EM TuningChris Nott
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    fran-s3's Avatar
    5th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,090

    MAP Sensor part of MAF?

    Hi Chaps!

    Question: My cars been running really rough recently - and total loss of power like driving a 1.8 N/A... The turbo seems non existent!

    Engine light has come on, and after I plugged it into VAG - the fault said it was a MAP sensor at fault and was getting irregular timings? Booked it in to to a vw/audi 'specialist' who said the MAP sensor is actually part of the MAF sensor? Is this bull, or is that true? I thought they were seperate parts.... Although I did unplug the MAF and the car ran better!

    Any advice appreciated! It's a 2001 S3.

    Cheers
    Last edited by fran-s3; 3rd March 2008 at 16:06.

  2. # ADS
    ADS
    Join Date
    Always
    Posts
    Many
     
  3. #2
    macca's Avatar
    3rd Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Sussex.
    Posts
    525
    i am not an expert but i thought the map sensor was on the inlet manifold, i can't see how it can be part of the MAF as it needs to measure boost. as the maf isn't on the pressurised part of the intake i don't see how it can do it.

    as i say, i'm not an expert and could be wrong.
    1998 A4 1.8T Sport - For Saturdays
    2003 VW Golf MKIV R32 - For Sundays
    2000 Peugeot 406 HDi - For when it's raining
    1996 Kawasaki ZX7R - For when I'm late for work!

    Mods- Forge Dump Valve, The Engine Shop Power Plus based Engine (Low Comp. Forged pistons, Arrow H-Section Rods, Newman fast road cams, polished & ported head), 19" wheels, B&M Short Shifter, Greddy Turbo Timer, RS4 Grill, Weitec GTN coilovers, HKS modified air filter, Autobahn88 FMIC, ChippedUK custom map. Some Turbo mods ongoing.

  4. #3
    Longman's Avatar
    vassdignostics.co.uk

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Nr Maidstone, Kent
    Posts
    113
    I agree with Macca. The MAP is Mass Air Pressure and measures, well, preassure!!

    Its sits just before the throttle body i think.

    Can you rememver the code you got Fran?

  5. #4
    fran-s3's Avatar
    5th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,090
    Thanks for the reply!

    Hmm interesting so there two seperate components! I dont actually, the VAG-COM guy told me that it was saying the MAP sensor reading weren't as expected... Which could exaplain why I have no boost!

    Hmm well booked in for thurs so we shall see.. I want my turbo back!!!!

  6. #5
    Broken Byzan's Avatar
    Photographic Moderator

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cardiff, United Kingdom
    Posts
    12,520

    My Social Networking

    Follow Broken Byzan On Twitter Add Broken Byzan on Facebook Add Broken Byzan on Google+ Visit Broken Byzan's Youtube Channel
    The MAP is mounted on the SMIC iirc, well it is on an A4 anyway

  7. #6
    fran-s3's Avatar
    5th Gear

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,090
    Yay! Back from the garage! Basically I had a new cam belt fitted and it was done incorrectly the timing was out and needed a new one as it started to break up!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (took it to a different garage this time!)

    Also water pump was failing to as a result so after these were replaced (showed me it, was hardly turning as its supposed to!) the car is now back to normal, wow turbo really kicks in now! SO lucky I didn't use it once the light came on, guy said I could of easily done 1000's worth of damage if waterpump had failed or cam!

    So my car was proper screwed as the belt was barely on the tensioner apparently! No faults yet and one happy chappy again! No more errors have come up, lesson learnt - never use rubbish mechanics!

    Cheers for the advice chaps! :D

  8. #7
    Longman's Avatar
    vassdignostics.co.uk

    Status
    Offline
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Nr Maidstone, Kent
    Posts
    113
    Glad to hear it Fran.... That was damn lucky.... I have been reading a thread about a cam belt snap on SCN.... Bloody horrible pictures!!

    You were lucky...

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO

Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO