S3 you will be missed.
    S3 Build Thread







  5. #4
    Westy's Avatar
    Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Cambridgeshire sometimes Hertfordshire
    Posts
    17,273
    Ok well now I have my own VAG cable I have checked this for myself and I have noticed that the bonnet sensor doesn't show up in VCDS!
    8P A3 TDI - 220bhp - 335lbft
    A3 Maintenance Thread
    Bye bye S3 you will be missed.
    S3 Build Thread







  6. #5
    Staz's Avatar
    is a retronaut

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Bristol (mostly)
    Posts
    6,168
    Hello mate, suprised noone has posted on this thread.

    Normally to test if a sensor if faulty you can simulate the action by shorting or opening the circuit. Take of the connector plugged into the sensor and see what happens, then short the 2 pins together and again see what happens.

    I know with my car I can disable the alarm with VCDS so you may be right about yours.
    8P2 S3

    For advice on Air Con problems please read my FAQs.
    To find ASN members with VCDS check out the MAP.

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO

Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO