Volks AutosChris Nott
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Staz's Avatar
    is a retronaut

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Bristol (mostly)
    Posts
    6,168

    New to vag.com. A few questions

    I have just been playing about on my car with vag.com and after a few stubling blocks I have sussed out how to use it ok.

    I have an issue when I try to access central electronics long coding though. It tells me the file:

    Labels\09-8p0-907-279-30Byte.xpl

    is missing and there are no help labels within the coder. I have emailed Ross-tech but I just wondered if I could get a quicker answer here.

    Also I started using the long coder help on openobd.org on the comfort system bt found that the bytes were different. For example dock locking and unlocking confirmation is bytes 6 and 7 on openobd but on VAG.COM they are bytes 8 and 9. Why is this?

    I also keep getting a comms failure. Anyone else get this?

    Many thanks in advance

    Leon
    8P2 S3

    For advice on Air Con problems please read my FAQs.
    To find ASN members with VCDS check out the MAP.

  2. # ADS
    ADS
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Global
    Posts
    Many
     
  3. #2
    4th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    up north...
    Posts
    767
    is this a genuine ross-tech cable? is it usb or serial? if you are getting comms failures it could be the cable/hardware or the computer

    if you have files missing you should re-download a release version (704?) and do a full reinstall.

    are you using the beta version 8? i got lots of errors with this with my genuine cable and went back to 704 release - works far more reliably.

    have you got anti-virus etc running on your PC? - this might be interfering with the real-time nature of the vag-com program - try removing or disabling it.

    long coding for various modules - central electrics and comfort have different number of bytes depending on the year/generation of the coding
    TT-RS 410hp revo
    Fiat 500 1.3 tdi 120hp
    A3 8P 2.0tdi 240hp Autograph Cars
    RS4 B5 520hp MTM
    S3 8L 345hp MTM
    Volvo 850 T5 300hp BSR
    Fiat Punto GT 130hp
    Lancia Delta Turbo 185hp
    Lancia Beta Coupe 122hp
    Mini 74hp

  4. #3
    Staz's Avatar
    is a retronaut

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Bristol (mostly)
    Posts
    6,168
    It is genuine and it is 704 yeah. I'm not too concerned about the comms failure, I'm guessing it's a Vista problem but I can put up with it for now.

    The label file is the thing that's bugging me the most. I'm glad vag.com has the label files as it gives you the info there and then.

    Thanks to Dave R I have found Label files on the wiki page (http://wiki.ross-tech.com/index.php/Audi_A3/S3_%288P%29) but looking at them they don't seem to be the exact info I would expect them to be. The label file for the comfort system has the labels for short coding but not long coding, from what I can tell (I kinda know what to expect after using the long coding earlier).

    I can work through it all if the label file is there but without it I'm stuck.

    EDIT: Just had a look at the label files I do have and there is 09-8P0-907-279-17 Byte, 21, 23 and 24 byte. The info on each looks the same but the higher the byte number then the more bytes there are per label file, which makes sense. So I am guessing that as my car is so new it now has 30 bytes of info and not 24 and there just isn't the 30byte file yet.

    I am thinking about copying the 24byte file and renaming it to 30byte so I can at least see the first part of the info.

    Any suggestions??

    EDIT2: Well I tried out the above and it worked fine. Tested it by changing activating the rear wiper teardrop mode and it worked fine. We just need sebastian to update the xpl files now to see what other things we can do
    Last edited by Staz; 15th May 2008 at 22:46.
    8P2 S3

    For advice on Air Con problems please read my FAQs.
    To find ASN members with VCDS check out the MAP.

  5. #4
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Magdeburg, Germany
    Posts
    286
    The coding table is different for the 30 Byte modules, renaming the files isn't really what you should do. However, instead and in general for MY 2008 we suggest to use the latest Beta version - it already comes with the related files which contain the right information.

    http://www.ross-tech.com/vag-com/dow...a/current.html
    Last edited by Sebastian; 15th May 2008 at 23:21.
    Sebastian @ Ross-Tech.com

  6. #5
    Staz's Avatar
    is a retronaut

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Bristol (mostly)
    Posts
    6,168
    Quote Originally Posted by Sebastian View Post
    The coding table is different for the 30 Byte modules, renaming the files isn't really what you should do. However, instead and in general for MY 2008 we suggest to use the latest Beta version - it already comes with the related files which contain the right information.

    http://www.ross-tech.com/vag-com/dow...a/current.html

    Ok I'll try that!

    EDIT:All works well with the Beta software, thanks Sebastian!

    Also I found another thing I wondered if someone could help me on. I asked in another thread about swapping the reverse and fog lights over with VAG.COM but noone knew the answer. I found in Central Electronics Byte 4 bit 5 you can change the model from RHD to LHD. I tried this and when I turned the ignition back on I had a bulb blown warning for both the fog and reverse lights. In fact the reverse light warning stated it was a right side reverse light when the reverse is actually on the left for RHD. I figured from this that I had actually managed to swap them over but it didn't work fully. I wondered if the fact that the reverse and fog lights are different wattages to each other (I didn't swap the bulbs by the way) then the car wouldn't accept them as being correct.

    The problem with that thinking though is normally the car will only register a blown bulb when you try to turn it on, these warnings came up as soon as I turned on the ignition. OR does the car carry out a diagnostics low power continuity check when the ignition is first turned on??

    All very clever stuff if it does.

    Sorry it's long winded, I'm just trying to save myself some soldering!

    Thanks,

    Leon
    Last edited by Staz; 16th May 2008 at 13:39.
    8P2 S3

    For advice on Air Con problems please read my FAQs.
    To find ASN members with VCDS check out the MAP.

  7. #6
    5th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Hampshire
    Posts
    1,155
    Why would you want to swop over the fog-light and reverse light? what possible difference can it make??
    A6 3.0 TDI.

  8. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by Issac Hunt View Post
    Why would you want to swop over the fog-light and reverse light? what possible difference can it make??
    Staz1000 is off to Germany where the cars will have the rear fog light on the other side! British Forces stationed in Germany who drive a UK spec car must have the rear fog light changed over to the same side as a German car.

    If it was possible it would be useful for driving abroad.
    Last edited by h5djr; 17th May 2008 at 11:35.
    Dave R (h5djr)
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    A3 8V 2.0 TDI-184 Sportback Sport s-tronic quattro - Silver + lots of options - my 9th A3

  9. #8
    Staz's Avatar
    is a retronaut

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Bristol (mostly)
    Posts
    6,168
    Well I tried today swapping the clusters over and then reprogramming with VAG.COM but the same fault appears so therefore I'm going to have to rewire the lights. Not a major problem but it would have been nice to be able to do it with a few clicks!
    8P2 S3

    For advice on Air Con problems please read my FAQs.
    To find ASN members with VCDS check out the MAP.

  10. #9
    1st Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Magdeburg, Germany
    Posts
    286
    The German StVZO (Straenverkehrs Zulassungs Ordnung) only applies to cars which are being registered in Germany. However, it would be helpful if you would provide more information (i.e. a complete Auto-Scan) so we could actually try to help you...
    Sebastian @ Ross-Tech.com

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO

Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO