JMB RetrofitsSky Insurance
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: What Cable?

  1. #1
    justandy's Avatar
    Not an S3 owner!

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    West Mids
    Posts
    29

    What Cable?

    Hi,

    I'm interested in doing some of the mods described on the A3 forum, so I need a cable for VAG-COM, my car is an A3 2008.

    I looked at a few of the handheld options but I think $99 (50) is a good price for the official software key.

    Thanks

    Andy

  2. # ADS
    ADS
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Global
    Posts
    Many
     
  3. #2
    Staz's Avatar
    is a retronaut

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Bristol (mostly)
    Posts
    6,168
    What cable is that mate?

    I recently bought the VCDS (VAG.COM) and Micro-CAN cable. It does all Golf MkV based vehicles so is perfectly good enough for the A3. But it's not known whether Golf MkVI vehicles will work on CAN. I don't intend to buy another new car for a while if ever so it's ok for me. Ross tech will also do trade ins anyway so you can upgrade to an Hex+CAN later on.

    http://www.ross-tech.com/Merchant2/m...ry_Code=VAGCOM
    8P2 S3

    For advice on Air Con problems please read my FAQs.
    To find ASN members with VCDS check out the MAP.

  4. #3
    A4Ade's Avatar
    Back from the dead

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Lancaster
    Posts
    80
    Quote Originally Posted by justandy View Post
    Hi,

    I'm interested in doing some of the mods described on the A3 forum, so I need a cable for VAG-COM, my car is an A3 2008.

    I looked at a few of the handheld options but I think $99 (50) is a good price for the official software key.

    That license is no use to you I'm afraid (unless you have bought a second hand lead and simply want to register it with Ross-Tech). As they detail here, for the 2008 A3 you need a CAN compatible cable, and these do not operate via the soft-licensing method - you need a dongle-cable such as this.

    If you do buy a lead from a 3rd party, make sure it is an original Ross-Tech lead you are buying - none of the ~15 jobbies you see on fleebay etc. are going to work for your car. Ross-Tech have a list of authorized 3rd party retailers here.

    Cheers,
    Ade

  5. #4
    justandy's Avatar
    Not an S3 owner!

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    West Mids
    Posts
    29
    Thanks,

    coo that's a bit expensive just to turn a few lights on! Maybe I can wait for the Chinese to produce something CAN compatible.

  6. #5
    bearthebruce's Avatar
    Ross-Tech, LLC

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Ambler, PA
    Posts
    331
    nice! It is always a pleasure to hear from people who decide that ripping off the company that does the work to create an affordable and solid tool is the plan.
    -Bruce-
    Ross-Tech, LLC
    Bruce@Ross-Tech.com

  7. #6
    justandy's Avatar
    Not an S3 owner!

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    West Mids
    Posts
    29
    Bruce,

    whoa hold the phone there! What I want, if such a thing is possible, is a CAN compatible lead that will work with a $99 licensed version of VAG-COM, I am very happy to pay this!

    After all the cheapest option to me is a Micro-CAN version at $250, I cannot justify this just to turn a few lights on!

    Andy

  8. #7
    A4Ade's Avatar
    Back from the dead

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Lancaster
    Posts
    80
    Quote Originally Posted by justandy View Post
    What I want, if such a thing is possible, is a CAN compatible lead that will work with a $99 licensed version of VAG-COM

    It isn't possible though. As I said, the CAN compatible leads do not operate using a soft-license. You need a dongle-cable, and a non-Ross-Tech lead (Chinese or otherwise) that works with the latest version of VagCom will be counterfeit.

    Ade

  9. #8
    justandy's Avatar
    Not an S3 owner!

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    West Mids
    Posts
    29
    Ah well, I will keep my eye out for a second hand micro-can (genuine of course!)

    I am right in thinking these only work with the Golf mk5 chassis based cars and nothing else?

    Andy

  10. #9
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Magdeburg, Germany
    Posts
    286
    Correct, a list of supported models can be found here.

    http://www.ross-tech.com/vag-com/Micro-CAN.html

    BTW: Don't expect to see a cheap one soon, the last one auctioned sold for more than new.
    Sebastian @ Ross-Tech.com

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO

Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO